We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

For the amount I had to pay per night I would have expected free Internet thrown in. Did not use much of the facilities available except for the gym.

The management should reconsider their Internet policy. A few reviews have commented on that.

What did not do it for me was the cost of Internet access.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Complimentary internet is certainly something we are looking into as a permanent solution."
Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent a night on business. Check-in desk was friendly, professional. The good was deluxe, quiet, and so-so equipped room with comfortable bed as expected since it's $500+ a night. The bad was extra charge for WiFi, obscured drop-off area, which was either on busy Market St. or a small site street on 3rd St, and expensive parking fee. The worst was the hotel could only greet us only one small bottle water for two guests. In addition, its bathroom had cheap cotton swab, comb, and bathrobes in comparison to Hyatt, Westin, or even boutique hotels. In summary, there could be better choices for $500+ hotel rooms in S.F. It's not worth-it even for "One" Season or one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"We are sorry to hear that your experience didn't match your expectations of our hotel. Please feel free to contact me if you like to discuss the details of your stay further." -Imke Gahrmann, Assistant Director of Rooms, 415-633-3495

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, well located for the sights of San Francisco. Clean, well ordered and as luxuriant as you 'd expect from a four seasons hotel.
Service was great and notably Paige on the concierge desk went out of her way to help us get a reservation at Frances.
One observation was that the pool and gym area is a sports club tacked onto the hotel, this means you firstly don't have exclusive use but moreover that its somewhat well used and municipal in its feel, which is different from the usual spa luxury you get in other 4 seasons resorts.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelMavenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. I will let Paige know how pleased you were with her reservation assistance also."
Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 on business.

I have stayed here on several occasions previously and this was no different. I received an enthusiastic welcome at Check-in, which was very efficient.

I headed up to find a standard room, overlooking Market St. Others have complained of noise but I wasn't disturbed by any sounds thru my stay. The room is very large...and the bathroom even larger. It's a treat to just lie in for the morning and do nothing.

This time I tried to grab breakfast with some colleagues but the restaurant was absolutely packed at 745am...so we couldn't wait. I have had some meetings in the Lounge on earlier occasions and the service is always great.

I like the location as well..close to my offices at 555 California and also close enough to the Embarcadero, where lots of clients are based. For tourists, it's close to Union Square shopping, the MOMA, Chinatown and also the Giants Ballpark. The best Indian food in SF is right next door at Amber, if you are jonesing for some spicy fare.

I recommend staying at the place, although it is a hard call between this, the St Regis and the Mandarin. The Ritz is too far up the hill for me...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. I agree about the convenient location of the hotel, especially as the Giants continue in the postseason!"
Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've stayed in a nice, bright, clean and nicely furnished deluxe room with excellent view (loved the window bench where you can look out on Market Street). Big, comfortable bed. Great bath/shower/body products from L'Occitane. Super located in Market Street, close to shops, Cable Car, Museum, Chinatown, etc. Staff very nice and helpful. Food very good. Wine list presented on iPad well done. Only negative experience: safe deposit box in room couldn't be opened the night before we left and had to be drilled out by hotel personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theswissvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our L'Occitane bath products also."
Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at the 4S San Francisco many times, together with the Mandarin Oriental and the Ritz Carlton. They are all nice properties. Considered as a whole, I prefer the 4S. I have always had clean, quiet rooms usually with nice views. The concierge desk is exceptional in booking reservations and offering suggestions for just about anything. That desk is a real asset. The location is central for transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rufus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. I will be sure to share your comments with our outstanding Concierge desk.”
Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our first visit to the San Francisco was accentuated by the terrific accomodations, service and extremely helpful staff at the Four Seasons Hotel. From check-in to check-out, we could not have asked for a better experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.'-Doug Housley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,245 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,335 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $421 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing