We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, convenient”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, convenient”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Rooms are on the small side but well-appointed and very clean. Our Grant Ave facing room on the top floor had a view of the Bay Bridge and the holiday lights of Embarcadero Center high rises. The lobby may look small but there's a much larger sitting room and breakfast area in the back for guests. Continental breakfast included in the room price featured fresh fruit, hard-cooked eggs, various pastries and breads, cereals, juice, and coffee/tea. Location is great for exploring popular tourist venues. The room had a refrigerator/freezer. WiFi is complimentary but a little spotty. The computer in the lobby can only be used for printing boarding passes, no web surfing or checking email.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    186
    87
    19
    10
See reviews for
41
161
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here after flying in from Ireland. Hotel was easy to find, and in a great location (between most of the areas you might like to go). Tired and a bit cranky on arrival, and we quickly checked in with no problems. The room wasn't huge, but ample for our needs. Bed was very comfortable, and room was spotless. Although expensive, when you compare to prices elsewhere in SF it's great value!! Would definitely stay here again if we're back in SF!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my husband on a long weekend trip. I was nervous after seeing the neighborhood, but it turned out great. Very walkable area. Close to many bars, restaurants, little Italy and in the middle of Chinatown. I would say that it isn't very child appropriate as it is right across the street from a few adult venues.

The room itself was very clean, albeit a bit small. The bathroom was also very clean and the only negative was the lack of counterspace. We asked for a room facing the read of the building and it was very quiet. We never tried the complementary coffee so I cannot comment on that, but I will say that the many wonderful Chinese bakeries in the area are worth the short walk. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas (Candlestick Park). We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank JulesLV
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the SW Hotel for four nights. It's pretty convenient to Chinatown and Litle Italy, with many good restaurants nearby. The rooms were small and comfortable, but very nicely decorated. For the money, it was great. As a cautionary note, the first night our room was on a side of the hotel with a karaoke bar at street level and the street noise lasted well into the night. The next morning, I asked to be moved to another room, which the front desk was very accommodating. The street traffic is pretty active in the area and the hotel is not very distinctive from the outside, but the rooms were quite nice and our room rate was outstanding compared to larger hotels in San Francisco. I would defintely stay there again.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking for an interior room - note that there is a karoke bar on the street on one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location of hotel was good. Close to little Italy and main city. Room was gd, bed was comfy, staff were nice and helpful. Little bit of noise at night but not much of a issue. Breakfast was enough, good internet, fridge was a gd imenities. Overal was gd.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlmessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon. We had two days in the SF area, and most hotels were booked or crazy expensive due the Cisco event while we were in town.

The SW was reasonable and had good reviews so we gave it a try! We were not disappointed.

The room was clean and nice. A bit small, but we didn't stay here to stay in our room. The size didn't bother us at all. My favorite feature, great shower pressure!

The breakfast is very simple, but we enjoyed it for it being complimentary! Definitely a good start to our day.

The staff was very nice - I needed stamps, they had them, and sent out my mail for me. They arranged for airport transfers for us, and were generally very helpful.

Good location. Near the Italian neighborhood, and we had some great meals there. We utilized the touristy hop-on, hop-off bus - and the had a stop really close the hotel, so that was really convenient.

The neighborhood gets pretty busy at night, so there is some noise - but it really didn't bother us.

We'd definitely stay there again in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sycamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband chose this hotel for our 2 day stay in San Francisco. It is an excellent hotel, very near Chinatown. It was very clean and the staff are most helpful and friendly. We would recommend the hotel. The food choices nearby are many. Visits to Chinatown are within walking distance. The hotel serves a very nice continental style breakfast in their common area. We understand that this is a 4th generation family owned & operated hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
298 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#144 of 229 in San Francisco
425 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Washington Square Inn
Washington Square Inn
#17 of 71 in San Francisco
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing