We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #10 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Watch out for getting to the valet stand - it is not where your GPS thinks it is, it is on the back side of the property. About $50 to park overnight.

Staff is quite friendly and accommodating. Bedding is incredibly comfortable. Rooms are typical size with large bathrooms and nice amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckwcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are currently considering ways to ease the process you experienced trying to find our valet services. We hope to have you again soon.

Alexander Warren
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    291
    94
    39
    24
See reviews for
241
421
85
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Must with regret say this is not my favourite four seasons. Good location if you want to be close to the great shopping areas and be able to walk to the Piers. Has one of those weird entrances where you need to take an elevator up to the reception area. The room however was very odd. Had a deluxe with premium view but the large king bed left no room for a bedside table on one side. Very odd. No wear to place your water or ipad when you were finished with it. Service really not up to four seasons standards. Turn down service was removing the pillows and placing bed mat. No slippers. No closing the blinds. One morning an early knock despite do not disturb. Received e-mail from accounting a day before we left. Then a follow up phone call asking when we were checking out (the day we booked to check out and confirmed we checked in). Heck the door man did not even say welcome BACK to the four seasons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, and for your constructive feedback. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Alexander Warren
Assistant Front Office Manager
alexander.warren@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending the weekend at this Four Seasons. The Location was great. You could walk to many points of interest from there and it was close to a cable car line. There was also a huge work out facility that you were able to use. It had classes and tons and tons of machines. The room was pretty nice. I do think that if you are spending that much money you should not have to pay 14.95 a day for WI FI. We have traveled a lot and wi fi is almost always free at hotels now. We also went down early one morning to get coffee. They had just taken away the coffee service that they had just set up by a few miuntes, They told us we could not get any but go to the restaurant to order it., which was fine. However when we walked the 5 steps into the reaturant they were confused and never brought us any. Ended up just getting at a palce on the go outside of Hotel. Those were the drawbacks but good location

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy12336050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback regarding our internet service and complimentary coffee station. We will absolutely share your comments with the team. Please feel free to reach out if you would like to further discuss your most recent visit with us.

Alex Warren
Assistant Front Office Manager
alexander.warren@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only stay at Four Seasons hotels if they are available where we visit. Always a great experience.
This trip was our fifteenth anniversary and the staff really made an amazing effort to show how they appreciate our business.
We couldn't be more pleased.

Room Tip: Menu has never changed. I'm a vegetarian. So, there are few options for me. I tend to eat the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientChineseSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us! Please come back again soon.

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location at Market and O'Farrell; two blocks to Union Square up O'Farrell and two blocks down Market to a huge mall. There are lots of restaurants in the area too, including a good one in the hotel itself, with great food and amazing service. The hotel itself is very nice, but not jaw-dropping. It doesn't have an extravagant lobby like a resort hotel, not that it matters. It's more understated art deco. My only complaint was feeling cheated on the rate for an extra night since we prepaid the other nights online. The extra night cost 50% more than we paid online. They did end up upgrading us to a corner room for the duration so it took some of the sting off.

The room was quite spacious and bright, albeit it did face Market Street, so we got some siren noise at night. Again, the room was nice but nothing over the top. The décor was art deco in muted yellows, beiges and blue greens. The bed was comfortable, the duvets and pillows outstanding and the toiletries top notch. The bathroom again was nice and functional but not extravagant. I liked that it had a separate shower from the soaker tub.

What is amazing about the Four Seasons is the staff and service. From the front desk to the doormen to the concierge; they all bent over backwards to make us happy. Many thanks to the concierge staff for all their help and guidance with restaurants and their arranging a rental car for a great trip to Sonoma.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I shouldn't have to write a review for the Four Seasons, the name should speak for itself, after all, that is what we pay the big bucks for. This location did not disappoint. The friendly and helpful staff puts the hotel in the 5* category.

I messed up and arrived at the hotel a day earlier than what I was booked for, arriving very late at night. The front desk took it in stride and put me in a very nice corner room (for a price, of course). The next morning, I was told that they arranged for the remainder of my 5 day stay could be left in this (upgraded) room, which I thought was very nice of them. 5*

I typically don't use the concierge, however, I certainly made up for it on this trip, asking for recommendations for dinner and arranging a car for a day trip to Sonoma along with recommendations on wineries to visit there. Renting the car through the hotel was so easy and seamless, I will certainly do that again. Food recommendations were spot on as well.

The restaurant at the hotel was also very good, the sourdough rolls were to die for.

The location cannot be beat, as it is situated in between the mall where Nordstrom's is as well as all of the shopping in Union Square. All just steps away.

I will most definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to San Fran.

Room Tip: I don't know what the regular rooms looked like, but the corner rooms are very spacious with a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNConstanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am so happy to hear we were able to handle your last minute travel adjustment. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to have you in San Francisco again soon!

Davina Bansropun
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We check out tomorrow after a 2 day stay, but have had a very comfortable stay. This hotel is pretty new and it is situated in a downtown SF and is close to lots of shopping and attractions. It's the Four Seasons, what can I say? STAY THERE IF YOU CAN, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrownhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. Please send our regards to the Four Seasons Hong Kong, another beautiful property in the Four Seasons family!

Davina Bansropun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#5 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,414 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#31 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing