We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

My family stayed in a double queen room for 3 nights. The hotel is excellent: in a good downtown location but walking distance to the Embarcadero (10 mins) and from there to Fisherman's Wharf etc. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,643
    1,011
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,214
1,980
198
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Omni. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The morning beverages were a very nice touch. The person at corporate reservations showed me how to save on parking by going with a package and told me about signing up for morning beverages and free wi-fi. I will definitely stay at Omni again in future cities that I visit.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinCubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Location is great if you are there for work, and that your office is close to Embarcadero, California, Market street (nearer to the pier), China Town. Very close walking distances to those streets. However, it's a few blocks from the shopping area, union square etc.

Hotel staff, especially the front desk, concierge, bell-boy/man are very helpful, always with a smile and willing to help. Housekeeping staff gave me the impression that they are trying to avoid me....although it's not to say they are unfriendly.

It's not a large hotel, but feels cozy. The room size is average, and the bed is comfortably big. The air-con unit seems to be rather loud, with this humming sound that goes louder if turn the air flow higher.

Housekeeping was rather disappointing. We left the room with some tissue papers and arm chair pillows accidentally on the floor, and when they were still on the floor when we came back. We were there for almost 9 days, and the standard of tidiness didn't seem to improve too much. For some reason, doors were constantly slamming shut whenever the housekeeping staff went from room to room to clean them. Wasn't that much of a pain since we were not in most of the time they did that, but they could just close it more gently.

We made it a point to eat outside of the hotel as much as we could, but one night we tried the salad from Bob's Steak House, and they were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Yes, I finally found the hotel with the nicest staff. I am a frequent traveller and this hotel is outstanding in terms of employees. They are super helpful and friendly. They and their management are doing a great job and thats one of the main reasons they are on top of the list in SF at this forum.
The rooms are spacious and nice . The location is walking distance to china town but some ways away from Pier 39. The cable car stops right in front of the hotel.
Free internet is another plus.
Overall i can highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Went to spend the weekend in the City to celebrate my daughter's 8th birthday. The staff at the hotel provided excellent friendly service. From the doorman to the bellhop to the front desk. You are cheerful greeted and offered some fresh fruit and water. My two girl's received little backpacks filled with toys. When we returned from tooling around the town, the staff left a chocolate birthday cake and chocolate covered strawberries in the room to my daughter's suprise. In the morning, they left complimentary drinks: coffee, hot chocolate, and orange juice. Special thanks to Steven and Marlion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smop8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The staff went out of their way to help. The conciege was a fountain of knowledge, on what to do in such a fabulous city. Had stayed in the Omni Shoreham in Washington, and thought that was good, but San Fransisco was even better. The staff were just so pleasant and helpful. Wished we could have stayed longer. Excellent location with some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

2stayed here on a business for 3 nights all round excellent hotel, there is a great irish bar around the corner, the IRISH TIMES, excellent fun and food , staff were all from the old country and really took care of me for three nights

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing