We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large multi-room parlor suite is a great find in a city full of tiny hotel rooms.”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #185 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large multi-room parlor suite is a great find in a city full of tiny hotel rooms.”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I had a college gal-pal reunion in San Francisco. I was happy to find accomodations for five adult women that gave us enough room to sleep comfortably but close enough to spend good quality time with eachother. Room is basically two hotel rooms attached to a small living area. The TV in the living area is very small and outdated but everything was updated in the actual bedrooms. There was a microwave and mini fridge in the parlor so I suggest bringing supplies because the area around the hotel isn't great and provisions are limited in the hotel as there is no restaurant. It's a typical old San Francisco hotel, a little worn around the edges, but it will work...Parking is $36 per night plus 13% tax so be prepared!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltravel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    235
    222
    130
    100
See reviews for
128
224
51
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Reading most of the reviews about this hotel I was a little uneasy about the location and size of room. But once I got there, the service coupled with the overall environment put my mind at ease. Yes, the hotel is situated on the VERY edge of the Tendorloin... but you shouldn't be venturing into that general direction anyways. When you walk out the door one way is towards that "shady" part and the other is towards the mall and union square. Its next door to the shopping center and two or three blocks away from Union Square.

Please Note: They are very Military Friendly. Once they saw my military ID, I was given a generous discount. So don't forget to ask if you are in the Armed Services!

The room were on the small side and the walls/doors a little thin, but I don't expect much in the middle of SF at the given rate. It is comfortable enough to stay in for two or three nights.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azncreazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2009

lil' bit far away to golden gate
at the halfway to homeless part and fashion part

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sdeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed at this hotel with a few other friends, were participating in a dance showcase. The rooms were cute but small, and so was the elevator, but that didnt take away from the overall awesome feel of the hotel. I was surprised when i saw that there was NO AC in the rooms. I almost died beause of the heat but everything else was great. Amazing staff too!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidArroyo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My colleague and I were very happy to have found the Hotel Metropolis. We prefer to stay in more European type hotels and the Metropolis fits that bill. What does "European Style" mean to me? It means not the Hilton but warm and friendly staff, trendy decor, historic charm, unique ambiance, very comfortable beds and bedding, a clean and cute bathroom (although it is very small), clean bright hallways. Yes, the location is on the edge of the Tenderloin neighborhood, but so are luxury hotels like the Parc 55 and the Hilton Towers. We walked by some homeless people and panhandlers (unfortunately they are everywhere in SF) but did not consider them threatening. This hotel is a great price and great place -- try it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I just recently stayed at the Hotel Metropolis for Oracle Open World, one of the largest events that takes place in San Francisco. How well you might like the hotel depends upon a few things.

First, the location. It's kind of half-way between the nice and not-nice parts of the city, and there are always people on the street who don't appear to be going anywhere special. If you're used to this sort of thing, it probably won't bother you, but if you're not, it can be unnerving. Perhaps because of the conference, there was a large police presence in the area. If that police presence isn't there during your stay, it might affect the ambiance of the street negatively...

The rooms are small, but clean and everything was functional. There is no air conditioning, and your only option to cool the room off is to open the window. If the weather outside is cool enough, then this isn't a problem. On a rare hot day in SF, it's not going to be a pleasant stay, however. Given that even flea-bag motels have A/C, this seems a glaring omission.

The windows are single-paned, which means that they are not particularly noise resistant. Some rooms overlook the street, some a parking lot. I had a low-floor room overlooking the street, unfortunately. The above mentioned people hanging out on the street seem to like to shout at each other late into the night. If you had a high floor overlooking the parking lot, then there's no problem. In a room like mine, it's going to be a bit noisy.

The walls are not particularly sound-proof either; noisy neighbors are going to be heard in your room. Even coughing was heard through the walls in my room.

So you can see why I say "it depends" -- get a high floor room with quiet neighbors that overlooks the parking lot on a cool day, and it will be as nice as the Hilton. Try to aim for that!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 teenagers. This was a great hotel, clean, and the decor in the kids suites make such a wonderful change from the chains. BUT. our stay was spoilt by the mattresses on the kids bunks - they were so hard my kids ended up with bad backs after 2 nights. Such a shame because our bed was very comfortable. Location was good with access to cable cars virtually outside the door. Felt safe staying here, I would recommend the hotel if they fixed those kids beds. We walked back from the 4th July fireworks at the Pier (along with thousands of other people) but the homeless people didn't bother us even the beggars used 'please' and 'thank you'. An extremely polite, interesting city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeIsGood222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#188 of 229 in San Francisco
615 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#174 of 229 in San Francisco
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#181 of 229 in San Francisco
519 reviews
SoMa
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing