We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, very small rooms, smelly”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, very small rooms, smelly”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Average neighborhood, poor service on checkin-not helpful at all. Rooms very small and have a poor odor. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    188
    89
    19
    9
See reviews for
41
164
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel is ideally suited for those looking for a very clean and reasonably priced hotel near the intersection of Columbus Ave and Broadway. Given that some of the surrounding businesses are definitely on the seedy side, one might be a bit skeptical at first. However, our experience was excellent in every respect. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and attentive. The room with a king bed was large, very clean and quiet (we asked for and got one facing a backyard away from the busy streets). The Wi-Fi was free and very fast. The free continental breakfast buffet was appropriately stocked for a hotel in this price range (no waffles, no bacon/sausages, only hard-boiled eggs). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gh_tripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

A last minute trip to SF had me scrambling for a room. All the standard business hotels were booked for a conference (spent 2 hours on the phone looking). I used to live in North Beach and walked passed the SW often but never stepped foot inside. It surprised me. The lobby is a bit quirky but the hotel is very clean and the room is quite comfortable. I love this neighborhood; it's filled with vibrant culture and is always buzzing. But it's also noisy and feels seedy to some. There are a few mens clubs nearby and the local nightlife can get rowdy on the weekends. If you can overlook that, it's an amazing clash of Italian, Chinese, and San Francisco culture. It's a perfect spot for exploring SF. I may move back downtown for business trips, but I'd stay here again when just visiting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, ms
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Hotel was average, but in a great location. Right between Chinatown and North Beach (Little Italy). The only complaint we had was that the walls are really thin. Our neighbors were up all night and we could hear everything, but we are not light sleepers and had no problem going back to sleep. . Besides that- we had no problem. Beds were comfortable enough, and the bathroom was clean. No problem finding it. Free wifi in our room. There was a breakfast served but we always grabbed a pastry and coffee from one of the great bakeries in North Beach. We would stay here again- but are moving to CA soon and would just use it, if we were coming into the city for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham ct
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I was looking for an affordable hotel over Columbus Day weekend. This hotel had an awesome location. It's right on the edge of North Beach, Chinatown and the financial district. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go, Peir 39 and the Wharf, all the restaurants in North Beach, the Embarcadero, we even walked to AT&T Park only to watch the Giants loose game 2 of the NLCS! The bus stops are close to get to BART, Union Square or the Wharf if you prefer not to walk. The service at the hotel was excellent. The continental breakfast was good. My only complaint is that the walls are thin and if your neighbors are the slightest bit noisy, you will know. I am planning on going back next year and will most likely stay there again. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medattilo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

If you want to be in the heart of the city around the corner from Trans America with a view of the Coit Tower at a resonable price...then stay here.

The room was small but clean and a little noisey since it is on a busy street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozyoutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Ok priced for location (nice enough 15 min walk from Union Square) but let down by a poor view from the room we had (on inside of building overlooking room opposite). Well sized room though and decent bathroom. Hotel receptionists very friendly and helpful. Let down by a very poor self service buffet breakfast in a couple of very random conference rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#111 of 229 in San Francisco
301 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#106 of 229 in San Francisco
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#144 of 229 in San Francisco
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing