We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #101 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2010

A good choice for those that do not want to be in the middle of Union Square or tourist areas but not right out of town. It is a good hotel, very good front desk staff and convienient for most sights. Tour bus for the town stops outside (Grey Line) which is good - only issue being the tour bus you have to go the full route, can not get offand go back the way you came, it is a circular route.
Minor issues with the hotel being the plumbing and restaurant - which is a franchise. Plumbing is a bit noisy when used, mainly the rooms next door so if you have an early riser next door a bit ofa pain.
Restaurant/bar had a tendancy to close a bit early for us - 2100 last orders for food and drinks! Raised this with the management and believe they will solve the issue so may no longer be an issue.
A good quality hotel, OK location and good staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I have spoken with the restaurant about the issue you raised, and we are working towards a solution for the future. As to the tour bus, we do have the Hop On/Hop Off bus that comes by every half hour, and the passes that we sell are for two days, and they make 21 stops throughout the city, so I am a little confused about your comment regarding this.
I am glad that you had a good stay and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

A fine restaurant at ground level - Opera House less than a block away. Excellant accomodations - Valet parking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deacjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for staying and for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, centrally located room in San Francisco, then the Inn at the Opera fits the bill. I stayed only one night but was thoroughly impressed from the minute I arrived. Rowena behind the desk was sincerely warm and welcoming and, since I'd arrived before the room was ready, gladly accepted my bags (which were spirited up to my room by the time I returned). Complimentary apples were a nice touch after a cross-country flight, and she was able to point out local points of interest easily. The central location, though, seems to be the best selling point. I was able to take BART in from SFO and walked easily to the hotel, and it provided an excellent reference point for a concert later that night, as well as trips to downtown and Yerba Buena Gardens. Being off the main streets was beneficial come bedtime, as there was little traffic noise to deal with. The only marks against the room were the lack of a dedicated or obvious air conditioner, which was not a real problem once I opened the window, and a toilet that didn't flush all the way every time. Overall, however, the Inn at the Opera was a great find and will be included in future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. I must say that a majority of "older" San Francisco hotels, and houses for that matter, do not have AC. It is something that I am looking into for the future though.

Thnaks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised with Inn at the Opera. I was looking for a cheaper hotel and couldn't find anything between very expensive $200+ chains and the dumpy motels. I'll admit I didn't have high expectations for this hotel....and when we walked into the lobby, the hotel smelled old.
But once we got up to the room, we were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness and spacious accomodations for the cheap price we paid (less than $120 a night). Our stay also included breakfast.
I booked our stay on their website.
The only draw back is that we wanted double beds but all the rooms have one queen.
Parking was very convenient...just watch the posted frequent street cleaning times.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadamaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Nice friendly hotel, we stayed here for 7 nights on a tourist visit to SF and enjoyed ourselves. We found the staff to be great and helpful, one our first morning we complained about our shower head (it just dribbled) to Rowena (front desk) and when we returned from our first day of wandering around sight seeing, a new one was on, that worked perfectly.
The bed was very comfortable.
All the staff seemed genuinely friendly and they understand customer service.
Some reviews I read before going to SF complained about the size of the rooms, I think you must understand that it's more of a boutique hotel with a cute old elevator and a charming building, but we didn't find it confining or run down. It's nicely cared for and well run.
We didn't try the restaurant but we ate the complimentary breakfast there and enjoyed ourselves; fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese, jam, tomatoes, coffee, juice, milk, tea etc.
The rooms had free wireless which was perfect for us for planning our sightseeing or calculating transit routes.
After a long day of hiking around SF, we really enjoyed the bathrobes to relax and enjoy a drink before bed.
We sampled the free cookies a few times at the front desk, nice touch.
We enjoyed a pain free and efficient check in and as well the check out was easy.
The hotels location was fine for us, outside the tourist zone, but quiet and no panhandlers (SF is FULL of them) in the immediate area, close to multiple bus routes, being in the civic center area just of Market.
Try out Smuggler's Cove just a block away, excellent complicated Tiki style rum based drinks. Good time - watch the bartender mix your drink - amazing !!
One note of caution, there is a set of stairs that run down the center of the hotel, our room was beside them and for two nights there was a family staying at the hotel above us, and the kids would run down the stairs and jump onto each landing making quite a bit of noise. The hotel (Rowena) offered another room, but learning the family was staying for only one more night we declined moving.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunblock06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay with us. I appreciate the comments and am actually thinking of hiring you to do our next PR campaign!
I do hope that you visit us again in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Great service, very nice rooms (although small). The little touches like the freshly baked cookies at the front desk, refrigerator in the room, bathrobes gave it that touch of class you expect at a boutique hotel in San Francisco. Great location close to Hayes Valley, opera & symphony halls, and SF Conservatory.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftheaterbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This hotel made our stay in San Fran a great experience. The people who work there from the door man to the front desk to the cleaning crew and servers were just perfectly gracious and helpful and friendly. The artwork is beautiful and rooms clean and comfortable and well stocked. I loved that there were apples and cookies in a bowl everyday and the continental breakfast area was a great space to meet new people who were also vacationing with experiences and ideas to share. Outside of the hotel was clean and safe and plenty of street parking in the area...you just have to look for it and read the signs completely. We didn't have any problems and walked a few blocks to some really nice restaurants for dinner. The windows can be opened for fresh air which was great. And the view of the old capital right outside the door is breathtaking. Don't think twice about this hotel...they have a front desk person there around the clock and it is centrally located to everything but not crowded with tourism and is close to public transportation. We were very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Thank you! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and I hope that you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
2,618 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
347 reviews
Cova Hotel
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
1,160 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $181 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing