We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #127 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice hotel on the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. Lots of great places to eat nearby (I recommend Firenze by Night, brought back some nice memories of Florence). The area is very lively and a short walk or very quick bus ride to Fisherman's Wharf. Overall I'm very happy I chose to stay here vs the Union Square area. The room was very small (as was the double bed) but I assume this is common in SF. Also noisy.

Room Tip: Take an interior-facing room. I was going to take a street-facing room but I was warned at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattofcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here on August 10. I like the bars and restaurants in the North Beach area and this hotel seem is one of a few full service hotels in the area. I would easily stay here again. They offer a breakfast but any adventurous traveler would walk out the door and find a greasy spoon eatery off of Columbus somewhere. Service was good, staff was nice.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Erich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I chose this hotel because SF is expensive and this was one of the few hotels in our budget. I was pleased with the choice. It is clean and comfortable. There is an iron and ironing board available. Wifi is fast and available throughout the hotel.
My favourite thing was the location. It's technically in chinatown but within 1 minute you are in little Italy. There are tons of good restaurants within walking distance. Its easy to walk around SF from here and there is a bus line close by.
It is advertised as breakfast included but you would be better off going into the city for breakfast. That was the only minus point about the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When travelling to an exciting city like San Francisco we like to stay in a vibrant, happening neighbourhood instead of the concrete jungles of downtown. The SW could not have been a better location. Chinatown is busy and unique with tons of shopping. North Beach or otherwise known as 'Little Italy' is right across the street....fantastic eateries, excellent service. Easy walk to Embarcadero & the Ferry Bldg. (10 min. walk straight down Broadway), bus stops are nearby to anywhere. Columbus will take you right to the TransAmerica tower which has a lovely redwood urban forest right beside it.

SW was a comfortable hotel but very plain and simple. We had a deluxe king room but there really wasn't anything deluxe about it. Sheets were clean and crisp, just enough towels but the room had an old smell....we kept the window open a bit and that helped. Our room looked out on Chinatown which was very busy and noisy during the day but we were hardly ever in the room during the day. The night may be noisy with several clubs nearby but we wore earplugs in that case. The room could have used drapes, only blinds on the windows, so we hung our extra blanket up at night.

Front desk staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. After we decided where we would spend our day we'd ask at the desk for the best transit route etc. and they always gave us great advise. Hotel has shuttle service to the airport which is a bonus.

Now for the bad news. SW advertises a 'continental breakfast'....it is nothing but garbage!!!! Cheap, plain, tasteless and bare bones. Everyone shares the same butter dish and jam bowls. With lovely Chinese and Italian bakeries so nearby you'd think they'd have a great selection. Breakfast consisted of white or brown bread, some kind of tasteless loaf, one or two dry cereals, juice and coffee. No fruit, no yogurt, no pastries....BLAH!!! We ate there the first morning and never again.

All in all a great, affordable hotel...but if you like a fancy hotel with ammenities it won't be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the street if you want quiet. We had room 325 which looked out on C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel just a few days ago.

It is convenient being smack in the middle of Chinatown. We never moved our car from the adjacent car park for the three days we stayed in San Francisco and walked quite easily everywhere including the Embercardo and Fisherman's Wharf Our room was comfortable and we slept well with no extraneous noise to disturb us despite being on a busy street.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great way to get us charged up for the day. Hard boiled eggs, breads, croissants, fruit etc. Saved us a little fortune having to hunt out breakfast otherwise.

We have stayed in more sumptuous hotels but for the price we paid we got a great hotel in the SW. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the local and surrounding area too!

Room Tip: The high rooms were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The SW is decent in every way. The rooms standard were good and more than big enough, although the hotel in itself was generic but clean.
The location is good (in between Chinatown and North Beach - 15 minute walk to the piers or to the centre of marked street).
More than anything the SW is an affordable choice and I would certainly recommended it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindrelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This quiet and friendly property is located between the Italian District and Chinatown. Staff is very friendly and will assist with all of your needs. Very clean property. Better than average continental breakfast. There is an international flavor to the clientele that makes this a very intersting place. The only problem we had was that the bus/limo driver from the airport did not have anything in his records for "the SW". He finally located it as the Sam Wong Hotel. We would really like to stay at this property again for our next trip. There were a couple of odd things: short pencils instead of pens in the room (then again, who would take a pencil home?) and no in-room coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2dogsbarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
313 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#92 of 230 in San Francisco
1,201 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#169 of 230 in San Francisco
395 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $159 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing