We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except for traffic noise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect except for traffic noise...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Omni has friendly, helpful staff, attractive rooms and a good location for walking in Chinatown and along the Embarcadero. If your room overlooks either California or Montgomery St. you may be bothered by traffic noises. This was an issue for us on the 6th floor. We were really tired and luckily got a decent night's sleep, but would recommend either a very high floor or a room facing the inner courtyard. If the hotel installed some triple-glazed windows, this problem might be solved. Otherwise it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet room overlook an inner courtyard or are very high above street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,714
    1,025
    188
    56
    21
See reviews for
1,235
2,016
201
937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved:
The bed- soo comfortable
The space - plenty of room for our daughter to have a very comfortable pullout
The bathroom - great amenities, great shower over the bath, the robes supplied.
The staff - all very helpful, always smiling, the notes from the housekeeper wishing us a safe trip home, all made us feel special
The fruit available in the lobby with iced tea.
The location loved the fact we could walk everywhere (weary feet at the end of the day). We did tackle the hill up to Chinatown but mostly walked round Market st to Union Sq.
Great place

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

the purpose of the trip was a baseball vacation, followed our AZ DBacks to see them play at SF Giants (AT&T Park).

Hotel doormen are FIRST CLASS ! Gave us very helpful tips on transportation, and directions and suggestion that made our trip so simple and hassle free. Front desk and concierge also made us feel very very welcomed and at home. Doormen advised best way to AT&T park was to take the Muni, which was very very easy and quick...it's like being in NYC, you HAVE to do the subway, same thing here...it's part of getting a good complete city experience! was a very helpful suggestion.

Received comped Berries and Champagne upon arrival from the manager which was a very nice surprise. We had a corner Suite, very, very spacious and comfortable, 600 + sq ft....roomy bath area, great city views, and tons of windows!

Houskeeping was perfect, and room service was also very nice, timely , food arrived hot and every order was correct.

Location is in financial district, and very close to everything, we walked to the pier area to see Americas Cup events, and all the way up to Fishermans Wharf on pier 39, then it's an easy 10 taxi ride home. Walked to Chinatown, hotel is 2 blocks away and is nice and quiet you'd never know that much stuff is going on right around the corner! Took quick taxi ride to Union Square for great shopping, and then taxi to Haight / Ashbury area.

All in all, Omni was very comfortable, homey, but upscale and NOT stuffy. Great time every night at the bar area of Bobs' Restaurant (their on site restaurant)....we will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildwestern88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival, the valet man was very kind and helpful. The service was very friendly and welcoming also. The lobby is beautiful and the steakhouse in the hotel had the best filet I've ever had! The room was beautiful and our view wasn't bad considering we were on the 7th floor. Every night we came back to our room we were pleasantly surprised with delicious, complimentary cookies and milk! The rooms were very well kept and the maids were so friendly! The doormen were also so welcoming and wonderful! Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Omni San Francisco! We will be back soon!!(:

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachellee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family of four stayed for only one night here but we enjoyed it. The staff were great from the valet to the doormen to the concierge. JoJo at the front desk was amazing and was most helpful when we wanted to find a place to eat in the North Beach district ( Little Italy ). They answered all of our questions about sightseeing and getting around San Francisco, especially since we showed up during the BART strike. The room was nice although the one we had the windows were really high and we couldn't really see out of them. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was very clean. Nice robes as well. We joined the Select Guest club and received the free wifi (saved $) and they also brought us two breakfast beverages right to our door based on our selection of what we wanted and what time we wanted it delivered. That was a very nice extra. All in all a very pleasant experience and really close to a lot of areas, Chinatown, North Beach etc. It was a little more expensive that what we are used to paying but for our time in San Francisco it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeroarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The room, and staff are absolute perfection. All of the basics are met... Clean room comfortable bed, prompt responsive staff. In many areas it far exceeds reasonable expectations. Fresh strawberries and chocolate left in our room when we were out, bell men recommend the perfect breakfast cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtlukeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Omni Hotel for 4 nights mid June. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The location was very central as we could walk to most of the sites we wanted to see. Also very close to China Town and North Beach, where we found some great restaurants. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonsNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing