We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“I really liked this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #91 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I really liked this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This place was extremely quaint, lovely and clean. The service was excellent. I was not impressed by the breakfast or the lift which was a bit old school and spooky. The location was great, close to bus stops etc. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetness1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    225
    66
    29
    15
See reviews for
111
375
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and was really pleased with our choice. It's quite overwhelming with the choice in San Francisco and we wanted something with character which this place certainly had. The staff were exceptional, always helpful and cheerful no matter what time of day. They have recently opened a restaurant which we didn't get to try but had a drink in the bar, they had a great selection of all types of drinks and again the staff were really friendly. As for location it's not in the centre of the hussle and bussle but we didn't want this anyway, there is a bus stop right near the hotel which the hop on hop off bus tours stop at but if your not shy of walking which we weren't it was only a 20 minute / half hour walk to the centre. There are also several restaurants and bars just round the corner from the hotel too. The rooms were very clean with really comfy beds, kitchen facilities and TV. We couldn't have asked for any more and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have a booking to see and opera - even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel with cheerful, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent new Scandinavian restaurant on site Le Plaj and lively bar. Excellent location, walking distance to Westfield Center upscale mall on Market Street, City Hall, Symphony and Opera, longer walk to Embarcadero but doable. Great boutiques and cafes on Hayes Street.

Room Tip: Ballet rooms small but have microwave, frig, sink, plates, glasses, utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton SK Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our week stay at Inn at the Opera was great. Although a bit small, we did have a kitchenette with cutlery and plates ( used it for leftovers). Rooms were clean and replenished daily; staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were fine too. Within walking distance of city bus & BART routes. Close to opera house and city hall. Would recommend this hotel. - Beth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

An extremely comfortable and lovely old hotel if you want to stay away from the Wharf. Great breakfast and really friendly staff. Check out walking routes at night, you might want to take a taxi as there are some streets best avoided in Tenderloin unless you are familiar with the area. Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again if/when we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A friend & I were in SF in Sept. for a girls getaway. After much research, we chose Inn At The Opera and it did not disappoint! We stayed 3 nights in an Opera suite, which was perfect. You enter into a small common room with kitchenette. My friend took the large bedroom & full bath off one side of the common room, and I took the french-door "den" with pull out couch, it's own tv & second full bath. We had a lovely "euro" style breakfast (included) each morning and ate a fantastic dinner one night downstairs at Plaj. It was packed due to a recent rave review by a local critic. The other nights, we walked 5 minutes around the corner to Hayes St., where there were cute boutiques & restaurants. The hotel's location is a little off the beaten path, which we liked. It was quiet, clean and we didn't feel at any risk. We walked one day thru Japantown to Pacific Heights, Cow Hollow, & the Marina. I wouldn't recommend walking to Union Square. The hotel staff was very professional & helpful & the doorman hailed us a cab right away. We would have paid much more for separate rooms in another hotel. This spot allowed us to be together with our own space & baths. Great value in the city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for three nights 10/23/12-10/25/12. My family of five reserved two rooms, a Ballet Room and a Symphony Room (suite with queen bed room and full size pull-out sofa in a living area) on the fifth floor. This little boutique hotel is beautiful! The building itself is older-some nice history. It is decorated and maintained very nicely. Very clean and that is a priority for me! All the staff members, from the parking valet, front desk to the restaurant staff were super helpful and nice. Continental breakfast was included which is always a plus. Location was good too. We had a rental car so we chose to pay valet parking which was around $28/night (oh well, it is SF). If you like traditional charm and coziness I recommend you stay here! We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#110 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#43 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#90 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#153 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#28 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing