We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, not so nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #186 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not so nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel cannot be faulted, friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious room, comfy beds and decent bathroom. However, the area isn't the best as it's near the 'tenderloin' an area we were advised to avoid. There was no issue coming and going from the hotel during the day, but would not advise walking around the general area during the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joytotravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear joytotravel1,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service provided by our staff! Regarding our location, we are located right in the heart of San Francisco so your experiences of our location are similar to that of any large metropolitan city however, being only one-block away from the Powell Street Cable Cars and the Westfield San Francisco Centre does make our hotel quite desirable for it's proximity to all points within the city. Overall, we're glad you enjoyed our hotel and our city and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit! Thanks again!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    223
    214
    124
    99
See reviews for
122
210
50
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is absolutely disgusting . The rooms are run down and the staff is terrible! The location is in the tenderloin to give some idea. You can look out your windows and see people selling drugs below. No place to bring kids!! Also , the hotel says they are pet friendly for a $25.00 fee. If you plan on staying for more than 1 night with a pet expect to see a $250 deep cleaning fee. Apparently animal hair coverage isn't included in the original $25.00 pet fee.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vejo0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribution to the Trip advisor community. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and most alarming is that you found the hotel and the staff to be not up to your standards. As previous reviews have stated we consistently get great feedback about our front desk, nice rooms, stylish hotel and we are always looking for ways to improve our communication and our service. In addition, we are a pet friendly hotel in order to cater to our guests traveling with four-legged family members. However, we do have a deep cleaning fee we enforce when the room has to be put out of order for a couple days due to the condition it was left in and not being able to offer it to other guests who are seeking reservations. Thank you again for your feedback and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Taxi dropped us at the hotel and warned us to be careful as its not the best place in town. Got harassed for money before even got out of the taxi. Publicity picture very deceiving as it is small and dull. Rooms very noisy as small, our room face the Main Street and it was very loud and not very clean (dust everywhere), the hotel was very dull and needs redecorated. Our hotel was booked as part of a package, as soon as we arrived, we sort alternative accommodation as we did no feel safe in the location and as this was the last trip off our tour we did not want our last holiday memory to be this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We are constantly working with the city of San Francisco to assist us in order to reduce noise pollution from outside sources that unfortunately we do not have direct control of. I am surprised that you found the hotel to be dull and dusty given that we have a great housekeeping staff that takes pride in their work and performs meticulous cleaning on a daily basis. If you would please reach out to me so I can gather additional information to address the issues you experienced I would appreciate it. Thank you for your review.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
(415) 775-4600
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I came to SF for a conference. This was a great hotel. The only downside at all was the rather low lighting in the room. What's wrong with proper lighting? I mean, I just gave up on the idea of reading myself to sleep, given the rather low intensity of available light.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. I do apologize that the lighting in your room was not adequate and would like to further investigate with your assistance so I may resolve this. If you could please reach out to me either at 415 775 4600 or jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com I would highly appreciate it. Thanks again!

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel Metropolis is in the thick of the Tenderloin where panhandlers and the down and out homeless congregate. Inside it's a stylish hotel with friendly and accomodating staff. The beds were super comfortable, the wifi easy to use, and the bath was perfect. Attending a conference at the nearby Hilton, we saved a lot of money by booking at the Metropolis using the AAA rates.

Room Tip: You can take the BART to Powell Street station and walk to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drleanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your contribution to the Trip Advisor community with your review. It makes me smile when I read a review like yours complimenting our location, stylish hotel and the backbone of a good experience, our friendly staff. I hope you had a good time attending your conference right up the block at the Hilton and great tip on taking Bart! We hope to see you here again.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My travel agent back home in Sydney booked this place for me, and on my way here from other destinations I started to read reviews on tripadvisor about the Metropolis, and was starting to become a little concerned.
But upon arrival and the following days I have found this to be a great place, sure it’s not the Hilton, but you’re not paying for it either. Yes, there are homeless people, but what city doesn’t? This is a clean, well presented, comfortable hotel that is great value for money.
Jaime, the front office manager, is always helpful in answering the usual tourist questions we all have when we arrive in a new town.
So, I’m not sure what some of the other reviewers experienced here, and I‘m not questioning that, just my experience at this hotel has been a positive one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I'm overjoyed that you were pleased with your stay and that we exceeded your expectations! The Hotel Metropolis has a great location, walking distance to downtown and our staff is a collection of amazing individuals. I'm glad that I was able to provide you with the necessary information we all seek as travelers to a new destination. We hope that your travels will lead you back to San Francisco in the future and decide to come back to the Hotel Metropolis!

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just spent six nights at the Hotel Metropolis. I had booked on Priceline, non-refundable, or else I would have left as soon as I saw the room. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. I'm 44 years old. I've traveled a lot. I've been to San Francisco more than a dozen times. This was not only the worst hotel I've ever been at in S.F., but anywhere, ever. And yes, that includes the $50 roadside motels I stayed at with my parents back in the 70's. The room was simply horrible. It was shabby and small and dirty. The bathroom was tiny and the tub's surface lining was peeling off in huge chunks. there was mold on the tiles. The single-pane windows were drafty. The bathroom had no heater. It was freezing to take a shower and the hot water often ran out. The actual hotel room itself was freezing cold, too. The heater didn't keep the room comfortable. It was in the 50's outside at night, so it was typical for November. So I presume the rooms are always cold.

Even worse than the room was the safety factor and the noise. I could hear everything going on in the street below. As many other reviewers have said, there are many homeless people in front of the hotel. They stand and scream and yell. Sometimes for 30 minutes straight. On my first night, I personally witnessed a drug deal taking place. That was scary and beyond disturbing. The same drug dealers were there every night and the air was filled with the scent of weed. If you have children, don't even think about bringing them to this hotel. You'd be exposing them to the worst of the worst.

All of this was terrible, but the worst was when, after two nights, we complained to the front desk clerk. She clearly had heard similar complaints before. She immediately offered us a choice of two new rooms. Both were much nicer than our original room. Still noisy and still cold, but bigger and cleaner and higher up, so the noise factor was lessened.

My coworker arrived two days later. He was also given a terrible room. He complained, and they gave him a better room, too.

What kind of hotel does this? Gives their WORST rooms first, unless you complain? That's terrible customer service. And why are there so many horrible rooms? Why can't they upgrade every room?

So, if you like dumpy, shabby hotels with bad customer service and poor security and safety, opt for the Hotel Metropolis. If you want something better, go anywhere else. Even a Motel 6. This place is horrific.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. In regards to the noise that you experienced from outside the hotel we try to minimize this as best we can by having our security guard rover our property and contacting local law enforcement to address issues we have no control over. We are currently working on some design changes to reduce noise pollution and to upgrade our hotel rooms and lobby. We really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and manners to address problems before they arise. I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time if you could reach out to me so that I may resolve any outstanding problems. I can be reached at 415 775 4600 or jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
415 775 4600
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing