We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location of hotel was good. Close to little Italy and main city. Room was gd, bed was comfy, staff were nice and helpful. Little bit of noise at night but not much of a issue. Breakfast was enough, good internet, fridge was a gd imenities. Overal was gd.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlmessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    189
    89
    19
    9
See reviews for
41
165
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon. We had two days in the SF area, and most hotels were booked or crazy expensive due the Cisco event while we were in town.

The SW was reasonable and had good reviews so we gave it a try! We were not disappointed.

The room was clean and nice. A bit small, but we didn't stay here to stay in our room. The size didn't bother us at all. My favorite feature, great shower pressure!

The breakfast is very simple, but we enjoyed it for it being complimentary! Definitely a good start to our day.

The staff was very nice - I needed stamps, they had them, and sent out my mail for me. They arranged for airport transfers for us, and were generally very helpful.

Good location. Near the Italian neighborhood, and we had some great meals there. We utilized the touristy hop-on, hop-off bus - and the had a stop really close the hotel, so that was really convenient.

The neighborhood gets pretty busy at night, so there is some noise - but it really didn't bother us.

We'd definitely stay there again in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sycamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband chose this hotel for our 2 day stay in San Francisco. It is an excellent hotel, very near Chinatown. It was very clean and the staff are most helpful and friendly. We would recommend the hotel. The food choices nearby are many. Visits to Chinatown are within walking distance. The hotel serves a very nice continental style breakfast in their common area. We understand that this is a 4th generation family owned & operated hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent two nights at the SW Hotel. It is on the edge of Chinatown and is centrally located between Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf--we walked to both. The room was impeccable, and the hotel looked like it had recently been completely refurbished. The bed was comfortable. Although there were a couple of strip joints nearby, there was a good Chinese restaurant immediately across the street, other commercial enterprises nearby, and we never felt unsafe. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGTravelerand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is situated in a convenient location on the edge of Chinatown and accross the road from North Beach. Stayed here for one night and really wish I had stayed here for two nights rather than the other in Union Square. The hotel room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient for exploring both Chinatown and North Beach, with many delightful-looking restaurants and cafes nearby. Would strongly recommend this hotel for the surrrounding location. If you like good live music, make sure to get along to The Saloon bar across the road too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I lived in San Francisco for five years before moving to Southern CA, so I can tell you, as a local expert, that the SW is in an absolutely perfect location for anyone wanting to explore the city by foot. Its central location provides the very best possible access to China Town (it's located right at the northern edge), an easy walk to North Beach, Coit Tower, Columbus Street, Jackson Square and the financial district / Embarcadero, and also OK walking distance (for those who like to walk) to Fisherman's wharf to the north, South of Market to the south, and even up over the hill (for the really ambitious) to the Russian Hill / Polk Street area. I just stayed at the SW for work by default (based on the other major hotels being booked), but following a very pleasant evening walk / light dinner on Columbus Ave, followed by an obligatory late-night plate of Chow Mein noodles, and the good room rate vs. the major hotels, I think the SW might now be my new hotel of choice for my future visits to the City.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, I requested, and was given, an interior room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank HenryHLosGatos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for several nights in September. Our room was clean. Our bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was a nice perk. We requested a quiet room after reading other reviews about the thin walls. We were put far from the elevators. Noise was not a problem for us.

My one complaint was our television was very small and oriented in such a way that we really couldn't view it from our bed.

This is a great place if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in your hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starnelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
301 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#105 of 229 in San Francisco
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing