We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a room on the 17th floor looking down on Washington Sq, Russia Hill and the coast. Very very pleased. Service was impeccable and friendly. Room staff amazing too. Great location Central to everything we needed and we walked everywhere. Alcatraz pier 33, Union Sq, little Italy, Golden Gate Park. Perfect city stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    928
    168
    49
    17
See reviews for
1,102
1,784
184
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Omni San Francisco Hotel during our recent vacation. The hotel was rated as one of the very top hotels in SF on Tripadvisor, which heavily influenced our decision and did cause us to have very high expectations. The hotel is indeed very nice and each member of the staff we engaged were very nice as well. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing special and pretty basic. The location during week is great, as the area around the hotel is lively and it is a short walk to the "Ferry Building" or to catch a cable car. However, once the weekend arrived the area around the hotel became a ghost town with most restaurants and other establishments being closed for the weekend. It made it somewhat inconvenient as you would have to travel to other parts of the city for everything. I would highly recommend this hotel for business travelers as it does have the perfect location and is nice. However, if you are a family or couple on vacation it might not be the best location for the weekend. Overall, our stay was nice and we liked the hotel, but I guess we expected more from it being that it was a top 5 rated hotel on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoonerSoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Whether it be in San Diego, Atlanta, Chicago, or Carlsbad, the Omni brand is guaranteed!! The brand is solid and I've never been disappointed!! You would think with a brand so well known and people checking in and out, you would be just another faceless guest, right? Not at the Omni!! The service is on point! Stellar!!! You are appreciated as a guest and you can feel the concern to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one!!
I love the location it's close to the business/convention center and the Gaslight area...There are great eateries within walking distance and Petco park is right across the street!! It's all right there at your finger tips!! The Absolute Best in their class!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JazzyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We elected to stay the night to make for a smoother graduation morning. We signed up for the romance package. Chocolate, a rose, bottle of bubbly, turn down service, $100 credit for food(which we used at Bob's)- all really made us feel special. Our top-floor room had a great view as well. Romance? Check!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very comfortable and luxurious hotel right on the cable car line. Great for business, but you won't find many places open after 6:00 p.m. Super comfortable beds. Sign up for frequent guest plan to avoid paying for wi-fi. Dinner at Bob's Bar is a nice way to avoid in-room dining.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I must say the hotel staff is excellent and very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was fair too middling (the french toast was awful and uncooked in the middle). The room for the money was not worth it. I was very disappointed. If I am going to spend that much money I should have gone to the St. Francis Weston. The staff deserve a better hotel. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

As a meeting planner, i can be pretty picky. From the doormen, front desk, to housekeeping, everyone is so pleasant. The Concierge/Front desk/Doormen offer lots of great tips/maps for site seeing. the hotel is beautiful and more in the financial district. the cable car runs rights in front of the hotel and the BART isn't too far of a walk. Very convenient. The walk to the waterfront where the Ferry Building is about a 10 min walk.
Beautiful rooms.

HIGHLY recommend. would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: they are surrounded by other buildings, so the views aren't the best, but not horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#5 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#26 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,628 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing