We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My Stay Was Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #100 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My Stay Was Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

OLDER hotel in the SF Theater District. Stayed 7 Nights.
The Good - Friendly staff, Complimentary Contenental Breakfast, newspaper, Small Fridge and MicroWave and nice location.
The Bad - Small Room, Small Bed, Small elevator, Construction across the street, street noise, $25/night to valet your car OR park on the street and try to avoid ticketing / tow.
We chose to Rent a Dollar Car and used street parking. $1-$2/hr on Fulton and McAllister. $2-$3/hr on Gough and Franklin. BEWARE of Restrictions, Street Cleaning varies (M,W,F on one side then Tu, Th on the other from 2am to 6am). Street parking meters are generally FREE from 6pm - 9am. Most meters take credit cards now. We tipped the Valet Guy(s) for extra information / help and saved ourselves about $150.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrontRoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    236
    69
    32
    16
See reviews for
116
388
60
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just spent Memorial Day weekend here. We had a 1-bedroom deluxe and loved it. Three rooms and 2 baths! European style hotel. Satisfactory breakfast. Excellent service. We walked 1 1/2 blocks to the symphony.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We picked this hotel based on the average rating on Trip Advisor and the like, I think we pretty much got it right. Firstly it's reasonably well located, you might prefer to be further down Market St or nearer Fisherman's Wharf, in which case you should book elsewhere, but as keen walkers we were happy to walk everywhere. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area on Market St, about 45 minutes to the wharf, 45 minutes to AT&T Park and the same to Golden Gate Park in the other direction.

The rooms are comfortable, clean, a little small but that's what we expected for the price and given that space is at a premium in San Fran. Handy to have the kitchenette with a microwave and fridge (turn it up to 6 as soon as you arrive). Wi-Fi is a bit hit and miss, works well on a laptop with a stronger connection than on a smartphone, but my iPhone picked it up in the lobby and restaurant much better that in my room.

Breakfast is very nice, plenty on offer, tea, coffee, juice etc to drink, porridge, bagels, toast, cakes, muffins etc to eat. No cold meats or cheeses, be aware of the varying definitions of a continental breakfast, very different to what German guests would be accustomed to for example. I'd say it's probably a $10 value per head, so if you take that off the cost of the hotel room it will give you a better cost for comparison.

Having read some other reviews here I guess we got lucky with our experiences of the staff, they were pleasant, efficient, we didn't ask a lot of them though to be honest. The chap on the desk at 5am when we checked out was perfectly nice too! Plus they offer you free cookies in the afternoon.

Tip: I wouldn't bother with the restaurant of an evening, San Fran is home to some very fine restaurants and some great cheap eats too, if you're going to spend $60 a head you might as well find a Michelin starred restaurant serving the kind of food you like.

Room Tip: If you get the ballet studio you'll be on the inside of the building with no view to speak of, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

To be fair to The Inn at The Opera, I had just come from the best hotel I'd ever stayed in immediately prior to arriving in SF from Sydney, Australia, but first impressions of the area and the hotel itself were a massive let down. Especially as there was little disparity in price.

The walk along Grove from the BART station on the Sunday morning that I arrived was an eye-opener to say the least! Down-and-outs everywhere, several appearing very disturbed, some with Tourettes... Anyway, let's say I didn't feel safe.

I got to the hotel to be told that check-in is 3pm and could I come back later. This is fair enough, but after a 14hr flight over the international date-line without sleep, it wasn't the best thing. I left my bag and went for food at The Grove on Hayes (recommended) and then walked up to Alamo Square, where I sat for a bit. On returning at 3, I was given a keycard to my room. Thankfully, my bags had been put in my room ready for me.

When I got to my room, I was immediately disappointed but incredibly tired. The "compact" size of the room - it was just big enough for the bed and my suitcase, the tiredness of the decor and the lack of a view through the small window were only really apparent once I'd woken up. It was at this point I wasn't sure whether to stay the full 4 nights or to check out there-and-then and go for one of my second choice hotels. As I'd already paid up-front via an online travel company, I decided it would be more trouble to leave and decided to make the most of it.

I suspect, reading other reviews and looking at pictures on here, that some rooms are better than others, and I was unlucky to be given a particularly small room and one that hadn't been updated in some time.

The complimentary breakfast (with gratuity slip and pen provided - Welcome to America) wasn't up to much if you don't like having massive amounts of sugar and weak coffee in the morning. I only bothered the once, given that there are several cafés and coffee shops nearby.

To give them their due, the staff were friendly, but seemed a little disinterested in guests.

The area felt less intimidating with people going about their daily business on weekdays, although as a solo traveller, I would have felt much safer in the Fisherman's Wharf area. It was well situated for bus and tram routes to nicer places, though. The 3 day visitor MUNI pass was my saviour!

It ended up that I spent most of my time out of the room sightseeing, only using it as somewhere to crash. It didn't put a massive dampener on my first visit to SF but I will stay elsewhere as and when I return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bri77_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I haven't even made it past sitting in the lobby trying to check in, and I am ready to give my review. I arrived early and was told my room would be ready either right then or three hours from then. Since then I have waited 30 minutes to get an answer as to which of those choices it would be because the maid was 'busy in other rooms' and couldn't check. Talking to the manager has been about as effective as talking to a pug dog- she just has a pained and irritated look on her face no matter what you say (sorry pug lovers). It's obvious she feels she is doing me a HUGE favor by thinking about getting my room ready early...but seriously? Most hotels I stay at can get me an answer as to whether a room will be ready in under 5 minutes and it is NOT considered a huge favor. The hotel itself is a hike from the BART- not easy with luggage. I hope to God the room is decent- if it is not, this will be dropping to a one star review. Otherwise, it is unlikely it will climb past this two star review. Unless there are complimentary diamond earrings sitting in the room for me. That might make up for the poor customer service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This amazing Hayes Valley area of SF is a super place to be. Can not wait to return to this area. My stay at the Inn of The Opera was less than stellar. The front desk service remained consistently aloof. The staff came across as people who did not exactly "love their job". The room I stayed in was in need of a good make over and super cleaning, although surfaces were ok, it was certainly not immaculate. Bed was comfy, but other furnishings were old ish and barely making it. Request for a fan on a very hot day was granted, but the fan was full of dust :(
Will probably try another Hotel in this area next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachtender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel was very conveniently located for my needs. Service was friendly and mostly efficient. Facilities were comprehensive and room size was adequate for my sole use. Overall I enjoyed full value for the price I paid. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Cova Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#155 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing