We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret that is getting out”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #106 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 16, 2011

i have been staying at inn at the opera for 5 years. i fly up for the ballet. it could not be more ideally located. the staff at the Inn is extraordinary. yes, i said extraordinary. Jin
(Jennifer) Rowena, Javier in the front end are more than exceptional. they greet you like family and do everything possible to make your stay memorable.
the breakfast is more than ample. and the presentation is lovely.
when recommendations are suggested, Sean, the GM acts on them.
this is one of the most delightful boutique hotels i have visited. it is also a time share but hopefully they will continue to save rooms for non time share folk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoutesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. We try and make every guest' stay as pleasant as possible, and I am glad that you enjoy staying here as much as we enjoy having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 763 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

The location is great for Davies Hall, Opera House, Herbst Theater. Front desk is very friendly and responsive to request. Continental breakfast is adequate. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. Valet parking is additional but is very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalePaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

it was soooo loud, i could here everything. The walls are paper thin! I couldnt believe it. There was a half eatin apple in our trash, the room was tiiiiiny, old little tvs, no room service or ice machine, the restaurant was closed at like 7pm every nigh becuase it wasnt "very busy". so for the price i think its terrible. Might as well stay at a bloody hostel.

sorry guys

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelpoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

There is no need to be sorry. I need to apologize to you for such a bad experience while you were here. I have shared this review with our houskeepng staff, and the owner of the restaurant (they ease the space from us), so we can be better at servicing our guests.
As to the size of the rooms, the only thing I can say is that with a lot of older San Francisco building the rooms tend to be on the smaller side.
I only wish that yuou had said something while you were here so we maybe could have done something to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

No complaints about this lovely property. There have been some reviews mentioning the dicey location, but even for the first time visitor there are ways around this. My husband and I are avid walkers (esp. when staying in SF) so we simply walk up Van Ness until we hit a street that bypasses the "dicey" area. If you aren't big on walking, grab a bus or walk the 4 blocks to Bart and you can take it. I will say ditto to the wonderful, friendly staff and excellent continental breakfast. I don't think there is a better value hotel in the city. If the reviews of room size frighten you then spring a little more for a bigger one - still a great value. Room size not much of an issue with us since we're there to see things - the room is for sleeping so if that's all you need the hotel for, you'll be fine. They are also immaculate and fairly quiet - easily worth double what we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed us your second time around, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

It is difficult to draw negative comments about this hotel and I do not want to repeat the same applause about this hotel. So, I just make a few notes that may be helpful.

1. I stayed at the Inn for a conference at Moscone Center. I found the commute to and from the conference site somewhat dangerous, especially after sunset, with so many zombie-ish people at every corner, sometimes at every door on the streets. In fact, it was a bit of post-apocalyptic experience. I saw two arrests for the five days I had to commute. If I were there for opera, symphony, or ballet, the location couldn't have been better.

2. The room is small. If I had a child, it would have certainly been difficult to stay in. Also, there was no desk, so working in the room was almost out of the question.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I would recommend this hotel, if you are looking for something a little different. Rooms, while on the small side, are beautifully furnished and spotless.

Staff are friendly. Continental breakfast is quite good and served in a lovely dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed here for two separate nights mid January 2011. One night in room 21 and one night in room 65. Both rooms were 'ballet suites' and VERY TINY! I wondered how in the world the staff put in a queen sized beds in these rooms. There wasn't a desk to put the lap top on(no room) and when I spent a few hours in my rooms, I felt a bit claustrophobic. I picked this hotel because of location and convenience for what I was here for and overall have very much enjoyed my stay. The bed was very comfortable, staff is extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is cozy and I'd compare this hotel's feelings to a hotel you might find in Europe. This is a good place to stay, I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whtpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
758 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
357 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $151 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing