We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay at the Omni was for pleasure. The Beds, pillows, comforter were awesome. The staff, were so helpful and very friendly. My reservation was complicated, because of friends canceling, but the receptionist handled it with ease.
My only complaint was that for the price - $450, you still had to pay for wi fi, no little water bottles and parking was 50.00 a day. Way, too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,638
    1,010
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,213
1,978
198
914
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am a true tripadvisor follower when it comes to recommendations and will go with only the best recommended by my fellow reviewers. Unfortunately this is the first time where I felt the Omni was not worthy of a #3 rating.

Although there was nothing extremely negative nor disappointing about the hotel, it really did not strike me as a top option hotel. We were offered online check in by email but was not able to do so and when we did arrive at the hotel, I asked why this was the case and we had to wait till 3 pm for a room, we were just told we should not have been allowed to check in online and that rooms were only available from 3 pm. Made no sense to me. Check in service was average not remarkable and lack warmth.

We had the pony express suite which is a nice room thought the U shape is kinda strange as we did not always hear if someone was at the room door. Could have caused some embarassing moments. Room size was decent and clean, lots of run around space with a toddler in tow. I really lilked the bathroom with a nice large shower and dry off area and cool shower jets with good bright lighting that is often lacking in hotel bathrooms.

We had a room facing Montgomery street which is where traffic and cable car runs so if you are light sleeper ask for a room away from the main street. Was not a problem for us though. We also had room service which was good and surprisingly, the duck is super moist tender and delicious! I was very impressed with this - worth a try if you have to order room service.

Location of hotel is good with union square and chinatown around the corner. It is in the financial district so a bit quiet on the weekends but still a good area with plenty of dining options.

By comparison, we stayed at the Four Seasons (a suite as well) later that week for 3 nights and that definitely trumped the Omni for service, quality and customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AML2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Can't really complain... Omni San Francisco is one of the few really good hotels where I can book a room with a king-sized bed using nothing but United frequent flyer miles. So all we had to pay for was sundry charges to our room, such as for laundry and occasional room service. The service was excellent, and the room itself was excellent. Everything very clean, and the basic room was adequately roomy. But there was no view except that of an office building across the street. Kept the drapes closed, especially at night and while dressing in the morning. But for a freebie, I'm not complaining. Had I paid $450 or more per night in cash, I would say the view was terrible. Using frequent flyer miles, of which I have many, I won't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herzoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell, ga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have never encountered a front desk staff that was so well trained and took the initiative before being asked to do something. I was there for 6 nights and every one of my encounters with the staff and their supervisor was superb. The room was nice, not over the top, but well-appointed, and in a quiet corner on the 13th floor. Bob's was great for drinks and dinner. Overall it was an experience that I would be glad to repeat. Finally, a hotel a that cares about customer service.

Room Tip: Corner, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapeachiekeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Omni did not disappoint. Three couples came to San Francisco for a 50th birthday weekend. We arrived at the hotel after a day of sailing on the bay and the lobby's "cashmere and jeans" feeling did not make us feel out of place. We were greeted with champaign at check in and the birthday girl had cake waiting for her up in the room. Lex at the concierge desk made sure we had the perfect dinner reservations before the 9:30pm Beach Blanket Babylon show. The location was great, half way between Union Square and North Beach, and the parking was not outrageous.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms come with free wi-fi for a little extra. We did not book these rooms so expect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located away from all the congestion of this wonderful city is this excelelnt hotel. Whilw within walking distance of all main attractions,such as Union Square,the cannery area, Giardelli squire and the like, it doesn't have the noise associated with those intersting sites of the city. The staff of this major hotel, was extremely welcoming and warm through out our stay. The staff was very proud of their service and made you feel it was up to them from checkin to check out to win your approval.Natually the rooms wer very nice and spacious as well. A big "shout out" to the concerige for all the great recomendations for all the great eating establishments and their ability to get us in to some very hard to get places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a meeting at the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Be sure to join their free loyalty program as it gets you all sorts of perks. Perfectly located half way between Union Square and the Embarcadero, and within walking distance of some great restaurants. The decor is extremely traditional. Our room faced inward towards other office buildings so you had to be careful with the drapes. The service was just as good as 5 star hotels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jcs320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing