We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST DAMN service I've EVER had : )”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #107 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST DAMN service I've EVER had : )”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I lucked up on this little gem by asking another hotel for someplace romantic. Then when I called with some special request boy did they SHINE. Everything I asked for they accommodated me with and some, the best surprise 20th anniversary for my husband. This might just be out SPOT... I loved it & he did to. Thanks to the wonderful staff .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidatees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Just wanted to say Thank You for the great review. I am glad that we were able to go above and beyond and make your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    245
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
400
60
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location was excellent, we couldn't have asked for a more convenient place to stay.
The staff were friendly and courteous.
The breakfast was great: fresh, good variety and delicious.
DVDs were available at no extra cost to watch in your room.
Very clean and comfortable rooms.
I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunol, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We love this small, intimate hotel in the heart of San Francisco. It is centrally located in the Civic Center/Hayes Valley area, within walking distance to BART and many attractions. It's an easy ride to other parts of the City via Muni.
The new Scandinavian restaurant Plaj (Play) is not to be missed. Yummy and presentation is impeccable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponymom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A pair of space heaters quickly dispelled the chill in our one-bedroom suite during the cold spell and the friendly staff continued the warming trend. Vintage building with a creaky elevator and sloped floors, but all of this adds to the character. Modern where it counts --- great bed, good size bathrooms, well-outfitted kitchenette, free wifi with steady signal. Breakfast included in the room rate was worth eating: fresh raspberries, blueberries and strawberries, decent bagels, fresh muffins, Peets coffee and teas, local Clover milk from Sonoma, and more. Dining room is somewhat dark for a breakfast space even with all the lights on. Parking valet was fast. Something in the room caused a slight allergic reaction (nasal congestion and some sneezing), maybe the older carpet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to San Francisco, but the first to this hotel and most memorable by far. The hotel staff contributed immensely to our enjoyable stay. The front desk staff ( Alex and Evita) answered all our questions and offer tips about the bus system (Muni) and cable cars which prove quite useful. The hotel room while a bit on small side, it was surprisingly functional, it had a small kitchenette. The bed was extremely comfortable, always woke up refreshed. They had a continental breakfast that was well monitored and refreshed by hotel staff (Ceasar), we looked forward to having breakfast there every morning and being greeted by the staff. If you arrive by car, just know that parking is not cheap in this town. While we visited most of the local attractions in the city, we ventured out of town to places like Napa Valley for wine tasting and Monterey for breathtaking ocean views. In conclusion, we loved our stay at the Inn at the Opera will return there for future visits.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hazmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love staying at this hotel which is within easy walking distance to Hayes Valley and its great restaurants, as well as the opera, symphony, and City Hall. Front desk very professional, even noticing my birthday on my driver's license -and sending complimentary bottle of Chardonnay to our room.
They have recently upgraded many of the rooms, lobby and restaurant adding to charm and ambiance of this little gem.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACurry1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

When we arrived the staff introduced themselves and made it clear they were there to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They gave use directions to lunch and followed up make sure we had no questions. If you passed a staff member in the hall or on the elevator, they always introduced themselves and made you feel it was important to them that everything was going well,
The Opera suite was excellent for the 3 of us. The only negative was the heat is not central and one of the space heaters in the room did not work. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and two bathrooms really were appreciated as we were traveling with our 16 year old granddaughter.
The people who work there seem to like their jobs and this goes along way toward making the guests feel welcome and appreciated. We had just stayed in the Waldorf Astoria in Naples, FL and the rooms were nicer but although the staff was good at the Waldorf they were excellent at the Inn at the Opera. Excellent location for the Arts or Civic Center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
695 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
1,106 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
338 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
2,570 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing