We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice rooms, and yes, there are homeless people so deal with it or go elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #187 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice rooms, and yes, there are homeless people so deal with it or go elsewhere”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

So here is the deal on this place. Yes, it's located on the edge of the Tenderloin Distrct which has a very large homeless population. I read a lot of reviews about feeling unsafe but I don't think that is the issue that arises so much as, if anything, there once in a while might be some noise outside the hotel. We were on a higher floor so never had any issues, but someone else we know who has stayed here said one night they were woken up by some noise outside because of the rather transient population that passes by the hotel.

At the end of the day, the price was right, the hotel was located in quick walking distance to the Powell Bart Station, and the rooms were beyond nice (I loved the bed) and the staff were very very cool.

So if homeless people make you nervous, spend the money and stay somewhere else. If you'e looking for a full breakfast, again, go somewhere else. But if a good room at a decent price with cool staff that is convenient to transpo and cool parts of San Francisco is your main draw, it's worth taking a look here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Patrick F,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations during your stay.

Thank you also for providing such candid feedback regarding the location of our hotel and the surrounding neighborhood. I know that your review will certainly provide great assistance to our future guests to navigate their way in and around San Francisco.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    232
    217
    129
    100
See reviews for
125
218
51
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I felt sick when i got this room on priceline and read some of the old reviews,but their was nothing to be done about it. That being said when we arrived i was still upset we were staying 4 nights. I have to admit the guys running the hotel were so nice and our room was very nice small but clean . We came and went all the time no one ever brothered us. Go left and it is very nice. The staff was very helpful with directions and whatever we needed. I would stay their again,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missjunebug_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear missjunebug_12,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that after encountering our team members at the front desk, turned your perception about our hotel and ended up enjoying your time with us! I am thrilled that our team ended creating a wonderful experience for you!

We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future, thank you again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on the EDGE of the Tenderloin. My husband and I traveled to and from the hotel at all hours with no problems. I never felt threatened or scared. You will come across homeless people in all areas if the city. That being said, there is a larger than normal population of homeless on this block. When exiting the hotel, turn left and you are immediately in a good area. Very close to Union Square but without the prices of Union Square hotels. The people at the desk were also friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, the rooms were tiny and old. The tub was peeling and the shower head wouldn't stay in place. We were in a corner room and heard the street traffic ALL night. We read the reviews beforehand and were prepared for what we got, knowing most of our time would be spent touring the city. If you're looking for a cheap hotel to simply sleep in (and you're a heavy sleeper), stay here. If you want to spend time in the room and don't mind spending the extra money, stay somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank gstogs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear gstogs,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the warm and friendly service of our staff during your stay with us. Although you did experience a couple minor issues with your bathroom, we appreciate that you shared this information with us and will be sure to inform my Engineering Team and Hotel Manager. If you can kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales at 415-775-4600 with your room number and/or dates stayed, it will certainly help us correct the issue.

We also appreciate your candid review of our specific location, as I am sure it will certainly help our future guests navigate their way around town.

Thank you again and we hope that we may have an opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horley
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As others have said this hotel is on the edge of the tenderloin district which means there are homeless people about but they never bothered us. It was easy to walk down to the cable car and centre of town which was really useful. Also, as we had under 21s with us we couldn't go out to the bars in the evening so the hotel were happy for us to bring some drinks back and play cards in the mezzanine floor library - a great way to spend some family time. For this hotel, location is everything, just remember to turn left when you leave the front door. The rooms were a little on the small side but we had no intention of spending that much time in them. The people on the front desk were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razza46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Razza46,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Our Library Mezzanine is certainly a great spot to gather for some quiet time in a cozy atmosphere. I am happy that your family were able to enjoy this as it's a hidden gem about our hotel, as many guests are unaware of this lovely spot of our hotel.

Also, we certainly appreciate your candid review about our location in San Francisco. As you mentioned, "left" is the right way to go! Location is certainly key and being just one block from the Cable Cars on Powell Street, Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and a few blocks up to Union Square, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed the true essence of San Francisco!

We look forward to welcoming you all back as our guests again in the future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

While I strive to be open-minded when evaluating a dining or hotel venue, sometimes it is impossible to find more positive factors than negative ones. Our two-night stay in late August 2012 offered the following positives: very clean, nice decor, good shower, helpful staff, located close to Union Square and cable car. I also liked the library mezzanine as a quiet refuge for reading, checking emails on the hotel computer, etc. That being said, I must agree with others' comments regarding small rooms/bathrooms, a very uncomfortable bed (we had two queen beds - my husband moved to the other bed the second night and found it to be much more comfortable), excessive noise between hotel rooms (i.e., could hear normal conversation in an adjacent room clearly) and the undeniably uncomfortable location of the hotel on the edge of the Tenderloin district. Both of us lived and worked in a large city for several years and did not find the abundant presence of homeless people in the blocks surrounding the hotel as much a shock as the fact that it presented a question of safety and security that we would have preferred not to have to worry about when walking to/from the hotel during vacation time. Even though we booked through Priceline, the total cost was still rather expensive when all factors are considered.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear TexasSunshine,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback about our hotel and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the service of our staff. As you mentioned, our Library located in the second floor is kind of like a hidden escape to read a book or for catching up on e-mails using our business center.

Regarding the location of our hotel, being located right in the heart of San Francisco certainly provides an experience to that of any major metropolitan city. With that said, taking into consideration the nearby activity, being located just one block from the Powell Street Cable Cars, Westfield San Francisco Centre and just a short walk from Union Square certainly provides an amount of convenience in exploring our wonderful city.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean rooms and bathrooms. Thin walls though... The neighbourhood could be better (lots of homeless people) but that keeps the price down. Good service, free coffee and tea in the morning, very well located: near Union square, Powell (Bart) station, Cable car stop, Macy's, Bloomingdales, apple store

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Juin M,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience with our accommodations, service provided by our staff and our location within the city.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel prices being what they are in San Francisco, you are hard pressed to find anything in the heart of the city for less than $200 per night. I used Priceline to find a place for a one night stay and ended up here. With taxes we ended up paying $212 for the night...and an additional $35 for parking!

Our room was on the second floor (#207) and faced Mason Street...avoid it like the plague. While the characters outside provided interesting entertainment, I prefer to sleep at 6:30 in the morning...not be awakened by two women screaming at each other in the middle of the street.

The hotel was in an old building and the room was, naturally, small with a queen sized bed, one nightstand, and a small desk. The lighting was inadequate and if you were on the side of the bed next to the window you had no lighting whatsoever. There was barely space to set anything down and a tiny little glass shelf in the bathroom to house your toiletries.

The bed was absolutely god-awful. We spent the night gripping the sides of the bed to keep from rolling into the middle. We got up in the middle of the night and stuffed a spare blanket under the mattress in the middle to help the situation but it did little to alleviate the problem. We both woke up with backaches the next morning.

So glad it was only one night...we will NOT be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of Mason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. In regards to the noise that you experienced from outside the hotel we try to minimize this as best we can by having our security guard rover our property. We are currently working on some design changes to reduce noise pollution to our hotel while still maintaining an urban San Francisco theme that so many of our loyal guests enjoy. I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time to discuss the specifics of your experience. I can be reached at 415 775 4600 or JGonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#181 of 229 in San Francisco
2,982 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#188 of 229 in San Francisco
599 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
SoMa
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
#112 of 229 in San Francisco
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing