We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel was top notch. I requested a 'high floor' and was placed on the very top floor. The view was beautiful, the room was huge. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again. I wish the restaurant was open later because I would have liked to try it. Instead though we did eat at the bar and the filet burgers were amazing. There is this honey/cucumber drink that you must try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,210
    906
    167
    49
    17
See reviews for
1,085
1,751
182
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I came here to celebrate getting engaged and everything was wonderful. Upon arrival we were given complementary beverages, a rose on the bed, chocolates on the bed, and very comfortable robes. Only negative was that on one of the robes there was a very small stain on the collar, and the robe cord was burnt/dirty on one end.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 77daryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I work with a traveling custom suit company and we occasionally need an overflow venue to meet with clients. Omni goes out of their way to ensure every need is met from fast ( and well done !) shoe shine to reliable internet. There is always some one who specializes in a certain aspect of the city from restaurants to sporting events to recommend in our spare time. Many hotels advertise as being in the financial district or union square and they are actually in or near the tenderloin where walking even during the day is frightening. This location is spot on! Trolly in front for a quick ( and fun) cruise up to Grace Cathedral and then right down Powell to Hermes, Prada and all the shopping you could ask for. Great food in walking distance and it safe at night. Can't wait to be back and I'm so happy to have an option in SF that I can always trust to be flawless and unforgettable. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mha323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff at the Omni are fantastic. The doorman was very entertaining in addition to being helpful. The concierge helped us plan a bus tour of the city and gave us discount coupons for the tour. We had planned on spending the day in the city before our flight left, so we were pleased that hotel stored our luggage and allowed us to leave the car in the garage even though we had checked out. The room was nice, but we were on the top floor which meant we didn't have a view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Omni Hotel is now one of our favorite places to stay in San Francisco-the hotel is in a great location and very beautiful..but more importantly, the staff are committed to providing the BEST customer service ever! Not only are they extremely welcoming- they listen and then do those little extras that make you feel so special (e.g., after hearing me say it was my husband's birthday, we came back from dinner and there was a signed card and a delicious piece of chocolate cake in our room). In addition, on our last day, one of the valets gave us great advice about leaving our car there rather than trying to find a parking spot down by the Embarcadero, even though it meant re-loading our luggage and re-parking our car for an additional 2 hours. When we got back to pick up our car, we were offered bottles of water. The rooms at the Omni are beautiful, the bed was super comfortable and the lobby was gorgeous (this is a restored bank). This hotel would be a great place to celebrate a romantic occasion or just a weekend get away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three days in April 2014 while visiting San Francisco with a girl friend. Everything at this hotel is top notch. The room was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable. The bathroom and amenities were excellent and there was plenty of room. The front desk was prompt, efficient and helpful when recommending nearby attractions. There is free Starbucks coffee in the morning. The hotel is expensive but no more than any other similar property in San Francisco. I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've walked past this hotel dozens of times and always wanted to stop-in, but never did.
I was under the mistaken impression that it was too expensive....not so!
This is a great hotel, close to everything. The California line cable car passes right in front of the hotel. Bart and Muni station is just 4 blocks away. Chinatown is a five minute walk. Restaurants...too many to count.
But the best part is that I was wrong about the prices. This hotel is very reasonable by San Francisco standards and the service is outstanding. Join their loyalty club when you book and you get great freebies on your first visit. Free morning beverage delivered to your door is pretty cool, I must say. On-site bar and restaurant are top notch. If you need a hotel in this area...look no further. This is it!

Room Tip: Join the Omni loyalty club when you book and get some cool freebies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 236 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#26 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing