We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #95 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed there several times with our timeshare exchange and have found it delightful and convenient, close to a bus line that will take you anywhere yet within walking distance to downtown, and civic center.Some rooms I like better than others, restaurant is good and the breakfast is good. Look forward to returning

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TADMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 753 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights during the Holidays while our kids were with grandparents! Great location, helpful staff! Large continental breakfast spread included with room ... Quiet hotel (we had a room located facing an alley)..close walk to restaurants in Hayes Valley! Street parking was easy enough as valet was a bit above our budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCStauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August. We loved this hotel--the location was convenient to the symphony and several restaurants, and our room was extremely comfortable. We also enjoyed a delicious, unique meal at the restaurant in the hotel. There was no valet parking available when we got there but lobby staff did direct us to a nearby lot where we could pay by the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed over New Years 12-13, walked to Civic Center in less than 10 minutes. Wonderful & helpful staff. The breakfast was also nice. Only complaint is the elevator broke down momentarily but was fixed quickly. Only had to climb 6 flights of stairs once!

Will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NonyaB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a humble little boutique hotel in Hayes Valley, on the edge of the Tenderloin. It's just next to city hall, which is beautiful, especially at night and within easy access to Union Square, the Mission, etc. The hotel was clean, the bed comfortable and our room, "The Ballet Suite" came with a small kitchenette complete with a sink, a few cups and plates and a mini-fridge. What I liked most though was that the windows were properly shaded, allowing me to get some good shut-eye on our pillow-top mattress. The hotel is in the process of re-carpeting these first few weeks in January, but I didn't find the noise level too obnoxious. Do keep in mind that it is an older building, so you will at times hear your neighbors from time to time, but that's just the nature of the beast with charming older buildings.

Added bonus: parking is only $25/day, which is about half as expensive as a lot of the other hotels in the area, which can run $60-80/day. And it's all valet, so you can just call down when you're ready for your car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family had several rooms over the Christmas weekend. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Given that this is a renovated historic building, the rooms were a little cozy but not unreasonable.

Well located to catch the bus, trolley or metro. Make sure to pickup a unlimited transit travel pass at SFO baggage claim. A bargain and easy to use.

The front desk is great, especially Dan, in recommendations for meals and activities. He found the perfect spot to watch the big football game. You should have a fun stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PNWFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was difficult to find the place since the signs on the outside of the building were advertising the restaurant and not the inn but once we figured it out it was great. The staff is very friendly and makes an effort to recognize you as a guest and not just another face. Everyone is helpful. The atmosphere of the inn is perfect San Francisco, Victorian style building with cozy rooms. We were on the 5th floor, they have an elevator but we chose to take the stairs, classic San Fran style. Will go back to stay and see a ballet since the SF Ballet is right next door!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
744 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
2,633 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#147 of 230 in San Francisco
349 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
129 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $166 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing