We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good value for an excellent hotel, at a convenient location neat to financial district. Nob Hill and Union Square. Staff among the most efficient and friendly I've seen in a very long time. Check-in, check-out fast and friendly. Doorman full of information. Even the breakfast waitress at Bob's was outstanding, could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank kts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,638
    1,010
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,213
1,978
198
914
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Omni San Francisco in December 2013 with my family for 4 nights. The room itself was quite nice spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is also very nice and spacious (however the bath is quite small and shallow, although not a problem for us). We were also given milk and cookies each night which was a nice touch. The hotel itself is great and is well looked after, the lobby is beautiful and the staff are all very polite and helpful. Location is good a couple of blocks down from chinatown and a short walk to union square. As the hotel is located in the financial district it is quiet during night time and the weekends so if sleep quality is important to you the Omni SF will provide you with a good nights sleep. Would definitely stay here again as it made my trip to San Francisco a great one. It is now one of my favourite cities!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonjy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
385 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a great hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and the corporate and personal guest service is excellent.
What can you say that's bad about it?
Its expensive BUT not the most expensive in the town.
Its restaurant is a very traditional steak house thats expensive and will not fit the nouveau designs of most foodies BUT there are 20 foodie defined places with 5 minutes AND their breakfast is excellent.
Its set on the side of the hill BUT its san francisco AND the doorman, front desk and bell hop know your name when you return.
Its old SF but you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Omni San Francisco just after the Christmas holidays. My wife and I have a soft spot for the Omni chain as we had stayed at a few around the US. They are in my opinion, full of charm and style of the old world that makes them unique. If you want a contemporary style, corporate type hotel then this is not for you. The Omni SF has beautiful wood, glass and chrome that makes it look and feel lavish. We arrived late in the night but were checked in quickly and efficiently with all our questions answered. Our bags were brought up to our room promptly and without fuss. The room decor was stylish and was clean. The bathroom had a marble counter, was well stocked and again was spotless. I've noticed that a lot of the Omni don't have full sized baths but I'm more of a shower person so that didn't bother me. There was a large TV with a good selection of channels to choose from. Internet access was straightforward and was free being a member of their Omni programme. They have a restaurant which is where breakfast is served in the mornings. In the evenings it is a steak house which get very favourable reviews. We did not try it out as it was a little beyond our budget. Service at the hotel has always been great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff there.
The hotel is situated in the heart of the Financial District which means that it gets quieter at night but never feels unsafe to walk around. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and the cable car stops just at the top of the block. Chinatown and Union Square are with 10-15 minutes walk away so is perfectly situated for the heart of the city.
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and though it may not be the cheapest, its worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileycamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Fellow Trip Advisor travelers did not fail me! Again, the recommendations and ratings were right on. The hotel had some great after holiday last minute rates, we had a last minute free weekend. Made for a lovely getaway. The meals (2 breakfasts included with our pkg, and a dinner) at the hotel restaurant were superb! We walked to the pier and to Union Square. Although we had not stayed in the neighborhood before, we will again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nanaepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Loved the Omni - great location. Within walking distance of Market Street, Chinatown, Embarcadero, Fishermans Wharf, union square, nob hill. Lots of great restaurants in the area. Little disappointed there was no coffee maker in the room even though it was listed on their web site. Also the concierge sent us to a restaurant that was not what he claimed it was - were told it was a great place to have a wonderful meal. We went and were very disappointed. The place was chaotic, service terrible, very loud, very small food selection. Rooms were comfortable and room service was quick and very good food. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our 22nd anniversary consisted of a trip to San Francisco while staying at the Omni. The staff ensured our stay was comfortable and bent over backwards with strawberries, champagne, and chocolates for us on the bed after dinner. Every staff member is execptional and ensured our visit was spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Toby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing