We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRUTAL LOCATION!!! Pretty nice / decent hotel though.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #185 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BRUTAL LOCATION!!! Pretty nice / decent hotel though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel itself is pretty nice and totally a charming 'boutique' hotel, in a ROUGH AREA!! Depending on who you are and travelling with, young kids would not want to be here. It is only 2-5 minute walk to the nice area again though, but its up to you. Us 2 twenty year old males handled it fine but were very shocked.

Room Tip: away from the streets full of crazies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and contribution to the Trip Advisor community. I am very pleased that you found the hotel to be nice, charming and the location to be convenient. We constantly work with local authorities and in house security to reduce the number of homeless people and noise pollution that unfortunately has become a problem in all of San Francisco. We hope your travels bring you back to the Hotel Metropolis sometime soon.

Luis Morales
General Manager
Hotel Metropolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    220
    213
    123
    97
See reviews for
121
208
50
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff at this hotel were not very helpfull at all. No advice given as to the location and when exiting to the right your entering into an area like the BRONX.. To the left of the hotel was fine. This information was not shared at all. Quality of the room was very poor. location of the hotel was central. But I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon630503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay and that we did not supply you with the proper information in respect to our location. We continue to work with local authorities to reduce the heavy traffic of street people and noise pollution around the property. What I find troubling is that you mentioned that the quality of the room was very poor and would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly to resolve your issue. We really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and ways to rectify problems before they arise.

Luis Morales
General Manager
Hotel Metropolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Each floor is freshly decorated and the rooms are clean, although nont very large. There's a nice lobby and hotel area where you can relax, and parking in the back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonWood68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am very happy that you found the Hotel Metropolis as an Excellent Hotel, Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Metropolis on a future visit to San Francisco. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you; In regards to our rooms we are currently working with a design team to maximize space in all of our rooms so in the future your stay would have been 100% perfect.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Luis Morales
General Manager
Hotel Metropolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is a good 3* standard - nothing too flash but that is what you pay for. It is a shame where it is positioned in the city. The hotel staff are great and honest about where you should and should not go when you leave the hotel. There are a lot of homeless people in the area and especially in the vicinity of the hotel. If you stay here I would advise ignoring the shouts or requests from the homeless who hang around and I wouldn't suggest smoking as you walk along the street as you attract more attention from those wanting cigarettes off you. Saying all that, it is literally a one minute walk to the better part of the city, Union Square and the suurounding area, and only about a 40 minute walk to the bay area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and the compliments about our hotel and our friendly staff. I'm delighted that you had a good stay and that you are able you share your experience about our hotel and our location.

I hope your travels bring you back to San Francisco and look forward to having you again.

Luis Morales
Hotel Metropolis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Travelling from Australia with two children 11 and 15 this was in an excellent choice for us. We actually booked here after reading reviews on Trip advisor. We wanted to see more than one side to San Fran.. We took a couple of walks to the left side and had no problems whatsoever and actually enjoyed the experience. Easy walk to public transport, and shopping. All staff were helpful and happy to answer questions. We found the WiFi ok. Rooms were clean and our beds very comfortable. Its no 5 star but represents great value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, the Trip advisor community and most importantly for giving us an opportunity. I’m glad you were able to interact with the members of our team and that you enjoyed our hotel's location, cleanliness and service during your trip. Our staff is a great group of people and they’ll be pleased to read your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back anytime!

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Metropolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

It's downtown SFO, so if you think you're going to be secluded from its goings on, you're wrong. If you whine about it, well get over yourself you're downtown. Great location, great prices, rooms are clean and modernish. Only real complaint is that the wifi strength in the top level rooms could be stronger. Wifi is a deal breaker for international travelling. Wifi = Skype for long distance calls. But thats all I could not give props for so next time in SFO we'll be back to stay for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dameyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Dameyon,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, we're located in downtown San Francisco and in a big metropolitan city, it's all about location, location, location! We do look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit and as a tip for that time, we have a nice cozy library/loft space just located above the front desk where you can catch a strong Wifi signal.

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were a little bit nervous about the location of this hotel when we were driving to check in. Our valet advised us that to the right was the tenderloin area and to not travel that way. Turning to the left, a block away you are downtown with stores such as Nordstrom. Very easy access to all the major stores downtown and transit. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful! You don't walk past an employee without a small conversation. We even had one of the staff escort us to a small store in a questionable neighborhood so we could get some drinks and snacks. Rooms are small however the atmosphere and cleanliness of the hotel make up for that. We travelled here with children ranging in age from 8 to 15 and all have commented on how much they like this hotel. The coffee and tea offered in the library are nice however a small continental breakfast would be an added bonus as it isn't always easy to find a cheap, quick breakfast nearby. Even being so close to the tenderloin area, we experienced no issues with coming and going from the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and higher up are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jennie M,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our staff. As you have mentioned, we're just a block away from the best retail therapy that the city has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to San Francisco in the future!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing