We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons during a weekend trip. We had a one bedroom suite. The furniture was completely out dated a run down. Poor quality. The service at the restaurant was EXTREMELY slow, not to mention the not so receptive personnel.
I can only say that I'm certainly glad we stayed at the Ritz Carlton instead of Four Seasons during our trip to Maui.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasikikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the Four Seasons, SF, for one night for business. Overall, a pleasant and restful stay with the usual/expected/great Four Seasons treatment. I would recommend this hotel to business travelers.

As I have come to expect from Four Seasons, the staff from the valet through the front desk were friendly and extremely professional. The reservation assistant escorted me to the elevator and explained how to access the “Club LA” fitness center that is complimentary for use by guests. I briefly viewed the lobby, which was open with ample space and seating for groups to meet. I had breakfast in the restaurant. As it was under renovation, the only choice was a small buffet. I am not sure if the buffet will be a permanent situation, but this was as full service buffet ($25) as can be imagined - with staff bringing the food to your table as well as juice and coffee and tea. The restaurant is well laid out with high ceilings and space between the tables. The back of the restaurant has a bar.

My room was spacious with a king size bed and ample closet space. The bathroom included a tub, shower, and separate room for the toilet. Amenities included L’Occitane products and a choice of newspapers delivered to the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surrealus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is great, walking distance from all the shops and very good restaurants.
Not far from the airport.
If you are getting there by car take in consideration that you do not access the hotel through Market St. but through the street that crosses. (It is kind of hard to see, I actually missed it the first time).
The hotel lobby is on a third floor, so you have to take an elevator from street level.
The standard rooms are not big but good enough. The service is Four Seasons like and the food is good...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I spent Christmas in San Francisco and stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel just off of Union Square. It was a perfect locale for Christmas shopping, and we enjoyed the bustle of the city there. The hotel itself was truly beautiful and the service exceptional. Received a very nice upgrade of our room to a higher floor with great views! A nice surprise. The spa and gym are actually run by a different company, but there were no issues in using the facilities and was a much better selection than many hotel fitness rooms. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose a higher floor. We had no issues with noise on the top floor and views were...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Love this hotel and will stay again, 5/5 stars. Incredible service and rooms have outstanding views. The location to Union Square cannot be beat. Close but not too close. Room service was awesome. My wife loves Four Seasons for a reason, and if there is a chance for us to go back to San Francisco we will only stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jruit718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent nine nights over Christmas holidays that we will never forget. Staff, facilities, attention to detail, anticipation of all our needs and desires, the whole nine yards. Great location with easy access to all this great city has to offer. Room service was flawless and delicious. Wonderful wonderful staff that go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and cared for. For business or leisure, this is where you want to be. We will be back. Oh and the gym puts any standard hotel fitness center to shame, top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKBHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Incredible service. Every single staff person you see, cross paths with go out of their way to be cordial, and ask what they can do for you. If it is service you are after, this is the place.

That said, to charge $18 per day to have Wifi use in your room seems pathetic. Also, although Bottled water on your wet bar, read the print before using. High costs for what appears to be gratuitie.

Hot chocolate served in lobby each day with great cookies. Coffee there early morning.

Room service food not great. Dinner, Barbequed half chicken was dry and pedestrian at best.

Breakfasts in dining room good-again service was great.

All in all, would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darleneaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,292 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $412 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing