We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located & Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the financial district and walkable to just about anywhere. The staff (from the maid service to the front desk to the doormen) are extremely helpful, nice and attentive. The rooms are clean and spacious. It's nice to come back from an exhausting day of meetings and have so many staff welcome you back to the hotel and ask if you need anything. It's the little things that can make a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from California Street if you are a light sleeper. The cable cars can sometimes...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alominac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,317)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,705 - 2,711 of 5,317 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

I chose this hotel solely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. This is a very nice hotel in a great location of San Francisco. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and friendly. In addition, they offer fresh fruit, refreshments, and champagne on the weekends, as well as complimentary coffee in the bar area every morning, which was wonderful and what I expect from a high-end hotel of this caliber. I enjoyed the location because it is on the California cable car line, a quick walk to Chinatown and the Embacadero (ferry terminal or Alcatraz pier, etc). Basically, a high quality hotel, with helpful staff, and everything I would expect from this type of property. The first morning we were there, we had breakfast at Bob's, located in the hotel and it was AMAZING - the best breakfast ever. You definitely pay for it, but the food and service are the best. Enjoy San Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not much to add to previous reviews. Would stay again.

Pro's:
- Location. Very central but quiet
- Lovely room (were upgraded to a signature room)
- Service - very friendly and reliable
- Loyalty program (free wifi and morning beverage)
- Fitness room - good selection of equipment, supply of towels and water

Con's
- Expensive (particularly for food and drinks)
- Hair dryer (pretty useless!)

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peig_Sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is a gem. Its location is superb in the financial district but we walked absolutely everywhere! 3 mins to Chinatown, 7 mins to Little Italy and 10 mins to Union Square. Staff were amazing and room size was terrific. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Fran - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank AussieTravellers264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Omni is a beautiful hotel with a first-rate staff. If you can find a good rate for a good room you should probably grab it. I doubt you'll be disappointed.

The problem is, though, that the hotel is popular (business travelers, conferences, tours, TA) and the rates reflect this. I spent a fair amount of time shopping around but in the end I waited too long, I think, and we ended up with "the best available rate" (which is rarely a very good rate; in this case $455 + tax for a "signature room"). We were in a recently renovated room on the 16th floor (there are 17 floors) looking out on California Street (there was plenty of light but not much of a view). It was a very nice room but it wasn't a great value.

I understand why the Omni charges what they charge-- see my comments above: it's nice and it's popular. But I know, too, that the many guests who were there as part of a tour group or a conference weren't paying what we were paying. Fair enough. But at check in the Omni staff member has a lot of discretion, to do the math, to size up a customer, and to offer an upgrade without being asked (which I don't generally do, but I did ask for the nicest room available). I was given a room that matched my reservation (also fair enough)... but I also know that there were nicer rooms available-- right next door to us, in fact, a large corner room, empty both nights. As I have said, our room was very nice, but at over a $1,000 for two nights it might have been nice to be next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The location is outstanding, only a stones throw from most areas and attractions. The service was outstanding from the front desk to the doormen. The rooms were fabulous, clean and well appointed. We would definitely stay here on our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent a lovely long weekend at this hotel. Great location near Union Square and Chinatown. All the appointments are exactly what you'd expect from a luxury brand. Not over-the-top, but just lovely. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, and all the amenities were perfect. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank aagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,975 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California st, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $242 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing