We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 2, 2014

a hotel with a great location, the staff were very friendly, but the bed was not made properly, and the room can be kept better, especially the bed making. I did not feel the house keeping was doing a particularly great job. The laundry bag was not even replaced… which was quite disappointing for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 489cathyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,317)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,697 - 2,703 of 5,317 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Omni San Francisco has the most polite and helpful hotel staff I've encountered in quite some time. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the doormen to the housekeeping staff...I was greeted daily with a genuine smile and a warm greeting. The rooms are clean and well appointed, and the hotel bar is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much. The housekeeping staff was great, especially the young lady who specifically took care of my room. The front door men were all exceptional, offering help, directions, even an umbrella, every time I left the hotel! The bed was very comfortable and I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I was really impress with the property .. Everyone was a great help especially the front desk guys, bell men, valet, the restuarant , the bar and housekeeper ... I would rate a it a 10 because of the location, the people, the room, the culture and many more .. The only downfall about it is their is no pool and gift shop ... No big deal especially bc it's downtown and it gets chilly ... Front desk was a great help on arranging tours and valuable info ... The food was great but decent ... Bob chophouse was great . The bar was nice and elegant ... Bell guys were very helpful with directions and recommendation ... Housekeeping was very attentive too the rooms ... Everything is within a 5 to 10 walk to certain place such to union square, Chinatown and embarcadeo .. Remember folks your going to do a lot of walking so stop complaining ... Drink a lot of water bc your going to need it .. There a Walgreens steps away on Montgomery street just 5 mins ... Valet can be a little high especially if your driving more then two days .. Parking garage are surround the property but be carefully bc it switches at 2am for overnight .. Used a car for two days only .... Everything else was either the trolley $6 each way or $15 day pass .. Best recommendation is get the city pass for $86 and you ride unlimited and get to go too several attractions ...do your research ....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Dcx2200uss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Omni San Francisco has good quality public areas and the rooms are above average for business hotels. We booked a higher floor level room as the hotel website gave us the impression that these rooms had a city view, but our view was of the building opposite the hotel. Valet parking is way too expensive at $52 per night as is Wi-Fi at $14.95 per day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Arrived on a Friday night for a weekend trip to find an apartment in San Francisco. About a 20 minute ride from the airport. Doormen were eager to help with bags as needed. Check-in staff were friendly, helped us right away, and offered locations for a late dinner in addition to their on-site restaurant.

The room was clean. Decor was neutral and comfortable. We faced out onto California and could hear traffic once in a while but it was not a big issue. Can be a long walk to the elevator depending on where the room is. If it's an issue just ask for a closer room.

Did not eat in the hotel but they did offer us champagne on Saturday evening as we were waiting for friends in the lobby. Nice touch.

The hotel was close to where we needed to go and an easy walk to Union Square, Market Street, the Ferry Building, and the entire financial district.

We had a good last minute deal but I understand this can be a very expensive hotel. I still think it's worth based on the location, security, and amenities.

Room Tip: Stay away from California Ave side if you must have perfect quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copperpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is extremely nice, well located for access to transportation. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided some of the best customer service we've encountered in our travels. We appreciated being contacted prior to arrival with suggestions such as pre-booking Alcatraz tour. Location is good to walk as it is flat if you are walking towards the water/piers/trams. The trams that run along the waterfront are only $2 and much more convenient than the cable cars at $6. Just watch out for rush hour when all the trams are full. Be prepared as the hotel does charge for every little thing including local phone calls, internet, water in the room ($7.50 a bottle) and the fridge is locked. At the price of the rooms, I would have expected those things to be included so we were a bit disappointed. The in-house restaurant & bar were convenient but we chose to seek out less expensive options for most of our meals. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast twice. $52 for yogurt and fruit and coffee for 2 is pretty pricey. We know noticed lots of people going out to get coffee and breakfast items. A simpler, less expensive breakfast option would be nice or having the fridge empty and open so people could use it for free would be preferred, like many other hotels do. Restaurants nearby were very good but really busy after work hours because of happy hour that was popular and most were closed on Sunday. As long as you were willing to walk a little ways, some smaller more casual restaurants were around. During weekends the area is very quiet compared to the Union Square district and there is no shopping or anything nearby. The closest markets were in China Town or down at the Ferry Building. In order to get a good car rental rate we were forced to pick up the car early and park it at the hotel. We did get a reduced rate for Sat night but had to pay $52 for an additional Sun night. I know parking is expensive in San Francisco but it would be nice to give guests a bit of a break over the whole weekend, at least. We did see quite a few families staying here over the Easter weekend but with the high restaurant costs and having to pay extra for internet, parking etc. I think the hotel is better suited for business travellers with expense accounts and couples/singles with bigger budgets who can get out and around easily to find free internet or restaurants. If you can get a good weekend rate and don't have a car, it can be a great spot for a short visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California st, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $242 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing