We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is the star here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Service is the star here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sorry, but first a few negatives that need to be mentioned but have no effect on the ranking...

The lounge downstairs was really disappointing. We ordered 2 $16 drinks expecting something impressive, but received your basic small glasses comparative to a simple rye and coke....very average at best. The calamari was gross, which came with shrimp sauce which I'm guessing came out of a can. The room was extremely cold and loud! We didn't visit it again.
My wife wished there was a hot tub, but we understood these old hotels downtown were classical in build.
The location is average. There are a few sandwich places near by including a subway.

The reason the hotel was given 5 stars and ranked 4th overall in the city is its service. The door men were awesome! They never missed a step, always wishing you a good day. The check in was extremely fast, and the bill on the door checking out was accurate. Asking for a later check out was no issue as well.
Signing up for a membership is a must!! (Free). When you arrive, you get 2 complimentary waters, ice filled every night turn down service, a morning paper, and a personally delivered drink of your choice left outside your door every morning...very impressive. The rooms were well appointed and always clean.
Ps.... If you have a rental car or personal car over the weekend, do not pay for valet! Parking is free on the streets with lots to choose from.

Room Tip: Room 1218 was a nice room near the corner...average view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,556
    996
    185
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,188
1,941
197
888
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The rooms are a little small compared to others at this price range, however the staff in total were excellent and very accommodating. There were several days I had to do early work before the conference and all worked flawlessly. The restroom area was great - the sink/counter a little small with all of the amenities located there. Great shower water pressure - a real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Omni is rather unassuming from the outside, but inside it is quite grant and impressive. The staff was all extremely helpful, friendly, and personable. The room was clean, spacious, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on. The location is not the greatest for tourists, as you have a bit of a walk or a ride to get to the sites but it was worth it for us and we were already there for a conference. The meeting space and event service staff were great as well. Top Notch Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

San Francisco was the first stop for my daughter and myself on our month long stay in the USA, and our stay at the Omni was excellent, the hotel is beautiful and the staff without exception were helpful and very courteous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting San Francisco. However, remember when visiting you will have to climb "hills"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband & 12 yr. old son ventured to San Fran for our 1st time. I booked this hotel based on TA reviews and must say the hotel lived up the top notch rated service and ambiance. The front desk truly did everything to give us tips on where to go, how to get there and what to avoid. I booked the hotel via their website approx. 6 months prior to our stay and decided to take advantage of their 3 night special - got a great deal $206/night. The view really didn't bother us [a nearby building] as we were out all day. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrstn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel the front door staff was amazing, Michael at the front desk was so friendly, helpful and asked us if we were celebrating anything. We told him yes, anniversary and my birthday. After checking in, we walked into the most spacious room I have ever stayed in in SF (as the rooms in SF are small) on the top floor with a nice view of the city. The amazing person that made my reservation told me about the loyalty club which I signed up for. I travel quite a bit as a motivational speaker so having free wi-fi is nice! A few hours later we were met with a knock on the door with a delivery of complimentary champagne, strawberry fondue and a hand written note from Debra Tjandra (loyalty ambassador) wishing us a happy anniversary and me a happy birthday and that she hoped I would enjoy the upgraded accommodations. Needless to say, at this point I was touched and speechless. What an experience. My Omni experience was Four Seasons amazing without the Four Seasons price tag. I will now search out Omni properties in my future travel destinations. You guys rock!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors facing the SF Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Extraordinary resort, in the middle of San Francisco. Easy walk to everything; Union Square, Moscone Center, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf. Incredible staff and services; friendly, timely delivery of requested services. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RSoto259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing