We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at the Opera
Nearby Hotels
$230
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$353
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$196
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveler rating
372
266
84
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
266
84
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallcivic centerhayes valleyhard boiled eggsasian art museumcontinental breakfasttime shareyogurtboutique hotelpublic transportationsitting roomsmall hotelthere is no air conditioningvan nessvalet parkingcoffee makersmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 772 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First, the negatives. The elevator was small and slow so plan on being on a lower floor(4 or less) if do not wish to wait. We were given the "junior" suite upon arrival and within a couple of days asked to be switched when another room became available. The first room (#33) featured an added small seating area near the door. This room was dark all day and a view of the room across the way (only 10 feet away) and a less than 10 foot view of the street. The remainer of the view was of the parking garage next door. I wish I took a picture but trust me on this. Probably the worst room we've ever had. Although clean, it was not for us and when offered a room after 3 days of being in the "cave" facing front even though smaller we jumped. Room 37 was wonderful. Was it as spacious as some might like? No. But it was a very nice room with a small sink, fridge, microwave and counter with utensils. More than enough especially considering what we just left. It was bright and AIRY. Our room rating went from 1/2 star to 4 overnight. Thank you to the staff for helping us make the switch.
As for the positives: 1) Staff was exceptionally courteous, pleasant and extremely helpful. Special acclaims to Dan at front desk, Alex, Joseph and Betty in housekeeping. 2) Complimentary breakfast was continental in style with fresh fruit, as well as assorted muffins, breads and choice of 3 cold cereals. Nicely done and with table service to help clear plates etc. 3) Location was very good. Less than 3 blocks to City Hall, Opera and public transportation. In fact, the sightseeing tour bus "Big Red Tourbus" stops right across the street. We tried several restaurants within a 5 block walk and were pleased with all. And, of course, a cab ride (fee about $12.00 to Fishermans Wharf) is only a call away by the hotel's most accomodating front desk staff. Although we nevery tried their dining room for dinner as we found so many other places to try, we were told many times it was a very nice place to eat and never have to leave the premises. All in all, a very nice stay once our room was changed.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the lesser priced ($167.00 per night 2 weeks ago when we were there) rooms. Ask for rooms ending in 7 or 8 (EG 37 or 38) on any floor and you will face the front of the hotel thus giving you a slightly smaller room than the others but it will be bright and airy. Other rooms are designated suites or "junior" suites and face the alleyway and adjascent parking lot of at least 8 floors. These rooms are dark with little ventilation and excessively noisy at night with the sounds of the streetsweepers, traffic, parking lot cars (seen in photos of hotel) and drifters rummaging through the garbage with the cans banging reverberating around the alleyway just outside your window.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Upon arrival the front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. There is a need for a bit of a facelift for the hotel because I noticed on the way to the room that the wallpaper is worn and the sheers are looking shabby. The hotel has lots of mirrors and for me it is a bit much. The breakfast here is croissants, fruit, cereals, bagels, and hard boiled eggs. The coffee was good and the dining room servers were efficient. There was a sound of piped in music every night probably from the restaurant below but it is not certain. For this reason I have to give it less than a stellar review. I am a musician and hearing music is entirely too distracting when I am trying to go to sleep. Generally speaking, the walls are far too thin and noises can be heard throughout the place. The owner needs to correct this really inconvenient problem. Otherwise the hotel is near public transportation and many fine restaurants, which is very convenient. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and recommend it even though there are little issues to be ironed out.



Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bastmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has some of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. We supposedly had a queen size bed but it feels like a full especially considering my husband is over 6 ft tall. There are some decent places to eat nearby on Hayes, Gough and Franklin. Even though this is near the civic center, opera house and ballet there are a fair amount of homeless people and sketchy characters here. Our first night we saw a guy digging through the dumpster next to the hotel. All in all I would probably stay at a different hotel the next time around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Between conventions and gay pride events, we were having difficulty finding hotels. When we learned Suites at Fishermans Wharf was full, they referred us to their sister property Inn at the Opera, literally steps from the Opera, Ballet, Symphony and City Hall. It is a lovely and much less touristy area than Fishermans, which we welcomed. There were several wonderful restaurants nearby and the Scandinavian restaurant in the hotel is very good. We stayed two nights for a price of $169 per night plus tax, including breakfast, a major bargain. The hotel is spotless, the room has every amenity, and has a very gracious staff. We highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in one of the Symphony Suites for 9 nights this month and very much enjoyed our stay. We chose it after reading all the great reviews on this site.
The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage space. We found the kitchenette very handy - being able to get take-out and bring it back to save money on eating out. We had a "go green" package so it wasn't fully serviced each day but we always had clean towels and coffee, etc was replaced as it was used.
It was nice to have opening windows. While there is no air conditioning, the ceiling fan in the bedroom was almost silent and made for comfortable sleeping. As with any hotel in a big city, there is always noise of some kind at night but in general we found it very quiet (and I'm a light sleeper).
The continental breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent, with a variety of options to suit most people. The cookies at reception from 3pm are recommended but get in quick because they're popular!
All the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. They make the hotel as good as it is.
While the hotel is not close to the key "tourist" areas, there are bus stops close by, at least 1 bus tour company stops directly outside and the staff at reception were always more than happy to call cabs for us. It does pay to be aware that the undesirable Tenderloin district is close by but we found walking quite safe during the day.
There are loads of great eateries close by in Hayes St and many markets and cafes within easy walking distance. There is also a great Farmer's Market close by, which operates on Wednesdays and Sundays. We didn't eat in the Plaj restaurant but it seems very popular.
The only tiny down side is that the elevator is very small and slow but, unless you're taking luggage up or down, there are only a maximum of 6 flights of stairs.
Thank you to the staff for making our stay fantastic.

Room Tip: The Symphony Suite is spacious with a lounge, kitchenette, separate bedroom and big bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews