We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #103 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in a Victorian building close to lots of cultural experiences and away from the busy shopping areas. Close by are local shopping streets with some lovely one off shops and restaurants. There is easy access to public transport but we found that it wasn't too far to walk to most places.
Our room on the 4th floor was possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever been in, certainly in America but it was clean and had good quality bedding and fittings; we slept well in the comfortable bed.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lategapyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 750 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area, behind the Opera, yet close to a lot of attractions. It is basically equidistant from the Golden Gate Park and the Embarcadero. Those who favor walking to their destination will love the situation, and there's public transportation nearby for those who'd rather not walk.

The room was clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette. The staff was professional and polite.
Definitely a hotel I'd book again next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulhoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent location--close to the airport, in the downtown, walking distance to the opera (obviously), and good transit options. The concierge was very helpful and altho the building is older, a recent overhaul is apparent. The "continental" breakfast far exceeded my expectations and even the studio unit we were in was larger than what I was expecting. We were only overnight to accommodate an early morning flight, but we couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: Be prepared for valet parking as that's really your only option
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a Victorian building-expect small rooms! The charm and location are worth it. You are in a historic area in San Francisco with good transportation choices. If you choose to drive, park your car with valet, the daily fee entitles you to in and out privileges which is an excellent deal. You will feel safer returning late at night rather than walking around the Civic Center area. Safer to walk around Hayes area where there are a lot of restaurants and shops. Junior Suites have more room than regular hotel room which is very tiny. But heck, who spend all of their time in a hotel room while in San Francisco? Sit in the front lobby and enjoy reading the paper with a cup of coffe or tea and watch the world go by. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Smile.

Room Tip: Rooms in middle and back have less noise. Head for Hayes Street for dining and shopping. Take free...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This place was extremely quaint, lovely and clean. The service was excellent. I was not impressed by the breakfast or the lift which was a bit old school and spooky. The location was great, close to bus stops etc. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetness1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and was really pleased with our choice. It's quite overwhelming with the choice in San Francisco and we wanted something with character which this place certainly had. The staff were exceptional, always helpful and cheerful no matter what time of day. They have recently opened a restaurant which we didn't get to try but had a drink in the bar, they had a great selection of all types of drinks and again the staff were really friendly. As for location it's not in the centre of the hussle and bussle but we didn't want this anyway, there is a bus stop right near the hotel which the hop on hop off bus tours stop at but if your not shy of walking which we weren't it was only a 20 minute / half hour walk to the centre. There are also several restaurants and bars just round the corner from the hotel too. The rooms were very clean with really comfy beds, kitchen facilities and TV. We couldn't have asked for any more and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have a booking to see and opera - even better!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel with cheerful, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent new Scandinavian restaurant on site Le Plaj and lively bar. Excellent location, walking distance to Westfield Center upscale mall on Market Street, City Hall, Symphony and Opera, longer walk to Embarcadero but doable. Great boutiques and cafes on Hayes Street.

Room Tip: Ballet rooms small but have microwave, frig, sink, plates, glasses, utensils.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Europa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,618 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#147 of 229 in San Francisco
347 reviews
Cova Hotel
#101 of 229 in San Francisco
1,160 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $182 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing