We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as perfect as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not as perfect as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We chose this hotel in SF for the 2-night stay after Hawaii getaway, before flying home. It was rated as Best Luxury hotel by Tripadvisor at this time, so I expected something special.
The location of the hotel is very good - close to the center and main attractions, but the hotel itself is not as perfect. The interior does not look brand new & fresh, the room was quite small (compared to Fairmont Heritage hotel we stayed in before the trip to Hawaii = for the same price we got 5 times more space there). The view we got from the room - was a brick wall.
There were no slippers & bathrobes (in a 5-star hotel!) in our room and it took ages for the staff to bring them, when we asked.
We were waken up at 7am every morning, because the cleaning staff was talking loudly in the corridor outside our room in chinese - there is very bad noise isolation.
But the thing we liked least is the service: not personalized, not attentive, long queues. The concierge was gone each day at 6 or 7 pm - and there was no one to help us with the restaurant booking, etc. in the eve.
And finally, when we asked the staff to check us in for our flight - they've sent us to the PC in the corner of the lobby with a queue. no comments.
I would recommend to choose Fairmont hotel instead - for almost the same price you will surely get a better room & service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,641
    1,011
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,214
1,979
198
915
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My travels have taken me to San Francisco many times in the past, but this is the first time that I stayed in the Omni. Tripadviser reviews for the Omni pretty much say it all. It's an excellent hotel, ideally located in the heart of San Francisco. The hotel staff are warm and welcoming. Juan was particularly helpful. All of his recommendations were spot on. The room was spotless and well appointed. I particularly liked the convenience of the Omni. It's a short walk from the Omni to Chinatown or Union Square with easy access to just about any place in San Francisco via taxi or cable car. There's not much more to say other than I'll stay at the Omni on my next trip to Frisco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had two rooms for a weekend trip with some friends for my 40th birthday. Rooms are very clean, updated, and stylish. Average size rooms, but quite and comfy. The staff was great and very helpful. Bob's Steakhouse has a nice bar if you want to catch a couple innings of your favorite team or grab a snack. Location is perfect. Right in the middle of all the areas. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in mid july with my family. I expected the normal 4 star hotel in a downtown area, but I was surprised of the level of friendliness and service. It started already when we checked-in and continued throughout our stay. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two kids for 3 nights. From the minute we pulled up to the door, the staff was welcoming and helpful and made my kids laugh, even though it was 9 p.m. and we'd been driving all day.

Our entire stay was lovely and worry-free. The housekeeping staff is on top of everything (they even bring cookies and milk for the kids every day) and the doormen are great. You can order off the restaurant menu in the lobby, which was nice with the kids.

It was just a really pleasant experience and definitely a good example of getting what you pay for. We traveled from Seattle to LA and my kids talk about the Omni as their favorite stop.

Tip: Sign up for their loyalty program before you arrive and you'll get free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I tend to prefer staying at Omni Hotels because they genrally offer comfortable accomodations and, most importantly, spectacular service. The Omni San Fran was no exception: the friendliness of the staff is what made this stay such a special one, particularly as we celebrated our anniversary. The hotel rooms are pretty standard, though extremely comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel (in the Financial District) was excellent as we could walk to many of the popular neighborhoods: we could get to the Embarcadero (and the all the yummy foods and the Ferry Building and awesome chocolates at Tcho on Pier 17), AT&T Park, North Beach (for Beach Blanket Babylon and TONS of coffee-a caffeine addict's paradise!), and Chinatown, no need for a car!
What made this Omni so great (and why we continue to return to Omni Hotels) was the incredible service. The bellhops, front desk staff, and housekeeping were all so friendly. They answered tons of questions for us, directed us to restaurants, had nice treats for us at turndown, and even held our luggage for us on the day we checked out. We were even treated to a walking tour through Chinatown! My husband was trying to track down an old friend who he thought lived in the area and the front desk staff worked so hard to help him get phonebooks, do online searches, and call for information. We truly enjoyed our time in San Francisco and whenever we travel, one of the first things we research is whether or not an Omni hotel is located nearby!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explrjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the the Omni for an overnight stay in San Francisco. As many others have mentioned, this is a great place to stay in the City. It is right in the Financial District of San Francisco, in a nice part of town. The cable cars go up the hills of San Francisco on California St., right in front of the hotel. BART, the "F-line", and other mass transit are four blocks away at Market St. and Montgomery St.. We stayed to enjoy one of the "off-Broadway" shows on Market St., took the "F-line", ($2.00 each way), and felt very comfortable. We observed no security or rough passenger issues and the show ended at 11:00 PM. All the staff at the Omni are very helpful and all had great positive personalities. One just needs to ask the Concierge, or Clerk behind the front desk what your plans are, and you will be giving a map, informed how to get to where you want to go, and informed of the best ways to get there. Restaurants, coffee shops, and interesting sites are all walking distance from the Omni. At $48/night, (plus $6.25 tax), parking is costly on a weekday, but parking in S.F is limited. One does not have to be concerned about ones vehicle using their valet parking.

I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay again myself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunspotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing