We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
379
274
86
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
274
86
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallcivic centerperforming artstime sharehard boiled eggscontinental breakfastasian art museumfresh fruitboutique hotelpublic transportationeuropean style hotelsitting roomsmall hotelthere is no air conditioningvalet parkingcoffee makersmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 790 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location was excellent, we couldn't have asked for a more convenient place to stay.
The staff were friendly and courteous.
The breakfast was great: fresh, good variety and delicious.
DVDs were available at no extra cost to watch in your room.
Very clean and comfortable rooms.
I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasneem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We love this small, intimate hotel in the heart of San Francisco. It is centrally located in the Civic Center/Hayes Valley area, within walking distance to BART and many attractions. It's an easy ride to other parts of the City via Muni.
The new Scandinavian restaurant Plaj (Play) is not to be missed. Yummy and presentation is impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponymom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A pair of space heaters quickly dispelled the chill in our one-bedroom suite during the cold spell and the friendly staff continued the warming trend. Vintage building with a creaky elevator and sloped floors, but all of this adds to the character. Modern where it counts --- great bed, good size bathrooms, well-outfitted kitchenette, free wifi with steady signal. Breakfast included in the room rate was worth eating: fresh raspberries, blueberries and strawberries, decent bagels, fresh muffins, Peets coffee and teas, local Clover milk from Sonoma, and more. Dining room is somewhat dark for a breakfast space even with all the lights on. Parking valet was fast. Something in the room caused a slight allergic reaction (nasal congestion and some sneezing), maybe the older carpet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our third visit to San Francisco, but the first to this hotel and most memorable by far. The hotel staff contributed immensely to our enjoyable stay. The front desk staff ( Alex and Evita) answered all our questions and offer tips about the bus system (Muni) and cable cars which prove quite useful. The hotel room while a bit on small side, it was surprisingly functional, it had a small kitchenette. The bed was extremely comfortable, always woke up refreshed. They had a continental breakfast that was well monitored and refreshed by hotel staff (Ceasar), we looked forward to having breakfast there every morning and being greeted by the staff. If you arrive by car, just know that parking is not cheap in this town. While we visited most of the local attractions in the city, we ventured out of town to places like Napa Valley for wine tasting and Monterey for breathtaking ocean views. In conclusion, we loved our stay at the Inn at the Opera will return there for future visits.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hazmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love staying at this hotel which is within easy walking distance to Hayes Valley and its great restaurants, as well as the opera, symphony, and City Hall. Front desk very professional, even noticing my birthday on my driver's license -and sending complimentary bottle of Chardonnay to our room.
They have recently upgraded many of the rooms, lobby and restaurant adding to charm and ambiance of this little gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACurry1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews