We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Service, Small Room, Super Quaint!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #100 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service, Small Room, Super Quaint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Opera July 3-8 for a long weekend. There was a bit of snafu with our reservations- we'd booked through our timeshare company and they'd accidentally triplicated our reservation! Since it was just my mother and me, we opted to take 2 of the rooms and release the 3rd room so the hotel could book another guest last min.

The rooms are very small but that is to be expected in SF. The hotel is literally across the street from the Opera and about a block and a half from the bus that will take you to Fisherman's Warf or Pier 39. About 3 blocks away, in the opposite direction you can pick up the F-line and or a bus that will take you through the Haight or to Golden Gate Park.

We felt the location was a perfect spot to be near everything, yet just far enough outside touristy area so the cost was still reasonable.

The service at this hotel was FANTASTIC! Because it's a timeshare location that does not have a kitchen (there are kitchenettes in all the rooms) or a restaurant, they offer a continental breakfast every morning. This consisted of muffins, bagels, English muffins, fruit, cottage cheese, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and assorted drinks. It was so perfect! We ate breakfast everyday and took a muffin to-go to eat later.

Some other reviewers complained about the lack of air conditioning and/or noise. This did not bother us at all. I actually had to sleep with the window closed because it was so cool at night. I found that be leaving my window open during the day it aired out and by the time I was ready for bed the room was comfortable. The noise isn't terrible. If you are a light sleeper you might as for a room on the back end of the hotel (mines was on the front end right off the street). I sleep with a rain machine app going on my phone typically, so it ended up drowning out any ambient street noise.

The only "issue" we experienced- that wasn't even a huge deal was the elevator. We were on the 4th floor and the elevator was out of service daily. The hotel staff was very prompt in getting it fixed, but a couple times I witnessed older couples that were seriously judging whether or not they'd be able to make it up 5, 6, 7 flights of stairs so their rooms.

Overall we had an excellent time! The hotel staff was always extremely helpful when we need directions or suggestions on where to eat (Go eat at the Stinking Rose if you like garlic! So so so good!) May or not return to SF again, but if we did I would for sure seek a room at the Inn at the Opera!

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, request a room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allierskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    236
    69
    32
    16
See reviews for
116
388
60
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

First, the negatives. The elevator was small and slow so plan on being on a lower floor(4 or less) if do not wish to wait. We were given the "junior" suite upon arrival and within a couple of days asked to be switched when another room became available. The first room (#33) featured an added small seating area near the door. This room was dark all day and a view of the room across the way (only 10 feet away) and a less than 10 foot view of the street. The remainer of the view was of the parking garage next door. I wish I took a picture but trust me on this. Probably the worst room we've ever had. Although clean, it was not for us and when offered a room after 3 days of being in the "cave" facing front even though smaller we jumped. Room 37 was wonderful. Was it as spacious as some might like? No. But it was a very nice room with a small sink, fridge, microwave and counter with utensils. More than enough especially considering what we just left. It was bright and AIRY. Our room rating went from 1/2 star to 4 overnight. Thank you to the staff for helping us make the switch.
As for the positives: 1) Staff was exceptionally courteous, pleasant and extremely helpful. Special acclaims to Dan at front desk, Alex, Joseph and Betty in housekeeping. 2) Complimentary breakfast was continental in style with fresh fruit, as well as assorted muffins, breads and choice of 3 cold cereals. Nicely done and with table service to help clear plates etc. 3) Location was very good. Less than 3 blocks to City Hall, Opera and public transportation. In fact, the sightseeing tour bus "Big Red Tourbus" stops right across the street. We tried several restaurants within a 5 block walk and were pleased with all. And, of course, a cab ride (fee about $12.00 to Fishermans Wharf) is only a call away by the hotel's most accomodating front desk staff. Although we nevery tried their dining room for dinner as we found so many other places to try, we were told many times it was a very nice place to eat and never have to leave the premises. All in all, a very nice stay once our room was changed.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the lesser priced ($167.00 per night 2 weeks ago when we were there) rooms. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Upon arrival the front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. There is a need for a bit of a facelift for the hotel because I noticed on the way to the room that the wallpaper is worn and the sheers are looking shabby. The hotel has lots of mirrors and for me it is a bit much. The breakfast here is croissants, fruit, cereals, bagels, and hard boiled eggs. The coffee was good and the dining room servers were efficient. There was a sound of piped in music every night probably from the restaurant below but it is not certain. For this reason I have to give it less than a stellar review. I am a musician and hearing music is entirely too distracting when I am trying to go to sleep. Generally speaking, the walls are far too thin and noises can be heard throughout the place. The owner needs to correct this really inconvenient problem. Otherwise the hotel is near public transportation and many fine restaurants, which is very convenient. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and recommend it even though there are little issues to be ironed out.



Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bastmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has some of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. We supposedly had a queen size bed but it feels like a full especially considering my husband is over 6 ft tall. There are some decent places to eat nearby on Hayes, Gough and Franklin. Even though this is near the civic center, opera house and ballet there are a fair amount of homeless people and sketchy characters here. Our first night we saw a guy digging through the dumpster next to the hotel. All in all I would probably stay at a different hotel the next time around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Between conventions and gay pride events, we were having difficulty finding hotels. When we learned Suites at Fishermans Wharf was full, they referred us to their sister property Inn at the Opera, literally steps from the Opera, Ballet, Symphony and City Hall. It is a lovely and much less touristy area than Fishermans, which we welcomed. There were several wonderful restaurants nearby and the Scandinavian restaurant in the hotel is very good. We stayed two nights for a price of $169 per night plus tax, including breakfast, a major bargain. The hotel is spotless, the room has every amenity, and has a very gracious staff. We highly recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in one of the Symphony Suites for 9 nights this month and very much enjoyed our stay. We chose it after reading all the great reviews on this site.
The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage space. We found the kitchenette very handy - being able to get take-out and bring it back to save money on eating out. We had a "go green" package so it wasn't fully serviced each day but we always had clean towels and coffee, etc was replaced as it was used.
It was nice to have opening windows. While there is no air conditioning, the ceiling fan in the bedroom was almost silent and made for comfortable sleeping. As with any hotel in a big city, there is always noise of some kind at night but in general we found it very quiet (and I'm a light sleeper).
The continental breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent, with a variety of options to suit most people. The cookies at reception from 3pm are recommended but get in quick because they're popular!
All the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. They make the hotel as good as it is.
While the hotel is not close to the key "tourist" areas, there are bus stops close by, at least 1 bus tour company stops directly outside and the staff at reception were always more than happy to call cabs for us. It does pay to be aware that the undesirable Tenderloin district is close by but we found walking quite safe during the day.
There are loads of great eateries close by in Hayes St and many markets and cafes within easy walking distance. There is also a great Farmer's Market close by, which operates on Wednesdays and Sundays. We didn't eat in the Plaj restaurant but it seems very popular.
The only tiny down side is that the elevator is very small and slow but, unless you're taking luggage up or down, there are only a maximum of 6 flights of stairs.
Thank you to the staff for making our stay fantastic.

Room Tip: The Symphony Suite is spacious with a lounge, kitchenette, separate bedroom and big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked the most economical room at this hotel for our stay and it was VERY small. There was literally no where to put the luggage on the floor and still be able to walk to the bed. We had difficulty getting a cab to go to the bay area from the hotel (multiple times the front desk called and the taxi never showed up. We usually walk to all the tourist points, and we're told that it was not safe to walk to the bay from the hotel because you would have to pass through the Tenderloin District (which I should have been able to tell if I had done my research beforehand). That being said, there were several public transportation stops within easy walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast each morning was nice. If you plan to drive or take the bus, then this is an okay choice (but I would recommend springing for the upgraded room). However if I go to San Francisco again I would spend more money to stay somewhere closer to the bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingspartan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Cova Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing