We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, walking distance to most SF tourist sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #121 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient location, walking distance to most SF tourist sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my second stay in SF and I chose this hotel after a tip from a friend.
The last time I was in SF I chose a hotel near Union Square, but in my opinion this SW hotel location is a much much better location for tourists. Everything is so close: Chinatown, Canary Wharf, Union Square, good pubs, restaurants...
The hotel itself has a nice feel to it and it is quiet providing you take a room facing away from the street. It is clean and the beds are comfortable. We had 2 good nights' sleep there despite being jet lagged.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Brodway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Premolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    183
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
158
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The SW hotel was the last hotel in all of SF that had any rooms available during Google I/O. I stayed in a 4th floor handicapped queen room (although I am not handicapped). Bed was comfy and clean, room was spacious enough, and the hotel is close to public transportation. I'd happily stay there again. The only con was some noise from the street, which carried in even through the closed windows. However, it didn't stop me from sleeping, but if you're a very light sleeper you should probably avoid a room that overlooks the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is super convenient, walking distance from downtown, Embarcadero, and Fisherman's Wharf. Not to mention a stones throw away from Little Italy for some great eats! No frills and not super updated, but clean and they had a continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beernem, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is close to the piers, a lot of good restaurants and the major shopping area. The rooms and bathroom are clean and comfortable. People at the front-desk where always very friendly.

We received a room which was located on the side of the building, with a view on a brick wall and the roof of a neighboring restaurant. During one night of our 3 day stay, there was a lot of noise on this roof, as they where cleaning the hood on the roof.

The breakfast we received at the hotel was served in paper plates and plastic cups. It was food, but that's where it end.

We found this hotel expensive and referring to their website we've expected more of it. The website gives the hotel a great luxury impression, but you don't get this impression when staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice hotel, updated and very well maintained. Good location, walk a block south for Chinese, a block north for Italian.

The breakfast is bad, wonderbread for toast, a few cereals, coffee, juice. Walk down Columbus 2 blocks to Happy Donut instead.

Lots of nightlife around without it being too loud.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumpy_NewBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Theres no room service or vending machine so when I wanted a drink there was no where to go unless I left the hotel!

I had to pay an extra $20 for a key to my room which was ridiculous and there was no heating in my room which resulted in me sleeping in my dressing gown.

Very disappointed and will never come back

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed there for only one night. the hotel resides between china town end and north beach (little Italy). Not a good surrounding for family or kids as there were some night clubs across the street. The room was cramp but quite clean. The man at the front desk (Jason) was great and kind. The breakfast was literally bread and butter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globaltrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#115 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#140 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing