We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint european style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #98 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint european style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is quaint hotel that is very European feeling. Close enough to all downtown and wharf locations. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Wonderful free continental breakfast and a very inviting atmosphere. Nice and quiet with large bathrooms...could not have asked for more. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongwoodCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    229
    68
    30
    15
See reviews for
112
382
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What can I say but that I love this boutique-esque Inn!

We've been staying here for years, and not only do we recognize many familiar faces, but the hospitality and service only ages like a fine wine, which is to say gets better.

The great thing about Inn At the Opera is its location and quality. Whether you're paying points or dollars (and we pay points as owners) value can't be matched. Walking distance to two MUNI stops and from there to the rest of the City, but without the noise and clamour (read Zoo) of Union Square.

Breakfast can use a significant upgrade, but it's free here where at other Shell resorts they don't even offer it so one can't complain about what is added without costs.

Try the new (relatively) PLAJ restaurant... what an outstanding addition to the food scene. Delicate flavours abound!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are equal, even in same category. Ask for square footage and graciously accept that if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Inn with my wife and father-in-law for his 60th birthday. Overall, the hotel is cozy and comfortable. Even a little quaint. For example the elevator is kind of tiny and has a door that opens outward. But, while not new, they seem to have done a very nice job and we had a pleasant stay.
Amenities are few. There is no pool or fitness facility. If you want ice in the provided ice bucket you need to ask for someone to fill it. The room has a refrigerator but no freezer. Plus parking, like all of SF, is nearly impossible. But, The Inn offers a valet service for a fee which was well worth it.
Breakfast was an extensive continental spread, including fruit, bagels, cereal, yogurt, drinks, etc. I never left hungry but I did have to wait on plates and bowls pretty regularly.
The shining star of the hotel is the staff. They were amazing. Always friendly and available, basically bending over backwards to make sure we were taken care of. We received a number of restaurant recommendations from them, all in walking distance, and all turned out to be superb choices. The options in the area range from fast food too the always overpriced Absinthe bar just around the corner ;). We walked to the Karaoke bar one night and had a great time. I even managed to walk to Aikido class one morning at City Aikido.
The accommodations were more than acceptable. We stayed in a Deluxe suite for 3 nights and were entirely comfortable. My father-in-law, who has sleep apnea and a machine to help him sleep, stayed on the fold out hide-a-bed in the den. He had his own bathroom and slept like a baby the whole time.
So, basically, the next time we are in SF, we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our hotel room windows looked right into the dance studios of San Francisco Ballet - it was cool. Bus stops were 2-3 blocks away, and the location is centrally located to get to a variety of SF neighborhoods. The bed was comfy and the room's temperature maintained at appropriate warmth. Fresh fruit was provided free in the lobby each day, and the valet service (while a little pricey) was worth it. We loved walking "home" past City Hall, the Opera House, and the Civic Center - found an amazing concert by chance one evening. The elevator is not the most reliable so be prepared to walk up the stairs - at most 7 flights. This was a cute, quiet, little hotel that provided comfort and good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mki112255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Initially very disappointed after entering our room, Alley cats in the area would have no problems as there was no chance of any of them being swung in it.. It was described as a 'Studio with Queen bed' but really it is a room for one person.. there is literally no more than 2 feet between the bed and the walls..and the window looks right onto.. the parking alleyway.. after we lay on the bed for 5 minutes we realised how Monty Python everything was as he worked out how we could get past each other as we moved about.. I assigned my Wife 4 square feet on her side and same for my side.. then I said 'This is silly' so I went to reception and requested a move.. there was no problem at all with this the staff very polite they said they full at the time a room would become free later in the day- just told us to put everything back in our cases and they would take care of it..So we went off for the day to see the sights and when we got back, reported to reception who gave us the keys to room 27.. what a difference, plenty of room here and very comfortable. They had moved all our stuff there for us. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and we were impressed. This is an old Hotel, but the rooms have a nice retro look, apart from the modern electronics you could almost be in a hotel room out of a 1940's movie.. but we liked that..Facilities are excellent, the room has a Fridge, Microwave and coffee machine and even cutlery in the cabinet. Bathroom large enough, there is a hair dryer and they also provide an Iron and Ironing board. A continental breakfast was included and this gives you the option of Bagels, boiled eggs, cereal fresh fruit of all kinds, different breads and even cake and cookies (We do not tend to eat those at breakfast in the UK so interesting).. the lady on duty in the breakfast room very nice. They have a restaurant called 'Plaj' I believe this is a concession and not owned by the Hotel.. must say I found the menus a bit pretentious and expensive so did not bother . We had a couple of drinks in there and chatted to the nice Bar Tender but again felt the prices were high. The Hotel is in Fulton St just next to City Hall.. it is a short walk to Van Ness and to the Muni and other transport stops.. walk up Van Ness till you reach Sutter St walk to the left and you are in another very interesting part of Sna Francisco, Japan Town, with its pagoda and many Sushi bars and Japanese themed stores. Turn left out side the Hotel, down Fulton, to Gough, then right at Market St till you hit Dolores street and you will find a hidden Gem of San Francisco, the Mission Delores, the oldest building in the city (1775) five bucks to get in and a bargain..
All in all a lovely little hotel, with comfortable beds, friendly and welcoming staff, and I would highly recommend it.

Green Features: Towel option.. fold them away to use again.. or leave them on the floor for staff to collect and launder.. the former option we preferred
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

High points :
Terrific value for the price! Perfect location if going to opera, symphony or Asian art museum. Boutique hotel with lovely paintings and art throughout. Upkeep is excellent and condition is superb.
Great resturant on lower level with complimentary continental breakfast that is well prepared and nicely served.
Warm cookies for guests in late afternoon.
Friendly staff through out.
Nice area with small sink, coffee maker. refrigerator hidden within wooden Cabernets. Lovely furniture, lamps, etc.
Bed and pillows good.

Low points;
Check in was after 4pm before rooms were ready. Second day room was not cleaned until after 3 when we returned from sightseeing and wanted to be in room. We requested fresh to wells so we would not be bothered.
Staff is attentive but valet parking is slow. Apparently the location. Is more than three blocks away so make sure to request car in plenty of time to avoid waiting.

Very small armoire for closet is not tall enough for dresses to hang without having to be folded up. Hangers are not removable to hang somewhere else in the room.

No air conditioner but hotel provides fan if requested.

Highly recommend. We plan to come back next trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Close to opera, symphonies near Van Ness and Market Streets with access to all SF by bus, street car or cable car and train. First stop is Walgreens to buy a $27 one week pass of SF Muni. Cost of parking a car is $210 for the week.

We took advantage of all the forms of public transportation in a city were that is best and easy to use. Using a phone Google map program push on the Bus app or Walking. It will give you all the bus, street car routes to were you tell it you want to go. We walked a block or two depending on where we wanted to go. Getting to Cal Trans Trains, #47 bus, with a stop at Trader Joes. Going to an AMC movie or the California Cable (Starbucks is right there) use the number 5 bus. Headed to Powel Street for Cable Car, Ferry Terminal or Fisherman's Warf try the Street Cars from all collected from all the cities which got rid of them.

Close by is a great coffee at Blue Bottle in the ally off Linden about 2 blocks away from the Inn, and Smitten ice cream (see review) made by using fresh ingredients and nitrogen.

The Inn has smaller rooms reminiscent of a former era, tastefully appointed. They serve a nice complimentary breakfast of cereals, yogurt, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cream cheese and tomatoes with a nice selection of muffins and coffee cake.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front facing Fulton Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#104 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,436 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#85 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#25 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#155 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#93 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing