We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Omni San Francisco Hotel during our recent vacation. The hotel was rated as one of the very top hotels in SF on Tripadvisor, which heavily influenced our decision and did cause us to have very high expectations. The hotel is indeed very nice and each member of the staff we engaged were very nice as well. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing special and pretty basic. The location during week is great, as the area around the hotel is lively and it is a short walk to the "Ferry Building" or to catch a cable car. However, once the weekend arrived the area around the hotel became a ghost town with most restaurants and other establishments being closed for the weekend. It made it somewhat inconvenient as you would have to travel to other parts of the city for everything. I would highly recommend this hotel for business travelers as it does have the perfect location and is nice. However, if you are a family or couple on vacation it might not be the best location for the weekend. Overall, our stay was nice and we liked the hotel, but I guess we expected more from it being that it was a top 5 rated hotel on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoonerSoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,768
    1,039
    188
    56
    21
See reviews for
1,251
2,048
201
954
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Whether it be in San Diego, Atlanta, Chicago, or Carlsbad, the Omni brand is guaranteed!! The brand is solid and I've never been disappointed!! You would think with a brand so well known and people checking in and out, you would be just another faceless guest, right? Not at the Omni!! The service is on point! Stellar!!! You are appreciated as a guest and you can feel the concern to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one!!
I love the location it's close to the business/convention center and the Gaslight area...There are great eateries within walking distance and Petco park is right across the street!! It's all right there at your finger tips!! The Absolute Best in their class!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JazzyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We elected to stay the night to make for a smoother graduation morning. We signed up for the romance package. Chocolate, a rose, bottle of bubbly, turn down service, $100 credit for food(which we used at Bob's)- all really made us feel special. Our top-floor room had a great view as well. Romance? Check!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very comfortable and luxurious hotel right on the cable car line. Great for business, but you won't find many places open after 6:00 p.m. Super comfortable beds. Sign up for frequent guest plan to avoid paying for wi-fi. Dinner at Bob's Bar is a nice way to avoid in-room dining.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I must say the hotel staff is excellent and very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was fair too middling (the french toast was awful and uncooked in the middle). The room for the money was not worth it. I was very disappointed. If I am going to spend that much money I should have gone to the St. Francis Weston. The staff deserve a better hotel. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

As a meeting planner, i can be pretty picky. From the doormen, front desk, to housekeeping, everyone is so pleasant. The Concierge/Front desk/Doormen offer lots of great tips/maps for site seeing. the hotel is beautiful and more in the financial district. the cable car runs rights in front of the hotel and the BART isn't too far of a walk. Very convenient. The walk to the waterfront where the Ferry Building is about a 10 min walk.
Beautiful rooms.

HIGHLY recommend. would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: they are surrounded by other buildings, so the views aren't the best, but not horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I come to San Francisco once a month. I've stayed at this hotel for business 3 times now and have been happy with the staff friendliness and the hotel, in general. I started with them for the convenience and reasonable price for what you get and will stay with them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
418 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
2,870 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,597 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing