We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant and Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant and Functional”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location of this hotel is great for access but without the noise that can be associated with large hotels in busy areas (although we did have a rear facing room). The bar, restaurant and room service charges are expensive, as is the norm for this type of hotel, but due to the location there is plenty of choice externally. The rooms are large and clean, with a full selection of bathroom toiletries. The décor is ‘traditional’, which could be perceived to be dated. There is nothing unique about this hotel but that said it is certainly a very pleasant and functional place to stay and we would use it again if staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_Gibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,897
    1,074
    193
    59
    22
See reviews for
1,321
2,111
206
974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Omni was running a special over the labor day weekend and with my Hotel.com free points, I was able to get a room for about $125 for the night.

The hotel was in a prime location near quite a large number of bars and restaurants. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well-furnished. The bathrooms were spotless. The bar and restaurants were a bit pricey, but with all the other options available nearby, that is not an issue. The next time I am in SF I will most certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is in the business district and very close to china town. A short walk from union square and right on the California cable car route. The lobby is impressive and staff was friendly. Room was large with huge bed, desk and chair and arm chair. Bathroom quite spacious too - bathtub and shower combo. The rooms may be a little dated for some but very clean. We ate at bobs chop house everyday for breakfast which was excellent and staff efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not knowing the area, I emailed the Omni for information regarding the BART in relation to the location of the hotel and whether it was close enough and safe for three women to walk at night. I was promptly responded to by Lexi, the concierge at the hotel, with knowlegeable information about the area. We were just 3 blocks from the Montgomery Station and it was an easy walk and we felt completely safe walking to the hotel at 11 PM.

We were promptly greeted at the front desk and given the keys to our room. The room was just the right size for us. Since we were traveling, we were starving and headed to the bar for a cocktail and an appetizer. Unfortunately, we were too late for the food, but our bartender gave us a bowl of a delicious bar mix and told us that room service is available 24 hours. We had our drinks and headed to bed.

We all agreed that the beds are sooooo comfy! The sheets are really soft! And of course, being a girls trip, we lay in bed and laughed and talked for hours and we expected to have a knock on the door to tell us to keep it down, but I guess no one could hear us. The walls seem pretty solid and once we settled down, there was no noise at all. Except for outside noise.

Promptly,the next morning, coffee and juice was delivered to our room per the little card we filled out and put on our door the night before. Then we headed out to see the city. When we walked out the door, we weren't sure if we should take a cab or walk and the doorman out front said save the money and walk. So we did and it was only a short walk from the hotel to the Ferry Building! We had budgeted a lot of money on cabs thinking it may not be safe to walk or too far, but so far we were close to the BART and the Ferry Building.

Our destination this trip was the North Beach Pub Crawl so we took a cab from the Ferry Building to Chinatown for lunch and then on to North Beach. Once we were done imbibing, we were close enough to walk back to the hotel. We had a nightcap and some appetizers at the bar and the food was pretty tasty.

Our last day we had decided just to sightsee. We checked out at 11 and they kindly held our bags for us. Again we walked outside unsure of our plan and the doorman gave us a great itinerary and a map and hailed us a cab to Fisherman's Wharf. That was $9. We had lunch at the wharf, did some shopping at Pier 39 and then took the cable car from Ghiradelli back to the hotel. The cable car runs right in front of the hotel!

Upon our return, we headed straight to the refreshing citrus water in the lobby and everyone welcomed us back with smiles and asked us about our day. They made us feel like we were something special. So the location to this hotel was perfect for what we had planned and I believe this will be the hotel I stay in everytime I go to San Francisco because of the location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peppermonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has been nicely updated, it is fresh, clean, and in a very good location. The staff takes a great deal of pride in offering accomodating and helpful service. It is also a very good value for san fransico.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Omni was the great surprise on my recent trip to Canada & the U.S.
I had just flown in from Las Vegas so certainly wasn't expecting to be wowed by the hotel in San Francisco - but I was.
The entrance & lobby is just magnificent. The chandeliers in the hotel are beautiful & the front desk staff were polite, friendly & efficient.
The room was very large for San Francisco & the bathroom was wonderful.
During my stay I ordered room service a number of times and the quality of the food as well as the service were excellent & faultless.
Housekeeping were thorough & always friendly.
I managed to organise a late check out on departure and booked a transfer with the front desk which was handled efficiently.
The service in the hotel bar was friendly as well.
Overall an outstanding experience and wonderful end to my holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Reading all the great reviews made us choose this hotel for our trip round the west coast. The location was great with the cable car line in the street, china town and the shopping area just a few blocks away.

Very attentive service as our kids found milk and cookies in our room every night.

If you are looking for a nice place to eat (lunch or dinner) just walk down the street next to the ferry station. The plant cafe pier 3. Good atmosphere, very nice organic food and great wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
475 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,944 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing