We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did I stay at a different hotel? Poor service from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Did I stay at a different hotel? Poor service from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I use trip advisor for all travel decisions so when I saw number 3 hotel in SF I went with it. I booked in advance and saw the price went down so I called the day before and customer service said the price will not go down further so I prepaid. In the next 2 hours the price went down 100 a night. I was not happy. The premium room overlooks an air vent, was not on a high floor (9 out of 17). Since the concierge is on vacation this week ( amazing at over 300 a night that a hotel doesnt have a back up). We asked the doorman who was a bit obnoxious. Today when we needed some help, we said is there really no concierge, the response was yes she is on vacation. The 7 a bottle water should have been a clue. We did not get our room on priceline or really cheap so we don't need to be treated rudely. Also the pocket doors to the bathroom dont lock they slide. Can not wait to leave this hotel. The area is also a little deserted but than again I am from NYC!

Room Tip: Definately try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Constayance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,643
    1,011
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,214
1,980
198
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great place and location, got great deal online but needed bigger room, even though Omni never had to honour our third party deal. They upgraded us to the bigger room for no extra cost, due to no other hotels available anywhere that weekend. Thxs and the milk and cookie delivery was nice.

Room Tip: It's near union square and near Chinatown. No much window view it's downtown we walked and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel really exceeded all expectations (except one, I'll get to that). The rooms were spacious and comfortable, beds were perfect with thick pillows and the staff was absolutely top-notch. I found the hotel itself quite attractive, with a lovely marble lobby and ideal San Francisco architecture for the exterior. Location in the financial district was quite convenient and allowed for much quieter nights than many other areas of the city. The only drawback was the restaurant. Looking for a quick, light meal in the bar when I arrived late Sunday, my only choices were a $15 salad or a $40+ steak. They'd be well served to add some options for the bar menu to accommodate late arrivals.

Overall, great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfpdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Love this hotel! Whenever we vacation here, I always look here first to book a room. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, decorated nicely, and in a great location. It's my favorite hotel in San Francisco! They really know their customer service here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here at the end of September 2012. Our vacation to San Francisco was kind of a bucket list item - we pored over the trip advisor reviews and decided to blow the budget at the Omni. It's a great location - handy to the cable cars, Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and more. The service is pretty stellar - as it should be at these prices. The daily housekeeping was truly top notch. When we booked we joined the Omni rewards program - definitely do that - inital perks are maybe not huge but special - each morning we had a complimentary pot of coffee delivered to our door at the precise time we had indicated on the form that's left out each night. Delicious coffee by the way. Lex the concierge was very helpful as was all the front desk staff.
Bob's Bar off the lobby was always busy and hopping - the restaurant not as much - they should think about swapping the locations - there were frequently no tables or bar stools available at the bar but the restaurant wasn't nearly as busy. Bar service is available in the lobby which was fine but could get chilly whenever the front doors opened.
We had breakfast once at the Bob's restaurant - it was ok, not great, definitely not great for the price. We had light bites at Bob's a couple of times - we'd recommend the tenderloin sliders.
The Omni for us was almost a budget buster but we really loved the location - it was a special treat and we have no regrets.

Room Tip: By joining the rewards program we got a higher floor - probably quieter than one closer to the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytrippin_from_FLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

In early September, my sister and I stayed at the Omni Hotel in San Franciso. It is located at the boundary of Lower Nob Hill and the Financial District (California and Montgomery). We had the plan to enjoy shopping and eating in San Francisco and to cap the evening with a concert at Davies Symphony Hall. We drove there and used the hotel's valet parking - not bad for San Francisco - we were charged around $30. Many hotels in the Nob Hill area charge close to $50 for overnight parking. The lobby was gorgeous - Italianate in style (lots of marble) with beautiful flower arrangements.

We liked our room (on the 6th floor) - but be warned - typically San Francisco hotel rooms run on the small side - so if small rooms bother you, the Omni may not be the right hotel for you. Both of us live in condos so size is not an issue for us. Since we were on the 6th floor, we did not find the street noise an issue. I have a hunch that if you were to end up with a room on the 3rd floor or lower, the street noise could be an issue. When checking in, ask for a room on the 6th floor or higher if possible.That said, the two double beds were extremely comfortable and we both slept through the night - and we both are light sleepers.

The location is unbeatable - walking distance to Union Square, the Ferry Building ( a must if you are a foodie). The only meal I had at the hotel was breakfast, and we saved money because we are dainty eaters - but a person with a hearty appetite is advised to breakfast elsewhere. I work in San Francisco, so I highly recommend breakfast at La Boulange in Russian Hill ( a short cab ride away or if you are up to it, a 30 minute walk each way).

The only complaint I have was the slow checkout process. We literally waited for half an hour for the valet to bring us our car and it would have been longer if we hadn't asked. This hotel is a great fit for travelers who spend most of their day touring and shopping and only want a quiet place to sleep at night.

By the way, we had a coupon from Jetsetter so the hotel rate was just a little over $300. Typical nightly rates range from $500-600.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor, or better yet, ask if there are any free upgrades possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wctraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really only have good things to say about this hotel. Stayed 2 nights. Comfortable bed. Large and clean room. Friendly staff. Good location. Might request a room with a street view-we looked into an office building, but had no street noise! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing