We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #184 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The only bad thing about this hotel the homeless and I think drug dealers on the street (which is only half block from the fancy Union square area).

Inside service is friendly and the rooms are nice and clean, but you need to ask for a top floor because the street is noisy.

Also the parking is $30/night, but is more or less the same for all hotels in the area .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ximxc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear ximxc2,

Thank you so much for offering your comments. I do appreciate you taking the time to recognize our staff, our nice clean rooms and convenient location. We hope your travels lead you back to San Francisco sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 790 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place was bad enough I actually had to leave. In fact, almost our entire group left. The hotel is in the center of the Tenderloin. You can't really have a less safe area in the city. Rooms were clean enough but paint was cracking, no central air or heat, no working heater in January, one tiny elevator that went out of service during the stay, housekeeping staff that does not pay attention to the DND, the list goes on. I ended up on a middle floor with a corner room. There is NO DEADBOLT ON THE DOOR. If the fire alarm goes off, this room will unlock for everyone to have access to it. I have to repeat this for it to sink in, if somebody pulls the fire alarm, everyone in the hotel will have access to your room. On a positive note, the top floor is actually nice. Rooms have balconies, beds are comfortable, linens are new, clean, and comfortable, and there is space to move around. But only on the top floor.

Room Tip: Only top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffreyChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear JeffreyChandler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to provide great service and facilities, and as you can see from the many positive reviews preceding yours, we usually hit the mark. The majority of our guests love our location despite the problem of homeless in the downtown area, but I understand it may not be right for everyone.

I’m disappointed to hear that your room fell short of your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve our facilities and we appreciate the feedback. As you mentioned in your review, the room you were in does not have a deadbolt due to compliance we have to follow with the S.F Fire department code in case of emergency. The Hotel Metropolis is an older building that when coupled with our cool pleasant weather year round permits us to only provide heating units in each room but in rare cases can provide oscillating fans to our guests

Every facility has challenges, but we consistently get great feedback about our housekeeping team. They are dedicated to providing superior service and I was saddened to see you did not enjoy your interactions with them. I would really appreciate it if you would reach out to be personally so that I can better understand any shortcomings.



,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The street this hotel is on is extremely rough, there are drug dealers across the road and alot of homeless people. When we first arrived i was terrified, we were on the 2nd floor, through the night we could hear so much noise we couldnt sleep. Plus there was dry blood on the bedding and cabinet and there was no hot water. The next day we asked to move rooms, the staff were more than helpful and moved us to the 4th which was much much better. It was a lovely room and we felt alot safer. The hotel is 2 minutes from union square and the main cable car stop which is brilliant. There are loads of restaurants and shops around it. Just don't walk to the right of the hotel! As i said the staff are lovely, you get free wifi and tea/coffee in the mornings which is good.
I would recommend this hotel however i wouldnt stay again and just warn people to be aware of the area! And ask for a top floor room!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear bubkins,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip advisor community!

Quite honestly I'm really concerned about your findings in the 1st room you were placed and would highly appreciate it if you could reach out to me directly to address and resolve these issues. However, I am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations after we moved you, that you found our staff to be helpful and lovely while enjoying free wifi and coffee/tea. We hope in the future you give us another chance upon your return to San Francisco.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis
415 775-4600
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This 10-story converted apartment building from the early 1900's provides good accommodations for the price conscious traveler. A decent king room with fridge, TV, full bath in the city's center for under $100/night is not easy to find. Even though at the edge of the Tenderloin district, one is immediately on Powell Street to walk to Union Square or catch the trolley as well as Market Street to ride the bus, tram or subway (direct airport connection). The hotel as a modern, European flair. Clean throughout. rooms are a bit smaller than chain hotels. Wonderful rain-shower head with excellent water pressure and hot as you please. Rooms on the 9th or 10th floor have a view. Yes, there is traffic noise and the occasional ruckus caused by the locals. The in-house Farmer Brown restaurant, independent from the hotel, is highly recommended (dinner, brunch). Great Southern Cooking, good brews and full bar, friendly service. No breakfast offered by the hotel, but a cup of coffee in the library. Desktop and printer available to guests. Great breakfast can be had at Cafe Bellini at 239 Powell (three blocks to walk). Day trip tip: Take #71 bus on Market to Haight/Ashbury and the Golden Gate Park. Rent a bicycle from SF Bike Rental at the end of Haight ($23 on-line), buy picnic stuff at Whole foods next door, ride the park to the wind mill and back to the conservatory, cross town through the Presidio, get over the Golden Gate Bridge and back (no toll for bikes), ride along the shore and drop off bike at the rental location at Fisherman's Wharf, take F-line trolley from Jones Street back to Market/Mason. Also: various car rental companies are located a couple of blocks away at O'Farrell. Dollar allows you to drop at SFO without surcharge.

Room Tip: the higher up the better. Rooms facing Market/Mason intersection catching more noise, but have a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear HermanTheGerman-inTX,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Hotel Metropolis, the Farmer Brown restaurant and your eventful itinerary! I was delighted to see that you got to add some really nice pics especially of the hotel facade showcasing the ram on the 9th floor. In addition, I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, that you found our hotel clean, modern and one of my favorite is the great water pressure with water as hot as you please. Again, thank you for your feedback and welcome you anytime back to out hotel!

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Service was absolutely amazing. Everyone was so nice.. I called the front desk several times on one night and they never have me the impression of being annoyed. The location couldn't be any better.. It's right in the middle of everything. Super close to the Bart. Price was perfect for what we're getting. Hope this helped!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudaypabfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Rudaypabfi,

Thank you greatly for your review and contribution to the Trip advisor community. I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you found our hotel, location, staff and service to be amazing! We look forward to having stay with us again sometime soon.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel was nice and modern. There was no breakfast but hey! But the area is so weird it's like loads of homeless people having fights then like 5 mins away there is a Macy's! Weird but I liked the beds!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Caitlin W,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm delighted that you found our location to downtown very convenient, our hotel to be nice, modern and the beds to your liking! We look forward to having you again sometime in the future.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

my husband and I stayed at this hotel on 14th january for 4 nights. It was terrible. The room we were first in was cold, pokey and not how it was described in the brochure. We should have had either a king sized bed or 2 queen sized beds but our bed would have done well to have been a 3/4 bed. the heater in the room didnt work, there was no fridge for food or drinks ( even though it said in the book there was) we contacted our tour agents who got us moved into a room on the 9th floor which was marginally better.The area is very bad, the first thing the cab driver said to us was whatever you do dont turn right out of the hotel as the area is extremely unsafe.we are not small people but even we felt very vulnerable being around the hotel. we spent all of our days down at fishermans wharf, it was a much nicer area. the hotel staff were nice and very helpful though.one of the hotel managers told us to stay indoors while he flagged a cab down for us as it was safer.so all in all, dont go to this area if youre visiting san francisco... stay down at the wharf and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: just dont go to that hotel because of the area mainly... and if you do go take what you see in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear bevcov,

Thank you very much for your feedback throughout your stay at the Hotel Metropolis. In regards to your reservation your travel agency booked a standard Queen size room and upon hearing from them you were not happy I personally upgraded you to the King sized room on the 9th floor. I'm glad that you were happy with the new accommodations, our friendly staff and that I was able to flag a cab for you to fisherman's wharf. We hope that your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#191 of 231 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
826 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 231 in San Francisco
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#196 of 231 in San Francisco
460 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing