We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #12 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great staff, great attitude”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Top of the line service which seemed natural and unforced make this place. As a longtime Japan resident, I can say I found the Four Seasons one of the only US hotels that can rival this country for service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed the service at the hotel and in particular the staff interactions. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Four Seasons San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    328
    113
    47
    28
See reviews for
295
503
91
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Driving to the hotel a little hard for the first time as you have to do a couple of blocks detour to get to the around the back parking.. Once you know it's fine.. On arriving got the usual friendly & welcoming service from the valet.. Then you jump into the lift to the 5th floor to check in.. Again the front desk staff were everything you expect from the Four Seasons, friendly, helpful & welcoming.. The room was great, clean,tidy & had a great view & our luggage arrived 5mins behind us.. Quick freshen up & time to explore.. Generally in a Four Seasons you get to feel like your in a home away from home & not so much a hotel.. But here it just didn't seem to feel that way.. Usually all the staff you encounter wish you a god day/evening whatever.. But not here.. Even the entrance staff just open the door if your lucky but seem scared to or just indifferent to even speak.. This wasn't the case with everyone but in general I'm sad to say it was.. You had to ask for everything & at times it felt like"what are you asking me for?".. In the bars & restaurants normal service was resumed with friendly & helpful staff with excellent service & good food..All in all a very good hotel but when your used to the normal quality & friendly service of Four Seasons Hotel which in general is always the same world wide it's easy to see things when they don't seem to be what you expect.!?!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The location is ideal — on Market Street, a few minutes from Union Square. The view from your room through those massive windows is everything you can imagine. Most important of all is that, in keeping with the Four Seasons philosophy, the lovely hotel offers a civilized stay.
From the pleasantness of the people at reception to the friendliness of the chambermaids, to the warmth of the bar and restaurant staff, this is a hotel eager to guarantee you a comfortable, enjoyable experience. And unlike some so-called luxury hotels, there is no pretentiousness or snobbery here.
The bedrooms are comfortable, functional and tastefully appointed. There is a work area and easy chair with proper lighting for reading and recreation. The room safe is unusually large. The bathrooms are marble and well-stocked with soaps and shampoo etc. The bathtub looks luxurious, a temptation to anyone in the mood for a long soak, and the lavatory and shower sensibly occupy separate alcoves.
My single experience of room service was excellent. I used the restaurant for breakfast and when I ordered pancakes, the waiter suggested I might want the short stack rather than the full amount. I took his advice, the serving was ample, and I was impressed by the fact that he went out of his way to make a useful suggestion.
This is a hotel in which everything meshes exquisitely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

highly recommend the lounge for an easy meal with great cocktails

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintermade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton Fl
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel is in the heart of the city at market and grand. Union square is a very short walk. Every time I go there I have a fantastic time. The rooms are classic four seasons, great views, and furnishings. The dining room looks down at market street giving a nice view for breakfast. The lobby bar is a nice place to relax after a busy day, great wine list

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here on our way to Europe, having canceled our trip to Japan because of the earthquake aftermath. My favorite hotel in the world in the Four Seasons Chinzanso in Tokyo, so almost any hotel is bound to suffer by comparison. Still, I hadn't expected all the problems with the hotel that is ranked in guidebooks as one of the two top hotels in San Francisco.

The bed, amenities, bathroom, standard of cleanliness were all what one would expect from a Four Seasons hotel, which is why I gave it 4 stars. The room was very ordinary in terms of decor, the best features being a window seat and an alcove for the desk. But we learned after going to bed that we had "paid" for that extra space by being next to the service elevators, and the swooshing woke us at 5 a.m. The sound proofing was so bad in the alcove that we could hear a phone ring as if in our room and loud voices. The heat came in through the air-conditioning ducts at the ceiling level, so our faces were hot while our feet were cold. And we couldn't keep the heat at a constant temperature. And though we were on the top floor of the hotel, the residences were above us and we had noisy people overhead. Also the black-out curtains overlap nicely, but then the morning light comes in over the top of them. Watch out for Room 1716!

The staff was incredibly friendly. Not just smiling "Good mornings" but a real attempt at a conversation. But the friendliness in the end didn't make up for all the glitches in service, ranging from a robe without a sash, a caller being told that my husband wasn't registered at the hotel despite assurances to me that he had been, a higher charge for local phone calls than listed in the room (I was given a credit when I complained). And then there were the odd charges in the restaurant. I ordered chicken soup my first night and was given a bowl that was more stew than soup for $12. My husband ordered it for lunch and it came in a flat soup dish with less in it. On our final day we were again given bowls of it, but mostly broth. We were unhappy, and then learned we had been charged only $6 per bowl. A server told me that I could order a half portion of oatmeal for breakfast, but if that's so, why isn't it on the menu? And way before we left, I asked to have our luggage collected at 11:45 but had to call twice more to get anyone to come.

So given that we left more tired than when we arrived, I will look for another hotel in San Francisco on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from ALL elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons in San Francisco in November 2010 during a business trip. During my stay, I spent a lot of time in the hotel and attended meetings in the ballroom and conference rooms. Overall, it's a lovely hotel, with the sophistication and good service you would expect from a Four Seasons.

If you're driving to the hotel, it can be a little difficult to access the entrance. You'll make a series of turns to get around the side of the hotel, then drive down a poorly marked alley to reach the valet area. You can either valet or park in an adjacent self-park garage. Once parked, registration was quick and easy. I was given a south-facing room on an upper floor, with a nice view towards AT&T park. The room itself was quite nice. Decor was subdued and elegant and the room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and I was able to get an undisturbed night's sleep.

During my stay at the Four Seasons, service was excellent. Every single staff member that I spoke with was helpful and personable. The food (both banquet food in the ballroom and room service food) was great, although certainly not inexpensive. I had no problems at all during my stay. The only real criticism I could give here is that the hotel doesn't have a lot of personality. There's nothing unique or interesting going on here-- just solid, traditional elegance. I'd definitely stay here again if someone else was paying for it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing