We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #2 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had several rooms for the recent wedding of our son. In particular the valet service was very attentive and accommodating as we were in and out all weekend with the different activities. Extremely well located for those guests who wanted to visit different sites such as Union Square area and Ferry building on their own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank KlatteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,309 - 3,315 of 5,547 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the accommodations. Staff always went above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable. My wife had meds that had to be refrigerated and they setup a mini-fridge in our room. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My new wife and I spent one of the final nights of our honeymoon at the Omni San Francisco Hotel. I'd heard of its reputation as a very romantic destination and I was eager to give my wife a special treat. From the old-world decor to the excellent customer service, this one-night stay did not disappoint.

For starters, this is a big-city hotel near the epicenter of San Francisco's Financial District at California and Montgomery streets. Valet parking and transfers along California are tricky at best so you might have to round the block a few times before you can hail a bellman to collect your belongings. Parking is big-city expensive, too: self parking will run you $37/night a couple blocks west on California, or $60 for valet. I gulped and chose the latter. These rates are standard in a top-tier city like San Fran, so you accept them as reality and move on.

Once inside, check-in took less than two minutes, no questions asked. As an Omni Select Guest member, rapid check-in is one of the perks, including complimentary bottled water, newspaper and in-room Wi-Fi. It's free and a must for any Omni stay anywhere, so I suggest signing up before staying at this brand.

The lobby of this former bank building is sumptuously old-world and beautiful. It makes the grand parlors of the Titanic look shabby (at least when it was sailing). Guest rooms are stately, standard-size with marble bathrooms and high-end fixtures and bedding. Our room overlooked California Street, with the intermittent "ding-ding-ding" of the cable car line reminding us where we were. That set the stage for a romantic night, as did the front desk staff, who delivered a complimentary tray of strawberries and dipping sauces to our room after we returned from dinner.

From here, you're 5-6 blocks west of the Embarcadero/Ferry Building complex and two blocks south of the Transamerica Pyramid. It's a great launching pad to see the iconic sights of this fabled town.

Unfortunately one night was not enough for us to take in this beautiful hotel or San Francisco in general. We'll be back for a longer stay, and my goal will be to enjoy part or all of our time at this Omni hotel, budget notwithstanding.

Speaking of which, with valet and taxes, our one-night stay was just north of $400. It's a big bite, and you could do it for less in a less convenient area of town. But for the complete package and the smile of relief on my wife's face, it was the perfect place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel recently and have to say we had a wonderful stay. The staff were helpful & friendly, the rooms very clean and comfortable bed (decor not very modern but in keeping with the hotel), fantastic location and the best breakfasts and steak meals we have ever had in 'bobs restaurant' which is located in the hotel. Also the free coffee in the room is delicious! Would have liked free bottles of water though. Quite an expensive hotel but as we only stayed 5 nights and it was a special occasion it was ok. Would love to go back there - am having ribeye steak withdrawal symptoms!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the moment I walked into the hotel, I was greeted with excellent service throughout my entire stay. The doormen, the receptionists, the room service, and housekeeping all responded with friendliness and efficiency. On several occasions, they anticipated my need and offered help before I even asked (e.g. offered to find a taxi, put my luggage in the trunk while I prepared my morning coffee).

The room was clean, comfortable, and luxurious. The bathroom was spotless (I am very picky about this), the linens smelled and looked fresh, and every surface was dusted, everyday.

Location-wise, it was perfect for me-- a short walk to the Ferry Terminal Marketplace for delicious, fresh, organic meals; a cable car runs right in front of the hotel; a short walk to China town; and a short walk to my office. I liked that it's off the beaten path because the hotel is quiet.

I highly recommend this hotel and I will plan to stay here every time I come to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a great stay in San Francisco and the Omni was part of that experience. The room was comfortable and bright. Great location...easy walk to Union Square, the Pier, Chinatown and Little Italy. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Nice touch having complimentary Starbuck's coffee in the Lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Omni is a stand out for customer service and quality of rooms! Quiet rooms! Convenient location as well. Highly recommend. I was there for a conference and the staff was completely informative. Also handled a left behind article very well. Every single member of the staff was well trained in customer interactions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,575 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,420 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California st, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $260 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing