We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is everything like the Ritz Carlton without the fancy name, fancy prices (Omni isn't cheap but not ridiculously priced for their services & ambiance), and staff is caring and much friendlier. The Omni in San Francisco was in itself an experience; the reason we had such a great time while visiting this city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite. Rooms are not huge, but big enough for a family especially since there are tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,386
    950
    175
    51
    18
See reviews for
1,133
1,854
189
824
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Omni was a great choice and we relied heavily on the reviews posted here on tripadvisor in making the decision to stay at this hotel. I would echo many of the prior reviews, staff was superb, location was excellent, view not so good from 4th floor...but who stays in the room anyway! California St Cable car right out the front door, which easlily connected to the Powell-Hyde line which drops you directly at Fishermans' Wharf. At the Wharf you can easily grab the F Line trolley and ride from the Wharf all the way to Castro area. The Ferry building is within a few blocks..very easy walk from the Omni. Two block walk drops you in the thick of Chinatown. Highly recommend!!

Stayed four nights from April 4-8, 2012

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfallsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were very pleased to stay in this hotel on past weekend.
It is centrally located, facing financial district and backing to China town.
So we enjoyed walking around, hopped on cable car to go to other areas.
All of hotel staff were very nice. Vallet parking was a quite high, but I think that is what everyone else charge in the area. I want to give them 5 in rating. The reason of it is our car key was lost.
They first had a hard time to locate the car (took a while), then realized a key is missing. We eneded up spending the whole day in SF instead of leaving to Napa ealier on that day, but it turned out OK. When we came back to stay 1 night after stayed in Napa, they gave us rooms in higher level and free breakfact bouchers to appologize for the trouble. We liked the hotel and we will come back to stay for next time in SF.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wow, this hotel is great -- elegant, charming, comfortable, clean, and well-situated. When you layer the genuinely caring and friendly staff on top of this, you get an incredible experience.

My great experience started with the front doorman who advised me where to get the lowest parking rate for my 3-night stay. The front desk team was upbeat and helpful, the housekeeping & room service prompt, and the restaurant staff very courteous.

The room was really clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Great mattress. The bathroom was also spacious with a deep tub and high shower faucet. Typical me, I forgot my toothbrush, but was provided with complimentary brush and toothpaste in an instant.

I liked the fact that Union Square was very close and the Ferry Building was within short walking distance.

I've stayed at several high-end hotels in San Francisco and this is now my favorite.

Room Tip: I had a corner room on the top floor that didn't overlook California Street. I'm sure that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We decided to visit our daughter for her college Spring break instead of flying her back home to NY. We booked the Omni for three nights. We were welcomed with warm smiles and cordial, pleasant greetings throughout our stay. Our room did not have a thing out of place and all amenities met our expectations. Our first day was rain from morning to night. We took the China town walking tour, then did our own exploration. The hotel provided umbrellas that day for all guests. The hotel is centrally located for walking to many of the sightseeing highlights. If walking is not to your liking, the public transportation is nearby which I must admit we used at the end of the day. Having traveled throughout Europe, USA, Mexico, Latin America, and Mexico, this was one of our best hotel visits. Our ages, 67, 52, &20.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We returned to the Omni again for a long Easter weekend. The Omni is in a convenient location on the California St. cable car line and getting around is easy. The hotel is comfortable, spotless and up-to-date. My highest regards are for the staff who universally went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpb0344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at the Omni recently, third weekend in three years. Very nice, clean, and service oriented hotel. Good size rooms, especially if you get one of the suites. We've found over the years the weekend rates are quite good compared to other high-end SF hotels due to the Financial district location. We prefer this location as it is an easy walk to the Ferry Bldg, Union Square, Chinatown, North Beach, SOMA, etc. All the staff are welcoming and friendly, rooms are ultra clean, good bar. Valet parking is a bit high, but you can park at the public garage overnight at California/Kearny, just up one block.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMurphthesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing