We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
379
274
86
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
274
86
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallcivic centerperforming artstime sharehard boiled eggscontinental breakfastasian art museumfresh fruitboutique hotelpublic transportationeuropean style hotelsitting roomsmall hotelthere is no air conditioningvalet parkingcoffee makersmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 790 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A pair of space heaters quickly dispelled the chill in our one-bedroom suite during the cold spell and the friendly staff continued the warming trend. Vintage building with a creaky elevator and sloped floors, but all of this adds to the character. Modern where it counts --- great bed, good size bathrooms, well-outfitted kitchenette, free wifi with steady signal. Breakfast included in the room rate was worth eating: fresh raspberries, blueberries and strawberries, decent bagels, fresh muffins, Peets coffee and teas, local Clover milk from Sonoma, and more. Dining room is somewhat dark for a breakfast space even with all the lights on. Parking valet was fast. Something in the room caused a slight allergic reaction (nasal congestion and some sneezing), maybe the older carpet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our third visit to San Francisco, but the first to this hotel and most memorable by far. The hotel staff contributed immensely to our enjoyable stay. The front desk staff ( Alex and Evita) answered all our questions and offer tips about the bus system (Muni) and cable cars which prove quite useful. The hotel room while a bit on small side, it was surprisingly functional, it had a small kitchenette. The bed was extremely comfortable, always woke up refreshed. They had a continental breakfast that was well monitored and refreshed by hotel staff (Ceasar), we looked forward to having breakfast there every morning and being greeted by the staff. If you arrive by car, just know that parking is not cheap in this town. While we visited most of the local attractions in the city, we ventured out of town to places like Napa Valley for wine tasting and Monterey for breathtaking ocean views. In conclusion, we loved our stay at the Inn at the Opera will return there for future visits.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hazmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love staying at this hotel which is within easy walking distance to Hayes Valley and its great restaurants, as well as the opera, symphony, and City Hall. Front desk very professional, even noticing my birthday on my driver's license -and sending complimentary bottle of Chardonnay to our room.
They have recently upgraded many of the rooms, lobby and restaurant adding to charm and ambiance of this little gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACurry1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

When we arrived the staff introduced themselves and made it clear they were there to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They gave use directions to lunch and followed up make sure we had no questions. If you passed a staff member in the hall or on the elevator, they always introduced themselves and made you feel it was important to them that everything was going well,
The Opera suite was excellent for the 3 of us. The only negative was the heat is not central and one of the space heaters in the room did not work. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and two bathrooms really were appreciated as we were traveling with our 16 year old granddaughter.
The people who work there seem to like their jobs and this goes along way toward making the guests feel welcome and appreciated. We had just stayed in the Waldorf Astoria in Naples, FL and the rooms were nicer but although the staff was good at the Waldorf they were excellent at the Inn at the Opera. Excellent location for the Arts or Civic Center.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wanted to find a hotel close to the Orpheum Theatre for our girls weekend to see Wicked. The Inn at the Opera was a fine choice. Other venues such as the ballet and symphony were closer, the Orpheum was a long six blocks, but well worth the walk to avoid parking waits and fees. We stayed in the Symphony Suite which was a very large suite with 2 full bathrooms. We shared the queen bed instead of using the pull out sofa, because like most sofa beds it was a back ache waiting to happen. Everything else about the room was 1st class. The staff was very helpful and the room was very well stocked, clean and maintained. Our room was at the back of the building so street noise was low. The black out shades worked great and we slept well. The bedding high quality and the room had everything we needed including pretty good wi-fi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews