We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A much over-due review, as I stayed for a weekend last January. Wonderful and friendly staff, especially the doormen who were also most helpful. I found this hotel to be exceptionally clean and while it's part of a chain, it had that comfortable boutique feeling about it, though with all of the conveniences of the large hotels. It was the best of both worlds. Lovely and spacious room and bath, very very clean and quiet. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlysAroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,784
    1,043
    188
    56
    21
See reviews for
1,256
2,056
201
958
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

As I got in to San Francisco, I was excited to try out the Omni hotel in San Francisco especially after recently trying out the Ritz Carleton.
Upon Arrival, the valet staff was a bit short, but friendly, but helpful in explaining procedures and where to proceed to. It was $52 for valet parking, which in the city is quite average so that did not phase me.
I had a great conversation in the beautiful lobby decorated for the Christmas season which looked quite stunning. They were very kind and very helpful. The elevator man was fantastic.
When I got to the room, I was excited to see the layout and decor. It was a great size with a nice sitting area and desk. A little dark since my room was in the corner. A few of the cons about the room were my room looked directly into an office building. I love city views, so it was a little disappointing I had to at least keep the lighter drapes over the window for privacy. Also, throughout the night, it was fairly loud. During the night I could hear the surrounding rooms fairly well, but I could also hear every conversation coming from the hallway. For it's price points, I would expect a bit more silence.The room was very clean, as expected, and provided all the essentials, but nickel and dimed especially when it comes to internet and waters.
The gym was fine, had the basics and more. Very very clean.
Room service was fantastic. I enjoyed both my meals, and the service was outstanding.
This morning, it was a bit noisy earlier in the day but it is great checkout time is at noon.
Overall, I would probably stay elsewhere on my trips back to SF, but I did enjoy my stay. I just feel I could get much more for the money I spent on this hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: Most likely a higher floor would be better. I was room 418, lacked a view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksylvst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Omni. Really wonderful staff! Friendly and helpful.
Room was nice and large for being in the city. Unfortunately I got a room next to the elevator. A little bit of noise that was tolerable. I had a really cheap rate via our corporate discount so I can't complain too much about being stuck next to the elevator.

Hands down I would stay here over the SF Ritz (have stayed there twice). Only negatives were that the bar is not too big and parking was almost $37a night (with the $5 city tax) along with it being challenging to pull into when you drive in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJZinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel and staff are the best in the business! They go out of their way to ensure you have the best stay during your visit. The rooms are supieror and the staff is always pleasant and helpful. The location is in the finiancial district close to Emabarcadero and China Town. It's great to feel so welcomed during each visit, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A big thank you to Andrew at the front desk for turning what could have been a disaster to a wonderful SF experience. The double beds that I booked were too small to accommodate our family, so Andrew moved us to a King size bedroom that comes with a sofa bed as well. Lex, our big and friendly Concierge, was most precise with his directions while entertaining the little ones. The level of service and dedication of all the staff we met right down to the doormen were extraordinary. It is your level of service commitment that sets the 'Omni brand experience' apart from the competition. Keep up the GREAT JOB, guys!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main streets can get noisy if you are on the lower floors. You may be better off fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_vaderloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Found this hotel. The hotel was great! The concierge at the front desk, Brittany, was extremely helpful and very courteous. She offered to help us by printing our flight boarding passes and arranged to have transportation waiting for us on our departure date. The accommodations and the service we received were excellent and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel was an excellent. Very much worth the extra money and beautiful. This was my first time visiting San Francisco and it was right on California street, directly on a trolley line. The area was walking distance to many of the tourist sites. I would recommend taking a bike ride to see the whole city. I walked for three days straight and decided to take a bike ride to the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito. Wow! Amazing! You can either ride your bike back or take a barge back into town. The staff was excellent, very accommodating, the rooms were very clean and I felt like royalty with the plush robes, huge tub and vaulted ceilings. I definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: You can upgrade your to a room facing the main street. It is very nice. I believe on the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSAgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
421 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,879 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,107 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing