We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, outstanding service, great for business meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
fairfield2008
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, outstanding service, great for business meetings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently hosted a business meeting with approximately 20 executive-level attendees, and I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience. Lobby is beautiful, location is great, rooms are very nice, and service and catering was outstanding. They bent over backwards for us. Prices were also more reasonable than the other hotels we looked at (5 star). Would definitely host another event there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairfield2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,643
    1,011
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,214
1,980
198
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just stayed for four nights and overall loved the Omni. First the highlights:

1) This is a hotel with quality service. All of the staff give you a real sense that they are interested in helping you have a great stay. You'll feel welcome.

2) The Omni is spotlessly clean.

3) The location is great for a vacationer -- conveniently located to Chinatown, the Ferry Building (don't miss the farmers market there on Saturday mornings) and to the California Street cable cars. It's not so close to Fisherman's Wharf but getting there can be an adventure for you.

4) Room service was excellent -- we had a delicious breakfast and very good dessert brought up to the room on two occasions.

Next the niggles--not major minuses, just a few things I wasn't as thrilled with:

1) The view -- at least from our room, was underwhelming, just an office building across the street.

2) The room was missing a hotel/services guide, so we didn't know what amenities were available or what was on the menu for room service.

3) The hotel is quite tall and there are two elevators so we often had a long wait.

4) The decor of the hotel is a bit staid and stuffy, sort of a combination grandma's and conservative law firm!

5) The rooms were a little small for the money -- we had just stayed at the Park Hyatt Regency in downtown Chicago a little over a month before, a comparable area and comparable price, and noticed a marked different in the amount of room there was for walking around etc. The Omni's room was a bit cramped.

None of the minuses really affected our overall pleasure with the hotel, but they kept a great hotel from being a perfect one, and lose the hotel one star. We'll probably try a different luxury hotel the next time we're in SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_with_Alex63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the SF area in July 2013 and stayed at the Omni for 3 nights. Location was perfect. Short walk to Pier 39, or take advantage of public transportation. Hotel staff was fantastic from the moment we walked in the door. We arrived at the hotel at 9:30 am, and were were checked in and given a room! What hotel does that?
Hotel staff surprised us with a special treat for our anniversary, daily turn down-service and chocolates as well.
Rooms were tastefully decorated, beds were comfortable. Getting a good night's rest after all the walking we did each day was much appreciated.
Can't say enough great things. You are in good hands at the Omni. On our next stay to the SF area, we will pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenskihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

In the financial district within easy walking distance of most areas e.g Union square, ferry terminal, piers, ball park etc, the hotel is very well located. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also a large gym with a good range of equipment. Overall a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mnccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We travel to San Francisco three or four times a year, and always stay at the Omni. When we go to LA, we stay at the Omni there. We appreciate the extra service as select guests, the comfort of the rooms, and the business services available. We were able to send files to the front desk to be printed and then faxed, at no extra charge. Food's pretty good, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel.just a stroll down to wharf.located in the business district.staff v helpful and friendly.gave us a welcome fruit platter as we were on honeymoon.staff grest for given advice for time there and directions.loved our stay there!would return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efinn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel staff and the facility were wonderful. They were available to assist with whatever was needed. I would stay here again. The hotel staff and the facility were wonderful. They were available to assist with whatever was needed. I would stay here again. The hotel staff and the facility were wonderful. They were available to assist with whatever was needed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing