We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

To be fair to The Inn at The Opera, I had just come from the best hotel I'd ever stayed in immediately prior to arriving in SF from Sydney, Australia, but first impressions of the area and the hotel itself were a massive let down. Especially as there was little disparity in price.

The walk along Grove from the BART station on the Sunday morning that I arrived was an eye-opener to say the least! Down-and-outs everywhere, several appearing very disturbed, some with Tourettes... Anyway, let's say I didn't feel safe.

I got to the hotel to be told that check-in is 3pm and could I come back later. This is fair enough, but after a 14hr flight over the international date-line without sleep, it wasn't the best thing. I left my bag and went for food at The Grove on Hayes (recommended) and then walked up to Alamo Square, where I sat for a bit. On returning at 3, I was given a keycard to my room. Thankfully, my bags had been put in my room ready for me.

When I got to my room, I was immediately disappointed but incredibly tired. The "compact" size of the room - it was just big enough for the bed and my suitcase, the tiredness of the decor and the lack of a view through the small window were only really apparent once I'd woken up. It was at this point I wasn't sure whether to stay the full 4 nights or to check out there-and-then and go for one of my second choice hotels. As I'd already paid up-front via an online travel company, I decided it would be more trouble to leave and decided to make the most of it.

I suspect, reading other reviews and looking at pictures on here, that some rooms are better than others, and I was unlucky to be given a particularly small room and one that hadn't been updated in some time.

The complimentary breakfast (with gratuity slip and pen provided - Welcome to America) wasn't up to much if you don't like having massive amounts of sugar and weak coffee in the morning. I only bothered the once, given that there are several cafés and coffee shops nearby.

To give them their due, the staff were friendly, but seemed a little disinterested in guests.

The area felt less intimidating with people going about their daily business on weekdays, although as a solo traveller, I would have felt much safer in the Fisherman's Wharf area. It was well situated for bus and tram routes to nicer places, though. The 3 day visitor MUNI pass was my saviour!

It ended up that I spent most of my time out of the room sightseeing, only using it as somewhere to crash. It didn't put a massive dampener on my first visit to SF but I will stay elsewhere as and when I return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bri77_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    237
    71
    31
    16
See reviews for
117
390
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I haven't even made it past sitting in the lobby trying to check in, and I am ready to give my review. I arrived early and was told my room would be ready either right then or three hours from then. Since then I have waited 30 minutes to get an answer as to which of those choices it would be because the maid was 'busy in other rooms' and couldn't check. Talking to the manager has been about as effective as talking to a pug dog- she just has a pained and irritated look on her face no matter what you say (sorry pug lovers). It's obvious she feels she is doing me a HUGE favor by thinking about getting my room ready early...but seriously? Most hotels I stay at can get me an answer as to whether a room will be ready in under 5 minutes and it is NOT considered a huge favor. The hotel itself is a hike from the BART- not easy with luggage. I hope to God the room is decent- if it is not, this will be dropping to a one star review. Otherwise, it is unlikely it will climb past this two star review. Unless there are complimentary diamond earrings sitting in the room for me. That might make up for the poor customer service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This amazing Hayes Valley area of SF is a super place to be. Can not wait to return to this area. My stay at the Inn of The Opera was less than stellar. The front desk service remained consistently aloof. The staff came across as people who did not exactly "love their job". The room I stayed in was in need of a good make over and super cleaning, although surfaces were ok, it was certainly not immaculate. Bed was comfy, but other furnishings were old ish and barely making it. Request for a fan on a very hot day was granted, but the fan was full of dust :(
Will probably try another Hotel in this area next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachtender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel was very conveniently located for my needs. Service was friendly and mostly efficient. Facilities were comprehensive and room size was adequate for my sole use. Overall I enjoyed full value for the price I paid. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I wanted to stay in a unique hotel that met our expectations, but also didn't break the bank. We were incredibly happy with our stay at the Inn a the Opera. I know the hotel offeres different types of rooms. We stayed in one of the Studio rooms on the 5th floor. We walked into a beautiful room! Robes were waiting for us on a hanger. There was a small fridge in the corner with a tiny kitchen counter. In the kitchen drawer there were eating utensils and a wine opener. We also had a coffee pot in our room. The room was clean every day when we got back and it satisfied my wife (who has very high cleanliness expectations). The staff at the front desk always greeted us when we got back and that was nice. They also offered a great continental breakfast each morning! If we ever visit San Francisco again we will only stay here.

Room Tip: We loved our Studio room on the 5th floor. We attached a photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtleman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you like bland tower hotels with standard rooms, this might not be the place for you. If you are charmed by a tiny, old-fashioned elevator and rooms that remind you of staying in a friend's guest room, then you will love the character of this nice hotel, conveniently located right by city hall and within walking distance of a bunch of great restaurants and cool shops.

When I return to San Francisco with my wife, I look forward to bringing her to this excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Inn at the Opera in March 2014 for five nights. We were anticipating a nice inn according to everything we had read and with Interval International it is considered a premier resort. I would not categorize this as a premier resort at all. It fell so far below our expectations and I would not recommend this place unless you like to stay in a hot box. Perhaps because we are from the East Coast we aren't used to a hot hotel. They tried to accommodate us at first by giving us one of the larger studio suites which faced the street so if you opened the windows it was extremely loud and the outside lights to the resort stay on all night so your room looks like a Christmas tree even with the blinds shut. The room was also so humid and smelled badly. We asked to move which they kindly did but moved us to a worse room. I had asked to see the room before we switched but was told that was not possible, the front desk clerk said the windows were different but that was all she said. They moved us to a 7th floor room which was more of a hot box and apparently in San Francisco the windows only open a few inches so there was hardly any air flow . In addition my husband got very sick and needed his linens changed and the management gave us the hardest time about that. It wasn't until the housekeeping supervisor came to our room that we were able to get our sheets changed. She was a big help. I will say that my daughters had another room and it was much better than ours. Overall we were very disappointed . We travel quite a bit and this place just did not meet our expectations at all. On a positive note the breakfast was very nice every day and the front staff overall was very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose room 27 not 28 and not rooms on higher floors unless you don't mind being hot no ac and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vbmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin F, Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I do appreciate your nice words about our Housekeeping Supervisor and some of our other Associates. One of our greatest assets are the people who work here at the Inn - I will share your kind words with them.

I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when you go on vacation and you did not receive this. Please accept my apologies. We will take your comments to heart and improve where we can.

I thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Cova Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing