We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #12 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great service”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons in San Francisco in November 2010 during a business trip. During my stay, I spent a lot of time in the hotel and attended meetings in the ballroom and conference rooms. Overall, it's a lovely hotel, with the sophistication and good service you would expect from a Four Seasons.

If you're driving to the hotel, it can be a little difficult to access the entrance. You'll make a series of turns to get around the side of the hotel, then drive down a poorly marked alley to reach the valet area. You can either valet or park in an adjacent self-park garage. Once parked, registration was quick and easy. I was given a south-facing room on an upper floor, with a nice view towards AT&T park. The room itself was quite nice. Decor was subdued and elegant and the room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and I was able to get an undisturbed night's sleep.

During my stay at the Four Seasons, service was excellent. Every single staff member that I spoke with was helpful and personable. The food (both banquet food in the ballroom and room service food) was great, although certainly not inexpensive. I had no problems at all during my stay. The only real criticism I could give here is that the hotel doesn't have a lot of personality. There's nothing unique or interesting going on here-- just solid, traditional elegance. I'd definitely stay here again if someone else was paying for it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    328
    113
    47
    28
See reviews for
295
503
91
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel looked a little dated and uninspiring on their website. Was pleasantly surprised that it looked much better in person and very high quality. Staff were friendly and everything happened smoothly.....a rare feat in travel these days, sadly.

Views were nothing special, but the suite was a very nice size. Booked through AmEx. Definitely appreciated the upgrade and the amenity they offer. Not a huge spa person so those usually go wasted, but a food & beverage credit was definitely handy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCDesign78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I was there for business. I got a little time off and the concierge was very helpful getting me to a secluded Italian restaurant by Washington Square. You don't feel rushed, nice little winebar. There is a beautiful park (MLK) behind the hotel. It is 5 blocks from the Piers. 2 blocks from the cable cars. Great sleep. Bed was comfortable. They gave me a handicapped room because I was there early. I was willing to give it up. What i would expect from a 4 seasons. Before I forget the fitness center was LA Fitness, best fitness center I have experienced!! Everything you can need and more there.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a quiet hotel off Market Street in San Francisco. You take an elevator to the lobby and a separate elevator to your guest room. It has a very exclusive feel to it.

The hotel bar is very comfortable and luxurious. I was at this hotel on business and it the bar was a great place for casual business conversations.

The guest rooms are clean and very well appointed. The bathrooms are huge and equally impressive.

This resort isn't "over the top" with its luxury, but like the title of this reviews says, you can't go wrong at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

... And they stil want you to pay $14.99 for 24 hours of Internet? This smacks of cheapness and just gives the impression that you're being ripped off. It costs fifty bucks A MONTH to get it in my home. That's a 900 percent markup.

Aside from that, it's a jolly nice hotel and I'd reccomend it to anyone with a company credit card or money to burn

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I recently stayed at The Four Seasons in SF for the second time & had an amazing time! I arrived early around 11:30a, & of course, my room was ready & the check-in experience w/ Nick was quick, efficient & welcoming. The first time I stayed at the hotel I faced Market St which was very quiet & a nice view of the streets below, but when I made my reservation w/ the hotel, I requested to be on the opposite side of the hotel just to see the difference in views. I really loved the view this time. My room (1522) had a spectacular view of the city, ocean & mountains- I could also see the Yerba Buena Gardens & MOMA SF. The rooms at the hotel are incredibly silent--you can't hear anything- the windows are very well-insulated which is really appreciative when traveling far. The king bed is amazing- so comfortable & instantly engulfing with really soft sheets & good pillows:) The closet is spacious, the bathroom is quite large, with a separate area for the toilet, an indulgent deep-soaking tub, nice shower & plenty of counter space with the typical L'Occitane toiletries that all Four Seasons provide. Very nice bathroom overall!! the desk area is spacious with a cool lamp, the TV was perfect reception & several channels, the carpet is super soft & comfortable to walk on, & I love the color scheme, which has shades of yellow which are really mellow & soothing to me. The entire room was warm, comfy & understated- perfect for me! I love the rooms at the hotel. The service is generally great....Joel at the Front Desk was awesome- super friendly, incredibly quick & a pleasure to speak with! the Room service staff, including Mike, Catherine & Rolland were great- very friendly, always willing to take special orders (i was craving a BLT & they made a great sandwich!!--the truffle fries are also insanely good:) & the service was really fast. I never waited very long for any of my orders. the next morning I ordered breakfast & had the most delicious Freshly Squeezed Orange, Pineapple, Papaya Juice, which was the Juice of the day- amazing! the Concierges are very knowledgeable & patient- a great team of people! The location is perfect! Near a BART metro, Union Sq. Shopping, the Ferry Building, SOMA, etc. I adore & love this hotel- it's always so comfortable & nice & welcoming to come back here every time I visit San Francisco- it feels like home when I'm this far away from New York!

Best,
Patrick Winkler
NYC

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickwNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The service was excellent and the rooms were beautiful and equipped with everything you might need. I was pleased we had chosen this location as it was within relatively easy reach of all the sights. We felt it was a nicer area to stay than Fisherman's wharf. It was also very near all the shops which was great! We ate in the hotel a couple of times and had a lovely meal both times. The breakfast (we had room service) was fantastic.

We'd definitely return again if we were in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,165 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing