We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but . . .”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Charming, but . . .”
Reviewed January 8, 2007

This is the second time I've stayed here. Charming, wonderful European atmosphere. The staff is very friendly. You'll feel quite at home. And the price is certainly right for a centrally located quality hotel. Do NOT, however, expect more than charm and personality. The rooms are European, too, in that they are small and very spartan. There's no individual room climate control, so you get whatever heat/AC the hotel thinks is appropriate. (It's January at this writing and the room is too warm! Thank God the windows open.) The walls are thin and your neighboring room's plumbing is right next to the bed, so when someone next door showers in the morning, the noise is deafening. Don't try to sleep late. The Ovation restaurant? What bar doesn't have bourbon? Unbelievable! And the complimentary continental breakfast is poor even by European standards. Even two-star hotels in Italy where I've stayed had more diverse and interesting breakfast options. Finally, a concern about staff training. Yesterday there was a blackout in the neigbhorhood. When the power went out, the front-desk staff panicked. They didn't know what to do, whom to call. They stood at the front desk picking up the phones and wondering why they didn't work. And not all of the emergency or exit lights were working properly. Some of the hotel staff showed more control, suggesting calling the power company on cell phones, etc. They *all* should be trained in emergency response measures, no?

  • Liked — location, staff attitude, price
  • Disliked — noisy room, thin walls, no in-room climate control
  • Tips/Secrets — don't expect too much
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ontheroadtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    245
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
400
60
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

We stayed at IATO Labor Day week. Loved the hotel, it's quiet, intimate and clean and is in a good location. We were in a "junior suite", which was a bedroom and adjoining sitting room/kitchen (well, there was a sofa, small table, sink, microwave and mini-refrigerator). The virtual tour on their website is an accurate depiction of the room, but note that there is a mirrored wall that makes the junior suite look like it has two beds. We would stay here again, but not through a time share exchange - -since it's not a resort there were no on-site amenities that we usually experience with an exchange.
The continental breakfast was OK for a day or so, but they never change the offering, so you'll become bored with it after a couple days. Go around the corner to Citizen Cake instead - - they have great coffee, breakfast and people-watching. We also went to the crepes place across the street from Citizen Cake...that was not as good.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fjkdla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB/Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Great value! Rooms are exceptionally small..enough for a bed and room to walk around it. (hard to get used to) However, if you keep it tidy & are not in there all day it is suitable. Microwave in room, very neat & excellent little 'kitchen' area with a small fridge, plates and even wine glasses...very chic!! Maids are VERY friendly do a good job and leave you chocolates behind when they are done...what a nice touch. Remember the hotel is a boutique hotel so it is old..slight musty smell in hallways but not gagging..you get used to it. Great renovations for a hotel this old. Rooms are CLEAN and updated. Front staff is excellent; complimentary breakfast is great at first but can be boring after a few days. Elevator was a surprise but very innovative..you will see. :) Waiters are courteous at first. A 'tab' folder is placed on your table after breakfast with a paper in it indicating a tip is suggested. When you are there for a few days you observe the waiters sense of anxiousness as they await to open the 'tab' folder. Some of the reactions from the waiters are unreal...& then they talk to each other in their own language. Not a good feeling at all.

  • Liked — little touches, friendly staff
  • Disliked — waiters
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank trav2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

What a charming hotel... we used to stay there many years ago (we travel for our business) and I had forgotten why we stopped when our agency booked it for us.

As soon as I arrived, I remembered! No air conditioning... We stayed there in July 2006 and the rooms were so hot, we asked for a fan and it helped, but still, the rooms were constantly around 78 degrees!

We love the hotel and the service, but don't got here in the summer!

Another thing that surprised us this time was the room service menu. They only had one vegetarian item. Being a vegetarian, you quickly get bored with eating the same thing. Luckily there are many good restaurants nearby so it's not a big issue, but for a hotel this nice (except for the lack of a/c) they should have a better room service menu.

I will go back, but in the winter...

  • Disliked — a/c and room service menu
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there in the summer and eat out.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FRQTRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My husband and I traveled to The Inn at the Opera in mid-July. They had a very friendly, helpful staff, and it was conveniently located to most places that we wanted to go.

The breakfast in the morning was pretty good, but being that we were there for a week, we got a little tired of it. They did not ever change their buffet menu, and it was already quite limited.

The rooms were nice but most of them are very small. The beds barely fit in the room let alone giving you any walking space. If you are looking for a spacious place to stay, this may not be your best option.

The hotel is clean for the most part, but we found a hair on our bed sheets and in our shower... which completely grossed me out.

I really liked that they turned down our bed at night and left chocolates on our bed. This was a very nice added touch!

One restaurant you must try... Scoma!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We just spent the weekend at this hotel and it was charming. We were attending the ballet and chose this hotel for location-right around the corner from the venue. It's in Hayes District ,which houses many top restaurants and dessert/drink cafes. The area and it's architecture is very pretty-in the heart of the Culural Arts/Civic Center District. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Suite-a very pleasant surprise. The room was lovely with many nice touches. We had a parking package and the valet service was great. There were cookies in the early everning that looked delicious but we were on our way to dinner. Service was great-very willing to please. The continental breakfast was in their lovery restaurant and was very good- Nice array of food and beverage choices. A find!

Helpful?
10 Thank Happy California Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2006

My husband and I fell in love in San Francisco 25 years ago and wanted to stay in a great location in San Francisco for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Inn at the Opera for the most relaxing, romantic week of our entire marriage! The staff treated us so special knowing about our anniversary. I want to return every year now!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jezebel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
1,106 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
338 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
2,567 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing