We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the pool??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Where's the pool??”
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Its a nice hotel but contrary to the reviews, its not fantastic. Someone rated their pool as above average. Foolishly, I didn't look into it as i actually wanted to use the pool. I was surprised on arrival to find out that they don't actually have one!!!
The staff are very friendly but that is usually a standard american thing in a high star hotel. The rooms are all nice and reasonably spacious for the price although a little stuffy for some reason (maybe the weather) but again, not all that fantastic as the reviews seem to suggest. The location is great in the center of town, the breakfast and the food average, the bed was okay, not fantastic. I've definitely stayed in better

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too average
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DaSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,896
    1,074
    193
    59
    22
See reviews for
1,321
2,110
206
974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We arrived very late after a long drive from Vegas as part of our honeymoon tour of CA, and were greeted by exceptionally friendly helpful staff, unbelievably clean rooms, excellent facilities...need I go on. An absolute must for an extra special city visit.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maria232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I was in San Francisco on business and stayed at the Omni for four nights this June. EVERYTHING is great about this hotel! The staff are extremely friendly, and will go out of their way to help you with ANYTHING you could possibly need. I've stayed at other hotels in San Francisco and there are hotels that more modern / chique, but none of them beat the Omni - It's a classic.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Intermittent room internet service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jer_travels_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on a recent visit to san franciso and would highly recommend it, from start to finish the service was impeccable and i could not find one thing to fault. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly porter and directed to the front desk where again the welcome was great (but not overwhelming) and check in was quick and efficent. Room was excellent - very comfortable with a huge bed and excellent bathroom (good shower). For me it was the little touches that made the stay so enjoyable - the chocolates, the ice bucket that was refilled every night, the weather forecast by the phone; as well as the attentive and friendly staff. As we spent most of our time sightseeing we only ate room service one night and never ate in the restauarant - both restauarant and bar looked very nice though. Location is great - walking distance from all the sights though can be a bit quiet on a sunday. If im in san francisco again this is where ill be staying!

  • Liked — Impeccable and friendly service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at the Omni hotel after reading all the reviews on Trip advisor. I have to say that they were true! The Omni hotel is a great place with a very friendly staff. We arrived early (10:30a) and a room was waiting for us. After signing up on their website, we ended up with coffee and juice delivered to our room every morning. We also had breakfast included. The restaurant was great. The staff there welcomed us each morninng and we had the choice as far as menu. I had steak and eggs one morning. Just fabulous! The meat was very tender.
We will definetely stay there again. Perfect location as well.

  • Liked — The staff was amazing!
  • Disliked — N/A...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We had a wonderful experience. I am 40ish and my daughter, 20. We went to SF for girl's trip. Omni staff was absolutely excellent. Genuine smiles, friendliest & kindest staff..even our housekeeper left hand-written notes daily. Clean & beautiful lobby, halls, & room. Special touches everywhere. Every single person we came in contact with was genuine and helpful. Great location two blocks from Chinatown. Paid $209 one night and $199 the other. Room size was also good for price paid.

  • Liked — the staff & personal touches
  • Disliked — interruption of internet service
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SonjaWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

As always, I checked TripAdvisor first when planning my first trip to San Francisco and based on the No. 1 rating of the Omni from previous travelers, I decided to give it a shot. Was I ever impressed. It is a lovely hotel in the Financial District of the city and very near Union Square. Not only are the common areas and the room truly beautiful, each member of the staff that I encountered was extremely courteous and sincerely willing to ensure that I was having a great time. I plan to return to see more of the city and will definitely be staying at the Omni.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and very luxurious.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TrueTaurusGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,940 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing