We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great for operagoers”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #101 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We love to stay at the Inn at the Opera when visiting San Francisco for the opera. The Opera House is right across the street, making it an ideal location, and the staff is always gracious and helpful. The room we had was small, but nicely furnished and included a fridge and microwave. We found the location very convenient to restaurants and other attractions too. The only negative was the live and recorded music from the downstairs restaurant, making it hard to fall asleep. We'll probably ask for a room on a higher floor next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paminacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2008

Three of us shared a full week in a 1-bedroom "Symphony" unit, booked through our timeshare company (this is a Shell resort as well as a regular hotel), and were really happy with the whole experience. An old-fashioned elevator operates among the hotel's 7 floors; a quiet, darkwood French restaurant offers fine (expensive) dinners, late-night drinks, and free "Continental" breakfasts that made us feel quite pampered.
The room contained a semi-kitchen consisting of a microwave, refrigerator and sink. The bathroom was very large, while the living room and bedroom were more modest (but not cramped).
The best part of the hotel, really, is the personal service. Our room was made up every day -- standard in a hotel, but not in timeshares -- and the desk staff greeted us pleasantly by name each day and helped us with all our bizarre questions.
The opera and ballet are just across the street, and the entire area (Hayes Street) has become very upscale, with great restaurants and shops. We would certainly stay at Inn at the Opera again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank davbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

The Inn was near the Civic Center part of the city. All the places we went were a 30 - 40 minute bus ride. When taking the bus tours, we were always the first picked up in the morning and last dropped off. An 11 hour tour for us lasted over 13 hours. We did tours with Tower Tours, Supersighting Tours and Grayline. They all dropped us off last.

On the other hand, we got to know the staff well because of the size of the Inn. The staff was wonderful and would go the extra mile. One night, we wanted room service and the restaurant had closed the kitchen early (before 8:30 pm). The front desk staff intervened and got the restaurant to serve us room service. I would stay there again only because of the staff and great service but would plan on a lot of taxi service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Timidsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

All in all the room was okay and the staff was very helpful and friendly. However, I was a woman traveling alone and had the inconvenience of having a male friend walk me to the hotel every night from the BART station which is over 3 blocks away. Also...the free breakfast is horrible and they make you feel like you have to leave a tip!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The Inn at the Opera is a wonderful hotel. It is small and has a family feeling. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. An excellent breakfast is included. The location couldn' t be better for activities in Civic Center, such as performances at the Opera House ( just across the street, Davies Hall or Herbst Theater. Valet parking is available. I have stayed at the hotel many times and always look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Operalover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Keon Stewart and the rest of the Inn staff were gracious and extremely helpful. I'll be back.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank BeachLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Take the time to do your homework on boutique hotels. I've stayed at several but the Inn at the Opera is a great hotel and I found special rates through the hotel website. If you want to be surrounded by crowds of tourists, then this hotel is not for you. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Union Square and the Wharf but these areas are accessible by cable car and other ground transportation. It is not as noisy as other hotels and you get a feel of the locals and the surrounding areas. The staff is very friendly and the rooms, although smaller than big chain hotels, are clean and comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast was fine and complimentary cookies await you back from your city excursions! There's also a wonderful place to eat (for both vegetarians and meat eaters) at Max's a block from the hotel (a recommendation from Michael at the front desk). I would definately stay at this hotel again. Being away from all the busy landmarks, this allowed us to truly see the city and explore all the surrounding neighborhoods.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CultureLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
2,618 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
347 reviews
Cova Hotel
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
1,160 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $180 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing