We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family of four spent the second half our vacation in San Francisco and chose this hotel. We were not disappointed. Room was a bit small for the four of us, but was nice. View not much to speak of. Staff was very helpful with suggestions of places to see, eat and how to get there. Parking is not cheap, but if you don't need a car, it is easy to get around since this is walking distance to Chinatown or the waterfront. Or you easily access the cable car, which runs right past the hotel. Would definitely recommend this place to others, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If planning to see Alcatraz, book this far in advance. You probably won't get to go if you wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,712
    1,025
    188
    56
    21
See reviews for
1,234
2,016
201
937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For $300 a night, one might expect more than 30 channels of tv selections. Not that we came to SF to watch tv, but we do wind down in the evening, and we found their choices to be lacking. Room was fine, very clean and quiet, with good amenities, and staff is pleasant. We did get some recommendations from the front desk and concierge that we tried and disagreed with, but everyone has their own tastes. If I owned this hotel, I would upsize the inroom tv screens, get more channels, offer a couple of bottles of water each day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucemitchell108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, located on California street, close to shops & only a short walk from the ferry terminal, the rooms are spacious, well appointed & very clean, the staff are in the most part friendly & very helpful. I would not hesitate to stay there again. The cable car runs past the hotel up nob hill, if your staying in San Francisco for more than a day, get a pass which allows unlimited travel on the cable cars, trolley buses. & buses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255AndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best staff, Front desk , house keeping , valet, bellman all are great. They are making the hotel proud. Location is good , Not too far from everything touristy in SFO. Trolley line is right outside the hotel, China town is a block away. Hotel is very clean, Overall a good to place stay.
Only negative is parking is expensive and the lowest rate for room sometimes do not include free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PARTH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

From making the reservations to check out - The entire stay went without a hitch. All the staff were so welcoming and professional. The concierge gave spot on recommendations for tours and restaurants. The housekeeping staff provided us with the cleanest, most beautifully prepared room with delightful turn down service. Front door, bellman, reception, fitness center, all were outstanding. The location is great,especially for our three day weekend. San Francisco's transportation system was easily accessible and we were able to walk to many of the places we wanted to experience. With three very positive experiences in three very different cities, Omni has become our number one "go to" hotel whenever we travel. The only down side is that they are not in every city we travel to! Sign up for their loyalty program - so many benefits and it costs nothing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Omni overnight for work, and this was one the best hotels I have stayed at. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, and the rooms comfortable - I got some great sleep. The downtown location is also unparalleled. However, what made the Omni truly memorable to me was the staff. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, directing me to food options, calling cabs, and answering questions in a warm and helpful manner. I was thrilled with my experience and would recommend the Omni to anyone traveling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is well situated near Union Square, the Embarcadaro and on the Trolley line. The staff was excellent -great curb side bellmen, front desk was very pleasant and helpful at all times. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Only reason it was not great is the chocolate covered strawberries I ordered to be in the room at check-in were instead some kind of intricate truffle-like cookies. They were very good, but not chocolate covered strawberries. The parking fee was also very steep at $54 to park overnight. The room temperate bottled water was a mere $7.50 ... but unfortunately that's how they serve their guests these days. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventureoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing