We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S. W. Hotel San Francisco, Ca.”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #126 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband chose this hotel for our 2 day stay in San Francisco. It is an excellent hotel, very near Chinatown. It was very clean and the staff are most helpful and friendly. We would recommend the hotel. The food choices nearby are many. Visits to Chinatown are within walking distance. The hotel serves a very nice continental style breakfast in their common area. We understand that this is a 4th generation family owned & operated hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunny2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for SW Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent two nights at the SW Hotel. It is on the edge of Chinatown and is centrally located between Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf--we walked to both. The room was impeccable, and the hotel looked like it had recently been completely refurbished. The bed was comfortable. Although there were a couple of strip joints nearby, there was a good Chinese restaurant immediately across the street, other commercial enterprises nearby, and we never felt unsafe. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGTravelerand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is situated in a convenient location on the edge of Chinatown and accross the road from North Beach. Stayed here for one night and really wish I had stayed here for two nights rather than the other in Union Square. The hotel room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient for exploring both Chinatown and North Beach, with many delightful-looking restaurants and cafes nearby. Would strongly recommend this hotel for the surrrounding location. If you like good live music, make sure to get along to The Saloon bar across the road too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I lived in San Francisco for five years before moving to Southern CA, so I can tell you, as a local expert, that the SW is in an absolutely perfect location for anyone wanting to explore the city by foot. Its central location provides the very best possible access to China Town (it's located right at the northern edge), an easy walk to North Beach, Coit Tower, Columbus Street, Jackson Square and the financial district / Embarcadero, and also OK walking distance (for those who like to walk) to Fisherman's wharf to the north, South of Market to the south, and even up over the hill (for the really ambitious) to the Russian Hill / Polk Street area. I just stayed at the SW for work by default (based on the other major hotels being booked), but following a very pleasant evening walk / light dinner on Columbus Ave, followed by an obligatory late-night plate of Chow Mein noodles, and the good room rate vs. the major hotels, I think the SW might now be my new hotel of choice for my future visits to the City.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, I requested, and was given, an interior room to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Thank HenryHLosGatos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for several nights in September. Our room was clean. Our bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was a nice perk. We requested a quiet room after reading other reviews about the thin walls. We were put far from the elevators. Noise was not a problem for us.

My one complaint was our television was very small and oriented in such a way that we really couldn't view it from our bed.

This is a great place if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starnelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Great stay. Very close to North Beach and China Town. Close to lots of public transportation and great restaurants. The only thing I can suggest is they needs to upgrade there keys to key cards come on its not 1980.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle Paulie MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good price for San Francisco. Easy access for sightseeing. Right between Chinatown and North Beach. Room was clean and comfy. Nothing spectacular but had all the basic comforts you need. Staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast but don't expect much. It's dry cereal, breakfast carbs, juice and coffee. If you want a good breakfast, walk to Mama's on Washington Square. All in all, a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandLovinTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#109 of 229 in San Francisco
304 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#101 of 229 in San Francisco
1,162 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#106 of 229 in San Francisco
1,130 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#144 of 229 in San Francisco
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $173 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing