We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at the Opera
Nearby Hotels
$230
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$353
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveler rating
372
266
84
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
266
84
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallcivic centerhayes valleyhard boiled eggsasian art museumcontinental breakfasttime shareyogurtboutique hotelpublic transportationsitting roomsmall hotelthere is no air conditioningvan nessvalet parkingcoffee makersmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 772 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We picked this hotel because of TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is very comfortable and the room was well maintained. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We have no complaints. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. We will stay there the next time we go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in a Victorian building close to lots of cultural experiences and away from the busy shopping areas. Close by are local shopping streets with some lovely one off shops and restaurants. There is easy access to public transport but we found that it wasn't too far to walk to most places.
Our room on the 4th floor was possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever been in, certainly in America but it was clean and had good quality bedding and fittings; we slept well in the comfortable bed.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lategapyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area, behind the Opera, yet close to a lot of attractions. It is basically equidistant from the Golden Gate Park and the Embarcadero. Those who favor walking to their destination will love the situation, and there's public transportation nearby for those who'd rather not walk.

The room was clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette. The staff was professional and polite.
Definitely a hotel I'd book again next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulhoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent location--close to the airport, in the downtown, walking distance to the opera (obviously), and good transit options. The concierge was very helpful and altho the building is older, a recent overhaul is apparent. The "continental" breakfast far exceeded my expectations and even the studio unit we were in was larger than what I was expecting. We were only overnight to accommodate an early morning flight, but we couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: Be prepared for valet parking as that's really your only option
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a Victorian building-expect small rooms! The charm and location are worth it. You are in a historic area in San Francisco with good transportation choices. If you choose to drive, park your car with valet, the daily fee entitles you to in and out privileges which is an excellent deal. You will feel safer returning late at night rather than walking around the Civic Center area. Safer to walk around Hayes area where there are a lot of restaurants and shops. Junior Suites have more room than regular hotel room which is very tiny. But heck, who spend all of their time in a hotel room while in San Francisco? Sit in the front lobby and enjoy reading the paper with a cup of coffe or tea and watch the world go by. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Smile.

Room Tip: Rooms in middle and back have less noise. Head for Hayes Street for dining and shopping. Take free tours of Library, City Hall, Golden Gate Bridge and other landmarks in San Francisco. Food trucks at U.N. and Civic Center Plaza are worth trying-good food and places to sit in plaza.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews