We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff and fine dining on site.”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #105 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sun City, Arizona
1 review
“Well situated, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff and fine dining on site.”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

All of San Francisco's attractions and neighbourhoods are easily accessed from this quiet neighborhood.
Pleasant and helpful staff. Comfortable, attractive accomodations

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay and our hotel! We are glad to hear that you had a great stay, and hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    242
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
398
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My room was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Staff was quite friendly. It was a great value, though watch out for the expensive parking. With tax it was about $28/night. Otherwise, an excellent value. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thank you so much for you staying with us and for your kind comments. I am glad that you found us a nice place to stay. As most people know, San Francisco has its parking issues, and our overnight of $25.00 plus tax is pretty inexpensive compared to the downtown and Union Square area which routinely charges upwards of $50.00 per night. We hope to see you again at the Inn at the Opera. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I love to travel and I love to travel alone.
As a girl, my top prorities are location, location, location!
The Inn is located right next to the Civic Centre BART in the theatre District. The location is very central on the map and area is safe to walk at night. It is directly across from City Hall (which is a beautiful sight in the morning) so major bus stops are there as well.
I stayed at the Inn for 4 nights and got a great deal through expedia.com.
The hotel was so quaint and so pretty, it was clean and smelled of peppermint!
The staff was friendly and the free Continental breakfast healthy and yummy!
All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2010

One of the best, courteous staff we have encountered at Inn At The Opera. From the time you walk in for check in, to each time you walk past the registration table, you are greeted so warmly; this made any shortcomings about the stay invisible - and the shortcomings are few. Located just a mile or two from any tourist or hot spot in San Fransisco, you can walk, take the Bart or bus anywhere. Rooms very comfortable with a microwave & refrigerator; a nice complementary breakfast each morning. My only deters from this hotel is parking with a $25. charge plus 14% tax for valet/overnight and the overnight emergency vehicle sirens that goes off being in a major city where everything is compact. If the parking cost is an issue, there is an EZ parking on Jones Street however this is NOT recommended for everyone as you walk through some of the darker parts of town just to get to and from your car.

Outside the complementary breakfast, any other meals can be found from places like Whole Foods or Bristol Farms (located in San Francisco Center) to well known restaurants like California Pizza Kitchen (a block away). If you are into exotic, regional or ethnic foods, San Francisco has that too: Chinese, Japanese, Organic, Turkish and the Farmer's Market, just to name a few. Some of our favorites are the Plant, The Cafe Gratitude (featured in Jason Mraz's song "Make It Mine"), and the famous sourdough clam chowder on pier 39. Mill Valley is 30 minutes away features Food Network's Tyler Florence's cooking store in a quaint walking town; a couple of other notable stores: Phat Burger and Tea Fountain. Palo Alto/Mountain View is approximately 45 minutes away (no toll to come and go) where you can visit Stanford and a great Dim Sum restaurant. Many of the links are listed below. Enjoy!

http://www.shellhospitality.com/hotels/inn_at_the_opera/?chebs=gl_innatopera
http://ezpublicparking.com/
http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/
http://www.bristolfarms.com/home.html
http://westfield.com/sanfrancisco/
http://www.karascupcakes.com/index2.html
http://www.theplantcafe.com/
http://www.cafegratitude.com/cafe
http://www.chowderspier39.com/
http://www.tylerflorence.com/
http://www.pearlsdiner.com/
http://www.teafountain.com/
http://www.yelp.com/biz/fu-lam-mum-mountain-view#hrid:P5ZMh7xhCnb8xndy261B6A

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eticket221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Just wanted to thank you for staying with us and very glad that you had a good time. As to the parking situation, as many are well aware, San Francisco has very limited parking and our overnight fee of $25.00 plus the 14% tax (total of $28.50) is actually quite reasonable. Most downtown hotels charge upwards of $45.00-$50.00 per night (plus the 14% tax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I used to own a SF deli back in the '80s and went to the opera frequently; I stayed at the IATO several times and loved it, very fond memories of the piano bar, ambiance, and rooms. When I was planning a two-day museum trip in the city, I check out Trip Advisor and read several warnings regarding the management and their tendency to change up the reservations. With this warning in mind, I booked an Opera Suite Room and emailed the manager to obtain, in writing, confirmation that I had booked and reserved said Opera Suite. Confirmation promptly arrived by email. When we arrived, we met with the following: "Hmm, I don't see your booking for the Opera Suite. I will call Javier (the same person who confirmed the booking by email) for further direction...please have a seat in the lobby." After 10 min. of lobby simmering, I asked what she was authorized to do to accommodate us, as clearly, there was a problem that was not being solved. She offered us the Symphony Suite with complimentary parking. We accepted, as we had dinner plans in an hour, went to our room, took showers and then the same desk clerk showed up at the door to announce that Javier said we could either move to an Opera Suite (that miraculously had become available) or continue with our present arrangements with complimentary parking. We stayed put as we had to leave for dinner and were in robes. Argh!
On the positive side: very quiet, great central location, excellent parking valet services, and everybody was very polite. It seems that the IATO, both a hotel and a time-share, has ongoing issues with ensuring reservations. Perhaps the time-share owners' bookings take precedence over the standard reservations? Who knows, but I doubt that I would book again with confidence unless the room didn't matter.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakineklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
I spoke with guest via email and apologized for what was our error. Unfortunately, things like this do happen, but we try to minimize these kind of mistakes to asure our returning and future guests that it will not happen to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had made a reservation weeks ahead, and arrived at 5:30 pm, with a dinner reservation also in the hotel, and an 8:00 pm concert at nearby Herbst Theatre. We were told that no room was available due to "maintenance issues". The hotel appears to be under new management (Shell Vacations - are they operating it as a timeshare?), and the desk clerk was unapologetic, regarding a room at a sister hotel in another part of town as a perfect alternative, even though there was an annotation on our reservation (which she showed me) that one of our party was handicapped.

Before posting any review, I called the manager and left voicemail on his personal line, but I have received no reply, so reluctantly have to file this report. Previously we had enjoyed staying at this hotel close to concert halls and opera, but in future we shall stay further away at a hotel we can trust. Unfortunately we had not read the TripAdvisor review of a similar occurrence the month before.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Philos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here March 2010. We got what we thought was a great deal for the "Ballet Package" at $109 per night. The reality is that we should have told the staff that the room was just too small for our enjoyment and upgraded to a larger room (my own fault for cheaping out).

Overall the place was clean and the staff was very helpful. We did not think that the location was as convenient for us as we would have liked. We were here in March and the temperature in the room was fine, however, there was no air conditioning in our room. This could be a problem in the warmer months.

Bottom line is that we got what we paid for and I would not recommend booking a "Ballet" room. For an extra $50 per night, our stay would have been much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim72150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing